Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Good location

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Our room was never cleaned , bed not made no fresh linens.the front desk staff gave me wrong phone number for Brennan's and they had never heard of Pat O'Brians. Very disappointed for our first Wedding Anniversay trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you experienced issues while staying at our hotel. Our team is dedicated to providing clean, comfortable accommodation followed by wonderful service and it seems we fell short of your expectations. Please accept our apologies as it is never our intent to disappoint a guest in any way. Your feedback will be relayed to the appropriate team leaders as we continue to improve upon our service and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. We would welcome the chance to make it up to you on a future stay. Thank you once again for your feedback. John D. Foster, Senior Rooms Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from danville illinois

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Very clean and friendmy staff and helpfulwould recommend to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for your recommendation and gracious feedback! We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay and found your accommodations to be perfect for your travels. We hope to welcome you back soon! John D. Foster, Senior Rooms Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No place for Dinner

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Needs a place that is open for dinner (besides the bar)
Location: Great Location, riverwalk is nearby.
The only restaurant in the hotel is closed for Dinner
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Senior Rooms Operations Manager, Hotel Management
We were sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations with regards to operating hours. We have followed up with our Food and Beverage team to address these concerns so that we can learn and improve accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Sincerely, John D. Foster Senior Rooms Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great time. Wonderful staff Friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear BRIAN, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had such a wonderful experience and stay. Our team will be glad to know they made such a positive impression during your stay. They work very hard to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we look forward to your next visit! John D. Foster, Senior Rooms Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Overall inviting environment. Quiet. Clean, Comfortable , Relaxing, Nice bar to get your night started or for a night cap
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Senior Rooms Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center. We are pleased to read how happy you were with your room and our facilities. Your satisfaction is very important to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one. We hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay. John D. Foster Senior Rooms Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient with the best possible staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Excellent visit with wonderful beds, fantastic staff and lovely setting! Can't wait to return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for your outstanding review! We are so glad to know you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and found our hotel's location convenient for your travels. Our staff is committed to providing excellent service, and they will be happy to know their efforts helped make your stay a great one! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, John D. Foster Senior Rooms Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great Staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Location: The hotel is close to the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center , The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk and the Riverfront Streetcar Line.
I recently stayed at the New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center while attending the Essence Festival. The staff was attentive and very personable. I was especially pleased by Patrick at the reception desk. When asked how best to make it to the Superdome, not only did he recommend a cab but he also supplied the directions to give the cabbie which worked like a charm! I also was impressed by the Southern hospitality of Ms. Jones who stood just outside the hotel's entrance. Despite the many guests at the hotel that weekend she addressed me by name every time she saw me and she always had a smile even though the heat outside was oppressive. My only regret during my stay is that I was unable to thank them personally at checkout because of my early morning departure. Please keep up the good work and know that your attention to detail is greatly appreciated. I'll be sure to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cecilia, Thank you so much for being our guest and for taking time time to leave such a wonderful review. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding the outstanding service you received from Patrick! He has a great passion for providing outstanding hospitality, so we will be more than happy to share your wonderful comments with him. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New Orleans! John D. Foster Senior Rooms Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by Towanda

Received false information

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Two things disappointed me about my stay. I was told 3 times the bed size for a double room were queen. Not true, they were full size beds. I was also told a roll away bed would be available. At check in, I was told they're not available at all. Oh one more thing. No refrigerator or microwave were in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017
Toward, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as we take pride in delivering impeccable service. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate team members and managers to ensure a better outcome going forward. We would appreciate you giving us another opportunity to show you the hospitality you should have received on this occasion. We hope to welcome you back soon. John D. Foster Senior Rooms Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

ok

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: staff
Location: great
It was good until one front clerk thought we was trying to cheat out of wrist band when we had booked 5 rooms. She interfered with me and another front desk clerk. Not her place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Candy, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the difficulty you had with our service and staff. We take comments like yours seriously and learn from them in our weekly training sessions. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove ourselves to you in the future and stay with us again. John D. Foster Senior Rooms Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Room Cleaning Services

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed here for Essence Festival many times and loved the convenience to the Convention Center and the Riverwalk Outlet Mall; however, this year room cleaning was poor and extremely inconsistent. Had to call front desk twice to get my room cleaned and housekeeper didn't replenish coffee, clean glasses and towels (one time). Although price was better this time, but not sure I will stay next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you for your recent review online. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and we're sorry that you had some service and cleanliness issues with your room. We have shared your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping and staff, and we have taken action to ensure we do not repeat these issues in the future. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with better service and consider staying with us again when you return to our area. John D. Foster Senior Rooms Operations Manager