Ratings based on 1,918 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to the French Quarter.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Cons: Although the hotel had wi-fi, we were never able to connect.
Generally speaking, everything about our room was fine and worked well except the wi-fi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: great location on outskirts of French quarter. Walking distance of everything there. Fairly clean rooms. Pleasant staff. Cons: Queen bed did not seem queen size, bed very uncomfortable, loud noises-thin walls, no in room fridge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This was probably the 20th time I've stayed at the Royal Saint Charles. It's a fantastic location and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. I have not been there for a while, and did not recognize any of the front desk staff. Staff members I interacted with appeared to be distracted and bothered with serving me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Handy for business district and French quarter

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Location: A block away from Canal Street, Bourbon Street and Royal Street for shopping and drinking and music, plus the streetcar stops outside the hotel door.
Hotel was fine, on St Charles Avenue and a block from Canal Street, so ideal for catching a streetcar to go explore. It was 10 mins walk from the convention centre too, along well lit, safe streets. Friendly concierge and security on the door. Slight downside was only a coffee bar on site, though there are takeaway restaurants nearby, plus the noise of the streetcar line at night was initially disturbing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A prime location without a lot of noise

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: It was a prime location and quiet for New Orleans
We had a wonderful stay, and limited amount of noise. Service was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This hotel is a nice place to stay. One block from Bourbon. The only issues we had was when we came in one night the front desk clerk was asleep in a chair behind the desk and when we tried to ask him a question he didn't even wake up and if you get a balcony room bring earplugs as the noice is crazy all night long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Great Hotel, very friendly staff, very clean room, great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Nearly everything you want to see in New Orleans is within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shreveport, La.

Great location!!!!

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great location steps from the trolley and Bourbon Street. Friendly staff and clean fun place, coupons for a fee draft beer when we checked in and a nice breakfast in the morning
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to local attractions

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The positives is that the hotel was close to Bourbon street and the street car stopped right in front the hotel. Most attractions were walking distance. The front desk staff were great. The negative is that the rooms are extremely small and our closet had a strange odor. If we left the closet door open too long the entire room smelled terribly. The cleaning staff did a great job the first day. The days after that they didn't clean, they just made up the bed, picked up the garbage and gave us fresh towels. We ran out of toilet paper by the last day. Pillows on bed were too small and not fluffy. I wouldn't stay here again.