Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience overall

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service needs major overhaul
Location: French Quarter but far from everything
I booked a room at New Orleans Guest House on Expedia, and received a confirmation. It was supposed to be a quick overnight trip to New Orleans, and time really mattered. My mom and I arrived, checked in, and were given keys to our room. We opened it , put our bags down, and I was about to unpack and relax. When, OMG, I see that there is somebody else's stuff in the room all over the place. Basically, they put us in a room with a guest in it already. Quickly we were out of there. Oh well, big deal. Stuff happens, right? After numerous apologies we were given a key to room 13. This time with no one in it, guaranteed! No one, except a young man who had to put his pants on in a flash of a second as I was opening the door to his room trying to get in. Not that funny the second time. Then we waited and waited while they were trying unsuccessfully to find a room. It was past 10 pm already. Finally, the owner arrived, apologized, and assured us he would find us a place to stay. Because, apparently, they were fully booked. And find he did. He walked us to a place so horrible , it sent chills down my tired spine. He said he couldn't pay for it (I wonder WHY) and that he'd compensate me the next day. When we finally saw the room, I realized I simply can't let my mom go through this. It was simply horrible dirty roach infested place. I ended up staying in a completely different hotel and paying way more, and next day I got zero compensation and really bad attitude from owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A deal

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Awesome price enjoyed our stay... older building but loves it...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Good location and friendly and helpful staff. Bit shabby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Very ccomfortable. Close to all the attractions in The French Quarter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and cheap hotel During Mardi Gras.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The room is clean and comfort. The location is close to foods during Mardi Gras.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

New Orleans French Quarter Vacation

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, parking and staff. Room was very quaint. The provided breakfast was actually not too bad.
Cons: I would say placing a foam mattress pad and topper would make the beds even better. I like an extremely soft bed and I am somewhat spoiled
Location: The whole idea that the French Quarter is easily accessible from the location was the main clincher for me. The trolley was a plus too.
I reviewed this facility prior to reserving. I actually enjoyed the visit. I will state the obvious as others have before me, this is not a new facility. It is an old style building converted to guest stays. If you want modern and fancy this is not the hotel for you. I found it quaint and pleasant. They are in the midst of remodeling the outside and I see evidence of ongoing repairs. For the price of the stay compared to staying within the Quarter itself it is a very good deal. I found the staff I had interaction with to be very helpful and knowledgeable. I was within walking distance of everything I wanted to see within the Quarter even though the facility is located on the edge. The trolley was just down the road and easily reached for other visits throughout the city. I pretty much left my car parked for the entire stay. Remember it is an extra charge to park there but compared to trying to park with the many pay for parking locations it is lower in some respects. Due to the ongoing construction I have to rate it an overall 4 but I really enjoyed the stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly staff, comfy be, could be cleaner

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Quaint little hotel close to the french quarter. The bed was comfy but the room was not super clean. My bed got made each day but it looked the floors were not cleaned before I arrived. The staff was super friendly though. It is a good choice if you are going to be out most of the time and just need a place to sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We were looking for a reasonable room near the French Quarter to attend an event at the Saenger Theatre...what an excellent location near so many places and venues..the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was great. I will be booking here for my next stay. I would recommend this B&B ...don't expect the high dollar luxury but very quaint..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Convenient but never again

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Hotel was very close to the French quarter. Staff was friendly however on the last day of my stay I saw a roach. I was grossed out. I won't ever stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Comfortable Stay & Great Location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location and small size.
Cons: Rooms need to be refreshed and cleaned.
Location: Walk up North Rampart for local restaurants and bars; they are not at all touristy.
Great location. The hotel is just across the street from a rail car stop on North Rampart. I prefer Frenchman to Bourbon Street, and I was able to walk there within 20 minutes. Get a daily bus/rail pass on your smartphone; it's the way to get around town. The hotel room is just that. Small but comfortable. Definitely not for kids are those with trouble moving around. With so few rooms in the hotel, the place is not noisy. Fortunately, the parking lot was just finished, so I had plenty of room to park. They are now walling off the back patio. My girlfriend and I stayed in room #1 which had plenty of water pressure. She saw a roach in the lobby bathroom, but we never saw one in our room. I'm from the South and don't get too creeped-out by them. The neighborhood is fine for New Orleans, never felt unsafe. My g/f and I walked all around it at night. I would stay here again if the rate is right.