Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Good Location - Good Value

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Very reasonable prices for a nice room.
Cons: Check In area could be dressed up somewhat and located out of the main walkway into the building.
Location: Good location within a short walk to the French Quarter and Riverwalk shops.
The hotel has a good location between Canal St. & Poydras St. close to the French Quarter. The lobby is currently being renovated and is somewhat disorganized; however the rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel staff were friendly. Several public parking lots are close to the hotel, so you don't have to valet park. The hotel doesn't have some of the other amenities, such as pool and gym, but is a good value for somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep and rest your feet. Overall this hotel is one of the best values of all that I have stayed in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: It was close enough to the French Quarter and other attractions but not too close to miss a good night's rest.
My husband and I stayed only one night but were still impressed. The room was great with just enough space for the two of us, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and well stocked with towels and necessities. Our room also had wood floors which was great compared to the dingy carpets usually found in most hotels. We didn't get a chance to try the complimentary croissants since we were getting breakfast when we left but they provide a form to hang on your door to request a delivery time. The lobby is undergoing some renovation but it didn't really impact us because our room was located in the other building. The seating area off the lobby was great for waiting for pickup after we checked out as well. We also loved the courtyards and felt like they added a little charm to the property. The only real issue was a squeaky floor above us but it served as something to laugh about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

came for Garth Brooks

Posted Jul 13, 2015
we stayed here the weekend of the Garth Brooks concert and this was one of the decently priced ones. It was my husband, his brother and I in one of the 2 bed patio suites. We had more then enough room for all of us to get ready and room for me spread out all my "girly junk" (makeup/hair tools, etc) & not be in anyones way. The staff was all super friendly and helpful when we needed directions around the hotel and calling cabs and whatnot. The hotel was in a great location for things to do and safety. They were doing some construction right near the lobby but it wasn't an issue for us. I know some people see that as a negative, but it wasn't bothersome for our group. Overall, really enjoyed our stay here, would definitely recommend and come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, MS

Good location, Clean, but very unorganized...

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms
Cons: Organization!
Location: Good central location to downtown, French Market
Very unpleasant experience! We were not given the room that I booked and it took an hour and 15 minutes to get the vehicle out of Valet parking, they brought me the wrong car and then had to ask what color and what type of vehicle I had...The manager "explained" that they have every right to change your reservation to what they want to when you book through a third party...so why book through Expedia or any other third party if that is correct? We were not the only one's that had this trouble and they asked us to understand that there were a lot of people in town for Garth Brooks...I am there every 3 months for checkups and there are a lot of people there every weekend!! When you drive for 5 hours knowing that you have taken care of everything, it is very frustrating to arrive and have to deal with so many problems. They really need to get organized or they will lose a lot of business!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
It's in a great location - close to everything. Hotel just looked run-down, water pressure in the shower was almost non-existent. When we checked in we were told a pipe had burst in our assigned room, so we were put in a smaller room. We did not receive any sort of refund for staying in the smaller room (ended up with 1 bed instead of 2). Staff was polite, but not always attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Nice hotel, good location. Pleasant staff.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Good location. Nice and quiet.
Location: Great location. Bourbon St. Casino. All tourist spots within walking distance.
All good apart from not being serviced on our second night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Great Staff and Location

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Room was spacious and clean.
Cons: Parking is not great.
Location: Recommend the Katrina Tour on Gray Line Tours; also really liked the carriage city and cemetery tour. Best restaurants: Trenasse and Atchafalaya.
Best 2 things about the St. James, the knowledgable staff and the location. We got great recommendations for places to eat and things to do in New Orleans and everything we wanted to do was within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice Hotel and walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 2, 2015
It was such a pretty historic building right downtown and close to everything. I really enjoyed staying there and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We are definitely going back and hopefully staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the safest area, construction, pool was a foun

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Took forever to check in- 1 person, other person was sitting at the computer not helping anyone. We were all exhausted and nobody was moving to help or give water or anything. Nice about refunding is so we could move though. Needs room service or at least a good referral of where to get dinner past 11pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good position.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Room was really nice, in a kind of colonial style, and staff member at front desk was lovely. No problems really, one night air conditioning broke so we had one very hot nights sleep, but was fixed by the morning. Good spot to be in, within walking distance of everything, and plantation tour the lady who checked us in recommended was very good!