Ratings based on 1,252 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

Typical old New Orleans hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location is great. 1 block from St. Charles and the streetcar line. Short walk to Magazine and the shops there.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room!
The hotel is typical old New Orleans building which is in decent condition. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and my sons loved the loft bed area. The downside was the overpowering rose perfume smell that was being used to cover up the faint musty smell. The carpeting also had sticky spots that I don't want to know WHY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Great

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Put in a an elevaor.
Location: Some things too far away for walking, but beautiful location
It would be more convenient if there was an elevator, but loved the setting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs CA

Hotel in decline.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Close to trolley. Nice courtyard with seating.
Cons: Needs new paint. Tacky wires exposed for TV and Lamp. Dusty baseboards and door panels. Water puddle outside my room two days after rain stopped.
Location: Garden District locale. Too far away from main attractions.
Had to wait for ten minutes at front desk for anyone to show up for check-in. Very nice place to stay a few years ago, but needs refreshing inside and out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great location but do not stay on the first floor!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Well equipped, Clean
Cons: Sound insulation
The hotel is very close to the French Quarter and the rooms are clean and well equipped. However, our room was on the first floor and in the mornings you could hear everybody walking upstairs very loudly. Whenever somebody walked down the stairs you could even feel the vibrations of the footsteps and sometimes you could hear the ceiling creak a bit. Perhaps staying in a room upstairs would have been much better to get enough sleep at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastham, ma

Quiet yet conveniently located

Posted Dec 11, 2016
My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights. Our room was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed. It was nice to have a place to sleep that was quiet but still just a stone's throw from the action. The trolley stop is just around the corner (walgreens just up the street to buy jazzy passes for it)and its very simple to learn the routes. There are also a number of great restaurants within walking distance and restaurant/distillery going in at the other end of the hotel parking lot. Which brings me to my next point...free safe parking!! Granted if you just plan on spending lots of time in the French Quarter and zero time exploring surrounding areas then this isnt a great perk for you. I will be staying here again next time I go visit this marvelous city. I miss you NOLA!! <3
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location. Style of the building. And the bed!
Cons: Bigger bathroom. Better wireless.
Location: Good cafes, pubs and restaurants nearby. Lovely old houses on Prytania St.
Good location, close to nice restaurants, pubs, etc. Street cars 2 minutes away or even a 25 minute walk to French Quarter. Hotel is in a quiet location. Staff is very helpful. Room was pleasant and cleaned. Bed was very comfortable. Only small downside was the weak wireless signals in the room, but good outside in the common areas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Could only stay one evening but it was just right!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in NOLA

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is located in the lower Garden District of New Orleans, within walking distance of the WWII Museum, the Ogden Art Museum, the St. Charles streetcar line, and several very good restaurants. Don't expect the uniformity of a chain hotel, but the Prytania is one of those charming places typical of this city. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful, especially concerning restaurants and how to get around. (Suggestion to the management--add some shade-loving plants to the outdoor areas. The bamboo is not enough.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High School Football Quarter-Finals Game

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
The room was large and comfortable. There was a stale smell, it is an older building so it is to be expected. I used Essential Oils on a cotton ball placed on the A/C unit to purify the air and make the room smell better. But, I did have to do it several times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was not worth the price but oh well.

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk are some cool people but the hotel in general was just okay yet slightly cozy.