Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, Washington

STAY AWAY!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: ALL OF IT!
There was blood on the sheets, blood in the bathroom, and standing water in the bathroom, all found after housekeeping was in the rooms. Rat poop was all over the rooms. We booked 3 rooms and had 2 cars. Parking was $25 a night, advertised as $17 a night. It took them over an hour to respond to complaints of the blood. There were bed bugs in all the rooms. I was told the general manager would be reaching out to me, but never did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to send a review of your stay however I must take exception with 2 of the issues that you raised. This hotel has an extensive pest control program with weekly spraying and treatments due to the nature of our setting with exterior corridors that open up onto multiple courtyard settings. There are no bedbugs in rooms at this hotel and certainly not in the 3 rooms that your group occupied. Additionally there was no evidence of any "rat poop" in any of the 3 rooms that you occupied. I am the General Manager of the Hotel and have searched for records of any attempts to reach out to me with these issues and have found none. You have raised some serious issues that we would respond to quickly and can find no evidence to support any of your claims. Yours in hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
This place is nice. Close to everything. Nice breakfast and pool. I've stayed here 3 times with no problems each time. Will stay here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you on future visits to the heart of the New Orleans Garden District. Laissez les bon temps rouler!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and very friendly staff

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Very friendly staff. Good location. The outside grounds of hotel were nice. The room was a good size but it had a foul smell. The wifi did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you on future visits to the heart of the New Orleans Garden District. Laissez les bon temps!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

was hoping for something better!!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: not a great deal to be honest
Cons: where do i start?
Location: a couple of decent bars and trams close by for city access
we had to change rooms the following the day of arrival due to a leaking air con system, a dodgy fridge, and lights not working,you had to ask for clean towels and we had problems with keys and a dodgy door handle.,and the breakfast was poor to say the least and the breakfast area was stale smelling.unluckily there was a crowd of football supporters who liked to partry under our bedroom window til midnight the 3 days they stayed.so i slept with earplugs for that period.The reception staff were excellent however and i managed to get my phone back after leaving it next to the PC,it did cost me $40 though ,well worth it thanks to the taxi driver for retrieving it for me,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your stay including the incredible staff that you encountered. We are upgrading the property including our breakfast area and look forward to serving you again soon. Laissez les bon temps rouler!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: safe did not work
Fine for being outside of the French Quarter. Super convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you as your travels bring you back to the Big Easy. Laissez les bon temps rouler!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Have stayed there twice, but not again

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Love, the location. Restaurants nearby and the trolley is across the street. There must be better motels on the same street.
The check in is too slow. They no longer let your unload your luggage and park your car. You have to have a valet help you and take the car away and return it. This brings up tipping when going in and when leaving. So now you cannot visit your car to get things or put things in it. Breakfast room ran out of items before 8:00. Eggs are terrible. Toaster needs replacement as it is too slow. A. C. not great. TV has problems. Both trips (Feb. and Oct.) they said they were in process of changing to digital. Hot tub had no hot water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel in the heart off the New Orleans Garden District. As a loyal traveler we value your opinion and will be reviewing our offerings in light of your experiences. Please know that we will be completing a full renovation of the hotel in the near future and we value your loyalty and look forward to the opportunity to show off our new Hotel offerings. Laissez les bon temps rouler!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Charming

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The decor and landscaping are great. It's a quality Inn that has been dressed up and it's fantastic. Clean and in a great neighborhood.
Cons: The beds were NOT comfortable. Need to be replaced.
Location: Location is great! Across from the streetcar and plenty of eateries in walking distance (less than .5 miles).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel on your recent visit to the New Orleans Garden District. We take pride in all of our offerings and hope you will have a chance to come back and see us once our renovation is complete. Laissez les bon temps rouler!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Trolley (street car) runs directly in front of hotel making travel to French quarters easy.
Location: Great area in the garden district. Many places within walking distance or three dollars for 24 hour street car pass
My room wasn't renovated yet, but was comfy enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Maison St. Charles and thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

centrally located

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Get rid of bad smell in elevator.
Location: Very centrally located, and right on street car line!
Comfortable, very nice staff, large grounds; the elevator smelled bad, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles and believe me that we have our elevator technicians looking into the hydraulics which are causing the smell that you encountered.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Impossible would rip this place to shreds

Posted May 31, 2016
The tub and the towels had hair on them. Called for more towels and they didn't bring them. Would not allow pizza delivery to come to our door. Free breakfast: food was still partly frozen including the blueberry muffins, sausages, and "fried" eggs. They switched us to a "better" room after we complained about the lack of towels and the hair. We could not shower in the new room because the shower faucet was coming out of the wall and the hot water would not stay on. The sink faucet would not run cold water. Hair on towels in this room too. Door to bathroom would not close entirely. Went to office to complain and was told we would be "comped". The morning we checked out I was told we would be comped $53, the parking fee, that is all. The majority of the staff seemed complacent and there was no sense of urgency to please the customer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by H.R., Hotel Management
Thank You! We appreciate you taking the time to offer your thoughts with us. We sincerely apologize for the condition of the rooms & towels. We will work with the Housekeeping Department to resolve these issues. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to demonstrate what we have to offer. Thank You Again!