Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Quirky and conveniently located New Orleans Hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: I really liked the ambiance inside the complex of buildings. Really beautiful, quiet and serene. Multiple courtyard areas with seating are available
Cons: Replace all supplies daily. Soap was replaced daily, even though we stayed 5 nights. Towels/coffee/kleenex were hit or miss.
Location: The hotel is quite conveniently located close to the Central Business District (WWII Museum and other museums and restaurants). A short street car dr
We stayed at the hotel 5 nights for a personal vacation. It was our first trip to New Orleans. The hotel is made up of multiple buildings surrounding delightful courtyards. Lush gardens, a fountain, blooming plants, even in November. Several walls have lovely murals. The hotel was very quiet, and I was surprised when I saw the large number of people at breakfast--never heard noises from other rooms. Our bed was not the most comfortable (time to be replaced), but the bed-clothes were nice. Our sink plumbing was reversed (hot where cold normally is) bit that did not cause us any issue. Every day we got new bars of soap even though we stayed 5 nights. However, some days we did not get a full complement of towels. Some days we did not get coffee packets. Kleenex only showed up on day 3. And yes, as some folks mentioned, there is only one trash can, which I moved to the place I found it most convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new orleans, Louisiana

nice rooms, bad hotel staff.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
I really enjoyed the rooms and location and it was a good price. But the housekeeping staff was terrible. The floor was dirty and they didnt replenish our towels, we seen a mouse in the room they didnt bother trying to get rid of it after they said they would. And they didn't wash our sheets either. We tried for days to contact the hotel manager and got no response. So it's a great hotel but the staff sucks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Our stay was okay, considering the price in comparison to all nicer hotels that weekend. It wasn't very nice, but good enough. I would stay again, but it wouldn't be my first choice. Word of advice - Stand in the lobby until someone brings you extra towels. Getting them to bring it to you is nearly impossible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Hotel in Good Location!

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Good Location.
Cons: Cleanliness of Room
Location: There are many tours that take place near or in the French Quarter, lots of places to eat genuine Creole of Cajun meals. You can also take a Trolley.
The hotel was in the French Quarter which was very convenient for us since our tours were located in the same general area. I have to say though that our hotel room was not the cleanest. I'm not a neat freak but I feel that it could have been cleaner. There was also a slight smell that my son didn't like. There were two good size cracks under the door that had to be sealed. The sheets on one bed were dirty....yeah I know :( And the cover on the beds.....well...lets just say that you could tell that pets were allowed in the room, which is OK but I'd rather not see evidence. There was also a weird noise penetrating from the bathroom wall.........not sure what that was although my son made some good suggestions. Other than that, the staff was accommodating and switched me to another room which was a little cleaner than the other one. Overall, it was a decent stay but I wouldn't stay again.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Fantastic Inn and excellent location!

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Too much to write..just a fantastic experience! ...... .... . ..
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Excellent historical hotel. Pleasant surprise!

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Room size was perfect - no micro sized, cramped box to sleep in here.
Cons: Strangely, my room didn't have a trash can the whole time I was there. I asked the front desk about it, but never got a trash can.
Location: I walked to my conference, took the street car using the stop right across from the hotel, and walked everywhere from here! It was great!
Great to be away from Bourbon Street, and right on the edge of the Garden District. Great looking, historic type of hotel. Staff was very pleasant and eager to please. I will come back to New Orleans, and will probably stay at this hotel specifically!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to trolley. Breakfast not great.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Cute on the outside. Not great inside. Had a hard time getting towels we needed. Breakfast less than average. Overall ok. But not if you are a neat freak. I probably wouldn't go back unless it was substantially cheaper than other options. felt safe they had security there.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, TN

Bed and Towels

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Location and proximity to the street car, Garden District and the Quarter.
Cons: Mattresses need to be rotated and/or replaced.
Four people two bath towels and two hand towels! Seriously? Reservations were made a month ahead of time. The second day I requested four sets of towels at 9:45 am. No towels, requested again at 11:55 am. When we returned to our hotel at 4 pm, still not towels. Returned to desk and made a third request and then camped out on our balcony and waited. They finally arrived. Our mattress was worn out in room 315. We rolled to the middle all night long! I've used this hotel several times and have always enjoyed my stay. If I have this much trouble on my next stay I'll have to check it OFF my list.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great deal hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the breakfast and the beautiful exterior of the buildings
Cons: When I went to the front desk to request a few additional towels I was told that the house keeping staff was gone for the day and there were no towels
For the cost, this hotel is a beautiful place with friendly staff, wide variety breakfast and decent rooms. It is close to the convention center and just a stones throw from a street car stop. I would recommend this hotel for the not overly immaculate traveler on a tight budget.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tupelo. MS

Quiet and safe. Very beautiful grounds with friend

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Staff always spoke, very quiet area with numerous courtyards, I will be back for spring break with my family. Thank you Maison St Charles staff for a wonderful trip.