Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Terrible experience, staff was nice

Posted Feb 21, 2017
A few highlights 1) no remote for tv 2) no power cord for tv 3) no light bulb for bed lamp 4) ceiling fan had 2 out of the 4 bulbs in it 5) shower had zero water pressure 6) heater sounded like a jack hammer when it cycled on.... if I could add a video, I could show you 7) didn't feel safe The only positive, the staff refunded my money for the night I stayed and the 2 I was suppose to stay. I found another hotel for the other 2 nights I was in New Orleans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Quaint Charming Hotel just outside French Quarter

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We found this hotel to be perfect for us and highly recommend it. All the staff was helpful and pleasant, but India went above and beyond. She let us look at several rooms and select the one that was best for us. She was pleasant and patient when we thought our key didn't work, but found we were using the wrong one. The hotel was a short block from the streetcar and we parked our car (free on the street) in front of the hotel and walked or rode the streetcar during our stay. The breakfast was very good: bacon, sausage, boiled eggs, grits, toast, biscuits, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, OJ, milk, tea, coffee and make-your-own waffles every day. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. We stayed upstairs and there was a nice balcony off the hallway where we had coffee in the mornings. We were a short walk from all the noise and nightlife of the French Quarter, but located where it was quiet at night. That was perfect. It is an older building with the charm and ambience suited to the location. If you are looking for something built yesterday, you won't be happy. But if clean, comfortable, convenient, and with excellent staff for a great price is important...you'll be very happy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roaches

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Well we get to the hotel and the parking lot is destroyed so there's no parking FYI! Then when we get to our room it's as big as a large bathroom. The bathroom had a hole in the floor, then not to our surprise there's a roach crawling across the dresser. We checked out right away and now they are refusing our refund. Terrible place, you've been warned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverton, NJ

You get what you pay for. This is a dump.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: I'm struggling to come up with one thing I liked about this place.
Cons: The management of this place needs improvement. He's a snooty little man that needs training on guest relations.
Location: Close to Bourbon, Royal and public transportation.
It would have been nice to know that there was going to be construction taking place literally right outside of my door starting in the EARLY morning for the first two days of my stay. Walking through the mess outside brought sand and debris into my room every day. The wifi wasn't working on the second day, so I called the manager or owner (whatever he claims to be) and he hung up mid conversation to knock on my door a few seconds later to finish the conversation face to face. If I wanted a face to face conversation first thing in the morning, I would have walked to the lobby for assistance. He reset the router a few minutes later and it worked sporadically. I asked room service to NOT clean my room the first day, as I had private paperwork in view, and the same guy that I mentioned in the paragraph above decided to allow the cleaners to enter to clean my room and change the bedding on both beds. The toilet was not grounded to the floor properly so every time someone sat on it or stood up, it would shift and make a loud noise as it hit the ground. The outlet in the bathroom did not work. I had to purchase an extension chord in order to use a blow dryer in the bathroom since the bathroom was the only room that had a mirror. The shower water pressure was ridiculous. Three streams of water coming out of an outdated shower head. Free breakfast was OK unless you like to use real butter on your food. They use some cheap single serving margarine cups instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando fl

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Feels like grandmas house. Very comfortable and cute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat funky little b&b!

Posted Jan 15, 2017
We loved this place. It had such character. The person at the front desk was wonderful! The room was clean! We felt at home there :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Helpful, Welcoming Staff. Great Location,

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The staff was very kind and helpful. The location of the guest house was ideal, as it was right across the street from the French Quarter and nestled on the outskirts of Mid City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Blocks from FQ and Bourbon street . Great short stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Charming

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We loved being so close to the French Quarter while still having a quiet place. Wonderful breakfast and very friendly staff, both night and daytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a great time

Posted Dec 12, 2016
It was a great stay we found the place easy the staff was friendly and helpful the room was quaint and cozy