Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Only thing no food/ drink on premises but across the street 24 bar restaurant good food pricey down the street 24 hour market
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect New Orleans Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The breakfast wasn't great.
Location: Location was superb, close to everything but far enough away to be quiet.
I highly recommend Melrose Mansion if you want an atmospheric hotel stay. The hotel is located right on the edge of the French Quarter so it's convenient but out of the way enough to be quiet. It is just the right amount of old and creaky. The pool is fantastic--such a great way to start the day or to cool off after the heat and humidity of a New Orleans summer day. The breakfast is not great, but this is offset by the wine and cheese and crackers offered between 4:30 and 5:30 every day. It was such a pleasure to sit on the veranda, sipping wine. A beautiful hotel, well maintained, in a great location!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location, very unique style hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and close to French quarter. Quiet area though, since it is several blocks from Bourbon street. Liked the old style of the Hotel. Room was super large and huge bathroom. Only Thing was that the wi-fi was a bit slow in the room because it was in the back house. Parking was nice and of course there was a fee for it. But it has a little gate. The guys do their best to help you and make you feel comfortable. Little wine&cheese hour and small breakfast which is all sufficient. Overall super nice stay, would stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice suite!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Some quirks had to ask for shower cap and safe. For the south breakfast disappointing just cereals and breads and machine made coffee...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great location/hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Beautiful interior and exterior.
Location: Perfect location.
Perfect location just outside of the French Quarter. Walking distance to anything in the Quarter. Beautiful hotel. Amazing staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mooi hotel en vriendelijk personeel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Prachtig hotel in oud victoriaans huis. Gelegen aan de rand van french quarter en daarom weg van de rumoerigheid van oa bourbon street, maar wel op loopafstand van oa french quarter en frenchmen street. Het personeel is zeer vriendelijk en behulpzaam. Klein nadeel is dat het best gehorig kan zijn, maar na dit aangegeven te hebben werden we naar een andere kamer verplaatst die perfect was! Leuke touch: elke middag staan er voor de hotelgasten wijn en hapjes klaar...lekker om van te genieten bij het zwembad. Dit hotel is zeker aan te bevelen!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Lovely stay in the Big Easy

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, location, hotel staff, pool and gym, the sense of history, all the people who passed on the sidewalk and complimented "your house"
Cons: Move the jazz festival forward one week so I could have enjoyed that too during my trip! Well of course, nothing at all needs improvement.
Location: Restaurants, jazz, blues, tours, the French Quarter - it's all here
What a wonderful stay. A lovely retreat close enough to all the action of the French Quarters but enough off the main drag to feel like a retreat. The staff were amazing! Wonderful and helpful. If you want a modern hotel, this is not for you but if you like the charm of the old South along with the hospitality and the sense of history - come on in and breath.
5 out of 5
by KARLEEN from Melbourne FL

Road trip 2016

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
We were welcomed with opened arms. We forgot the people's names but the younger lady who was usually there during the day was super welcoming and genuinely nice! And the very tall gentleman who took over her spot during the afternoon was also excellent and giving us places to go, tons of places to eat, and just places to go and sightsee around the square! Overall our stay at the mansion was an experience to remember and I promise you that we will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Hotel was in a good location. Clean, staff was pleasant and attentive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016
It was a gorgeous place. So elegant and refined. Way more so than expected