Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beautiful rooms and great location!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Everything was wonderful! The shower in our room wasn't working properly (Prince Edward suite), but the jacuzzi tub was phenomenal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great hotel, an oasis in the French Quarter

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Loved the room, loved the charm, great location, nice staff
Location: Five blocks from Frenchman Street (six blocks of New Orleans best music). Walking distance to food and entertainment and shopping.
Beautiful little hotel in the French Quarter that is walking distance to the bar and music scenes. Our check-in experience was wonderful, and the staff was friendly. We had one of the Napoleon rooms, which is was very spacious, and had the feel of upscale antique. The whole time we were there, we commented that we felt more like we were living in a home than staying in a hotel. The room had lots of charm, and the large bathroom was updated with nice glass shower, marble floors, and new fixtures. The central heating and air conditioning worked very well and we were always comfortable. The pool looked nice and clean (we didn't use it) and the courtyard was nice as well. Really enjoyed our stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Hotel with no parking and rude staff

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Frequent traveler for business, while enjoying unique hotels along the way. Drove my personal vehicle into New Orleans (a city known for its crime areas). They advised they did not have parking and that we were "to find a place to park in the nearby neighborhood." (They have 4 spaces for a 25 unit hotel). The hotel staff were rude and literally told us "it's unfortunate you have to find somewhere to park but there were 2 hour spaces nearby and to periodically check availability." The attitude conveyed their guests were a mere annoyance. The staff and parking situation were a complete shock to us, and very unexpected from the warm, glowing advertisement of their accommodations and friendliness. Would absolutely NOT recommend staying here. It was so awful we cancelled our two-night reservation, despite already paying, and stayed at the downtown Hilton - Riverside. So, so very disappointed with this pick. DON'T FORGET THE PARKING WARNING. You may end up walking blocks with your luggage to this house and they will tell you, "sorry that's just unfortunate." Just wow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Lovely, modern small hotel in refurbished mansion

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: rooms, bedding, bathrooms, pool area
Cons: breakfast
This hotel is well-located just outside of the French Quarter, within easy walking distance of major attractions. Inside is a stunningly rehabbed mansion, with modern touches, lots of light, large rooms and modern bathrooms, and luxury bedding and linens. The service was excellent. The rooms facing Burgundy St. can get a bit noisy at night due to the bar next door. When I asked to be moved to a quieter room, the staff gave me a complimentary upgrade to a large and very lovely suite. The pool area is beautiful and peaceful. The only really puzzling limitation given the otherwise luxurious amenities were the breakfasts, which were extremely basic. The muffins and croissants were packaged and of poor quality. I suppose most people eat breakfast out in this foodie town. Overall, though, a real winner!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great location, limited amenities/service.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location, room size and lots of water available to take with you. Also the front line staff were extremely pleasant to deal with.
Cons: "Continental" breakfast and cleaning services were below average.
Location: The location is very good, at the fringe of the French Quarter in a quiet residential section. And very close to Frenchmen's Street.
We stayed at the hotel for four nights in the older section with one of the larger rooms. Overall it was a pleasant experience but given the rates we were expecting better cleaning service and better food. Also the rooms were a little shabby and could be greatly improved with pictures, and paint touchups.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loud

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Wonderful hotel, if you DO NOT stay in a room on the first floor. You hear everyone coming in and out of the hotel all night and all morning. Plus the hall light shines into your room through a stained glass window above your door so between the light and the noise you get no sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Overall, great experience. Lovely building and relaxed vibe. Friendly, accommodating staff. Located in a quiet(er) neighborhood on a wide street, easily walkable to French Quarter, Marigny and Bywater. Did not have a car, but there is a small parking lot. Beautiful pool, cleaned daily. My room was standalone, so it was very quiet. Not a lot of amenities (slippers, robe, cable tv, etc.), and some of the room furnishings (mattress, rug) could be higher quality. That said, I enjoyed my stay and would book again if I was in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We were really quite surprised with how nice a place this was to stay for a husband-wife getaway. I don't think you will be disappointed. The continental breakfast is sparse. Grab a coffee and head out for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Fantastic little hotel on the edge of the French Quarter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Location: WALKING DISTANCE TO FREEMAN STREET.
GREAT OLD MANSION. NICELY UP-DATED. WE DEFINITELY WILL RETURN. PARKING WAS CLOSE. JOSH WAS GREAT. WINE/CHEESE AND CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WERE VERY NICE. MELROSE IS A DESTINATION UNTO ITSELF. NAPOLEON 5 HAD IT'S OWN PORCH AND COURT YARD. NICE.