Ratings based on 749 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

First trip to New Orleans.

Posted May 14, 2017
we went for a week to take in the historical side of the city. The location was good because everything was within walking distance. French Quarter. River walk. WW II museum. Double decker bus route and street car lines. This is however a very basic hotel. A small lobby and rooms. No restaurant no bar no pool no gym. If you need those things I suggest you pick a different property. But, if you are looking for a good place to spend the night. This is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Excellent location in French Quarter

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The location to the French Quarter, museum, the River was excellent. Easy walking distance to everywhere. Huge corner room with beautiful furniture
Cons: Not sure the smell of the lobby area of the hotel can be improved since it is such an old hotel however the musky smell is hidden by an awful freshner
Location: Loved the Louisiana Swamp tour(Ernie was so interesting and knowledgable, and Brett the driver was amazing), the Plantation tour, and the WWII museum!
Authentic old Hotel, with nice character. We really enjoyed this. Lucky to be connected to the Ruby Slipper restaurant which is a great place to eat brunch. We walked a lot which is the best way to get around the area right off Canal Street. (Ruby Slipper restaurant restrooms are poorly maintained and connected to the hotel lobby but we were told they are not the responsibility of the hotel) Loved the swamp tour on airboat, a plantation tour, and the culinary walking tour with DAVID. The WWII museum is well worth the time and money. We spent 6 hours there amazingly. Riverwalk along the Mississippi is really nice on a warm day too. We tried all the authentic food we could find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms a little small

Posted Apr 12, 2017
There were 4 people in our party so the room was a little small, beds are very high makes it hard to get on them and don't think they were queen. Great location for all the parts of the city. Enjoyed our stay. Valet parking very high!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

Desk clerks very friendly

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere is presents as soon as you walk in is very impressive, especially if you like "old style"!
Cons: Make ice machine more available
Location: Location puts you within 10 .minutes of numerous eating establishments and attractions. We couldn't have asked for anything more centrally locate.
We arrived late, almost 10PM.but desk clerk was very cheerful and friendly. We had selected an interior room, which meant no windows, but the size of the room was very sufficient. The classic 12ft high ceilings were trimmed with large crown molding, with a large credenza and ample closet space. The bathroom was very nice with large counter top. The entire hotel was very attractive featuring the classic motif of a by gone era. Walk thru the lobby to the Ruby Slipper and enjoy one of the best breakfast spots in NOLA! Their famous BACON BLOODY MARY is a must....and be sure to ask for Devin....for a real top of the mark waiter!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Arrived early by 4 hours but they stored our luggage and we went sight seeing
Within walking distant to bourbon street went to farmers market on the street car ate at several restaurants hotel was close to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , walking distant everything.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Nice cold air, clean room, great service andC8 quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

close to the casino and out of the French Quarter

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: could be cleaner
Location: Casino, French Quarter and CBD
The staff was very nice. The room could have been cleaner. The bathroom did not appear clean. The rooms and the décor were nice. This place is in an ideal, almost hidden location. Good spot for the value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to french quarter in NO

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The room was really nice, clean, spacious and comfortable. Most hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Walls were very thin - my neighbour liked to turn on TV very loud at 5:30am, and turn it off at 11:30pm. If I had not been staying on buisness this would have been much more annoying. The shampoo/conditioners were not good, resulted in dry frizzy hair, with greasy patches - no matter how much shampoo/conditioner I used (I should have remembered my own). Stayed at a days inn after this hotel and it was a relief to use a decent shampoo - clean hair for the first time in days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The hotel is too old, not like the pic shows on the website. We r so disappointed the moment we reached hotel. And the stuff there r weird, she recommends lots of city tours that we not interested at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Perfect for price

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Great staff, centrally located to all attractions and outstanding maid service. Not a high dollar fancy hotel, but a perfect place for us common folk to make you feel good. Will stay again without hesitation.