Ratings based on 709 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Great little B&B close to the French Quarter.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I had a great time staying at the New Orleans Guest House. Nikki and her crew were always great to talk to and made me feel like I was at home. If you need it, they'll either get it or they can tell you where you can find it. They had great ideas for directions, food, tours, entertainment, and so much more. Thank you so much for making my time in New Orleans easy and carefree!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & Comfortable atmosphere. Staff was friendly

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Room was very clean. Breakfast was good. People were friendly
Cons: The mattresses could use upgrading.
Location: Close to most of what we wanted to see/do.
Room was very clean. Breakfast was good. People were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Convenient to French Quarter

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Convenience, comfort, and authenticity.
Cons: Gate was a bit tight for our large truck. Might consider enlarging entrance gate to parking.
Location: It is in a neighborhood that borders the excitement....from French Quarter to quaint regentrified hippy homes and gay bars.
We managed to get a last minute reservation for a quick stopover. It was worth the short while we had to venture to nearby French Quarter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
One night stay on my trip across country. The hotel was nice and very classic looking. Our room was ok and suitable for a one night stay. My only issues, the toilet was not flushing well and I would have to flush multiple times. Wifi was very spotty (but we were warned about this) and I did not like that I had to pay an additional fee for parking. Breakfast was a bit lacking and quality of produce and OJ was not great. The host, I forgot his name, was great. He knew the city and was very straight forward about experience to expect while out on the town. Overall, I give this place a 3.5 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Monroe, LA

Very nice experience

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The people, location, ambience...everything.
Cons: Wi Fi
Location: Café Du Monde, Jackson Square, New Orleans Flea Market, French Quarter
Hotel is great for the price! A true New Orleans experience. It was perfect for a weekend getaway. Just far enough from the French Quarter to be out of the revelry but close enough to walk if you are in good shape. The only complaint was the WI Fi. I needed to work during the day and had to use my phone as a hotspot even though the router was 10 feet away. Justin was very accommodating and tried to fix it but the technology was too old. Gated, secure parking in a safe area. Well, as safe as you can expect in New Orleans lately. Predictable considering city leaders are dismantling historic monuments even though the people in the monuments predate slavery. We walked the area with no problem whatsoever and all of the people were very nice.
4 out of 5
by Madhu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth your money

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We stayed there for the 4th of July weekend. Due to high room demand, hotel prices skyrocketted over the city and we ended up paying over $200/night for a queen bedroom. Definitely not worth the money! Even $70 would have been pricey. The room was in very poor condition (bathroom door mirror broken, tiles broken, bad finishings, we could barely close the door,...) and the air conditioning was extremely noisy and did not cool at all!! It looks quite nice in the pictures online but they are far from reality....I would not recommend it at all.
5 out of 5
by Joel

I have never felt so at home anywhere

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
I was immediately pleased with the customer service. Every staff member helped make me feel like I was home. I'll never need to look for a hotel in New Orleans again.
5 out of 5
by Ronald

La Vie en Rosé

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
This is our new home away from home. The friendly staff made us feel like family on our honeymoon and we couldn't be more thankful to them. The staff knows everything that's happening in the French Quarter so don't be afraid to ask them. They can direct you to amazing shows, tour guides, and the best food in the area. They also know their history of the area and are happy to share it. The breakfast was around a real, family style dining table and you got the opportunity to meet your fellow lodgers. Our room was very comfortable, and beautifully decorated with antiques. The courtyard is very peaceful and you really feel like a NOLA resident at this place. It's a short walk to everything you'd want to see. We are already planning our return trip, this time with friends. To the staff, thank you from the bottom of our hearts, you made this a truly magical experience. We <3 y'all!!!!
5 out of 5
by Cheri

Our Experience Was Amazing.

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
If you are looking for a 5 star, boutique hotel with room service and everything at the touch of a button, look somewhere else. However, if you are looking for an amazing experience with a fantastic vibe and friendly staff, look no further. This place is literally less than a five minute walk away from the French Quarter without the insane prices of the hotels in the French Quarter. Our room was full of antique furniture, the most comfortable bed on the planet, and the air was fantastic. Justin, the on duty desk guy when we arrived, was really helpful and knowledgeable. We were looking for an authentic New Orleans experience and he totally helped us achieve that. The rest of the staff was not as friendly as Justin, but they were nice and helpful when necessary. Yeah, the bathroom had a hole in the floor and the shower kind leaked and the pictures were kinda dated. Like I'm sure you've all read in other reviews. Like I said before, if you want a pristine, perfect hotel with no character, this place is not for you. But, if you are like us and want something that, while not perfect by any means, provides with a comfortable place to put your feet up after a long day of wandering the Quarter with helpful staff and such a great connection to the city, stay here! We loved it so much that we plan to go back, and bring friends.