Ratings based on 4,139 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on Bourbon Street

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Get the TVs working in fitness center.
Location: Easy walk to Mississippi River.
Nice hotel, conviently located on Bourbon Street. Small rooms, but clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
yearly visitor to this hotel..........great location.......great staff............
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to welcome back old friends and we thank you for joining us year after year. It’s always a treat, as is your wonderful review. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of everything.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
First impressions were amazing and stayed that way for our entire stay. Beautiful clean hotel with very helpful staff. I would only stay here when visiting New Orleans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Greetings Tracy, Reviews like yours bring a smile to our face and we thank you for taking the time to share your magnificent review. It was a pleasure to have you settle in with us and we appreciate your wonderful comments regarding the attention to detail of our Sonesta housekeeping team. Once more, it was a treat to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back one day very soon. Warmest Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Nice hotel in heart of French Quarter

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Very nice hotel in heart of French Quarter. So.e rooms can be noisy if located overlooking Bourbon street, but hey you are here for the party right? Interior rooms are very quiet and very nice,especially this off a court yard or pool. Great poolside grill and bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Our courtyard terrace and pool oasis provide the perfect respite to the world that awaits beyond our front doors and we are pleased to read that you were able to make yourself at home here. We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope that you will soon be planning another French Quarter escape! Best Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Nice Hotel, Bad service

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: very pretty inside.. the room could be spruced up a tad, but the foyer was amazing
Cons: customer service
Location: EVERYTHING IS AROUND IT...if you wanna party, bourbon is the way to go
We had an ok expierience at the hotel. Expedia did not do a great job relaying information to me. I had called to see if I could get an upgrade to my room for a jacuzzi (why not) and I got told that every room had a jacuzzi tub....NOPE. Not my room, which was disappointing. I went several mornings to see if I could change rooms...I could not and therefore ended up staying in a room that I was told wrong about. Upon checkout, Sonesta charged me an extra night worth of parking...When we questioned it, the front desk lady told me to go run down to the valet and talk to them about it. When I said no, we had a shuttle pick up, the lady was rude and said "OK, OK, OK..." like I was the bad guy. She had the ability to change the end price and remove the extra night but still decided to be lazy and try to have me run around...That was a little ridiculous..we got the money back, but was treated like crooks for asking for it. I probably wont go there again. Nice, but i was a bit put out by that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear Steph, Warm greetings from New Orleans and thank you for sharing your review. Guests are often intrigued by the beauty and grandeur of our building and we are delighted to read that you were enamored by the intricate details, especially those featured in our lobby. We are equally delighted to find that our location served you well, though we are sorry to learn of the other feedback you have shared, especially that related to your interactions with our team. On behalf of all of us, we apologize if we did not leave you with an impression of gracious hospitality and we hope you will join us again so that we can provide you with a proper Royal Sonesta experience. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kittrell, NC

Very nice, we enjoyed our stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Maid service could have been a little better. Had to go behind her ask for toilet paper and then coffee. She would not speak to us. Not complaining at all but that was the only thing. Everything else was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear Kingsley, We are delighted to learn that your experience with us was overall one which was cherished, and we thank you for sharing your added comments which will be highlighted with our team. It was a pleasure to have you join us and we look forward to you settling back in again one day soon. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The view wasn't great but over all a wonderful experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from the French Quarter and thank you for sharing your marvelous review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we invite you to hurry back soon! Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of a kind experience.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Staying right on Bourbon Street was exciting. Close to everything. Party never stops. It's kinda loud if you want to sleep but who goes to New Orleans to sleep!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Crescent City! We are thrilled to find that your French Quarter visit is one that will long be remembered and we are delighted to have been part of that experience. It was a joy to have you with us and we hope that we can welcome you back in the months and years ahead. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Royal Sonesta was a royal letdown

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Easily walk to all the major parts of the city.
Cons: Be upfront about construction. You should deeply discount the rate or offer some major concessions instead of shoving a customer in the midst of it.
Location: If you are desiring a true Bourbon Street experience, Royal Sonesta is the place to stay. Everything was within easy walking distance.
Royal Sonesta was a royal letdown. We specifically booked a 4 star hotel, looking for a boutique experience with exceptional amenities and service. It felt more like staying at a 2 star run-down chain hotel with a really nice lobby. We were placed on the second floor facing Conti Street. It would have been nice to know renovations were taking place prior to arriving on floor 2. Wallpaper was peeling from the walls. Painters tape adhered signs reading "Pardon our Progress", and repairmen were in the middle of the hallway, where they had to stop their drilling in order for us to get by. Hoping to use Wifi? Think again! After trying to access the wifi we'd been given, we called the front desk. We were transferred to tech support. You know that "renovation I mentioned"? We were told the desk would be in touch with us about a room switch. We never heard anything. Our room was small, but nice until we realized it did not have a full length mirror. Two mirrors were over the nightstands blocked by large lamps. In order to use them, we had to move the lamps off of the tables. The bathroom left a lot to be desired as well - starting with a fan. The Keurig coffee maker that was advertised was inside of the small closet on top of a chest of drawers rendering it entirely useless. Speaking of the closet, the left handle fell off the door when I opened it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear DK, Greetings from New Orleans! It was a delight to welcome you and yours and while we are thrilled that our central location served you so well and that the lobby and room design introduced during our recent renovation left you impressed, we regret to learn of your added impressions and we apologize if your experience fell short of perfection. As you have highlighted, there are isolated points within the building which have wallpaper peeled back so that some internal, non-electrical cabling can be replaced and we are truly sorry if seeing this caused you any inconvenience or if it detracted from your enjoyment. We are likewise disappointed to learn of your troubles with connectivity and hope that a member of our Tech Support Team was able to assist. We appreciate your added feedback and hope that you will consider joining us again so that we can provide you with the Royal Sonesta experiences we are known for providing. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Hotel offered a very reasonable room with a balcony upgrade fee per night that included a hot breakfast every morning and a complimentary happy hour each night
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by RSNO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, The pleasure was truly ours and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. It sounds like your R Club experience was one which will be remembered and we hope that it can be repeated again in the months and years ahead. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta New Orleans