Ratings based on 1,325 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ky

Convenient location.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Character, location, and staff.
Cons: Toilet ran
Location: French quarters
The staff was amazing, helpful, and polite. That's it in a nut shell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Style and location, friendly and helpful reception. Quiet for good night rest.
Cons: Breakfast was hit and miss.
Location: Close walk to French quarter.
Other than a few service issues, this was a very good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.

Boutique hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The St. James is a lovely boutique hotel away from the bustle of The French Quarter. Everything you'd want to do in that area is within a mile. The "pool" is really just a water feature but the courtyard is a lovely place to have coffee in the morning. Coffee and croissants are brought to your room each morning. This is definitely New Orleans though, and our room had quite a slanted floor. To us, it just added to the charm. The staff was so friendly and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to the French Quarter

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The Rooms we nice and clean, they offer coffee and Croisants to your room for breakfast, the service was ok, and the court yards are cute but could use some care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel just outside the French Quarter

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The location, the friendly staff, the comfortable rooms.
Location: Walking distance to the French Quarter, the street cars, Riverside outlet mall, ferry terminal, Aquarium etc. Everything is close by!
This was our last stop after a month travelling around the States. This hotel was great. It's located just outside the French Quarter - literally only minutes walk away. That's a good thing, as you get peace and quiet but can still walk everywhere. The rooms here are really nice - large, bright and airy and the beds are huge. Breakfast is pretty insubstantial - a croissant per person and tea or coffee. But it's included, so can't complain. The staff were great - gave us suggestions on where to eat and happily held our bags after we checked out. For the price, this is a fantastic place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Rocky Rodriguez Assistant General Manager St. James Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Charming historical hotel in top location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
First time visit to NOLA and our choice of hotel was excellent. 10 minute walk at the most to Canal street which is the central point to go in all directions in the CBD and visit the numerous famous streets with their attractions. Hotel built in 1833 and had this old worldly charm with spacious accommodating rooms. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Biloxi

Great place

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great hotel, friendly staff and a great location. Perfect little get away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Bleach everything. Doors, light switches, bath .... everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Perfect hotel, perfect location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Location: The location is excellent. Just a couple of blocks from the French Quarter, yet lovely and quiet and peaceful.
This hotel was a win from the moment we checked in. The price was excellent and we were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in the front door. No impersonal check in experience here! We sat down and chatted with the front desk staff and were provided with a map of New Orleans with a whole bunch of places marked on it based on what we were interested in. The hotel decor is beautiful and tasteful ... It felt like a stately yet comfortable and inviting place to return to after exploring New Orleans ... A refuge from the intensity of New Orleans. The fresh croissants and coffee / juice delivered to our room each morning was a very civilised way to start the day. I've stayed in many hotels around the world, but this is the first one that not only had all the amenities I need, but at the same time truly felt like a home away from home. I unreservedly recommend the St James to anyone travelling to New Orleans. I for one wouldn't stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice as usual, but a few issues

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Great location. Good rates. Paid parking directly across the street, so you don't have to valet.
Cons: Reopen the Natchez Street gate. A little more attention to trashcans at the elevators.
Location: Quick walk to the Quarter and Warehouse District. Better than staying in the Quarter.
Have stayed here many times and never a bad experience. Lobby renovations look nice. A few issues: Trash was overflowing at the 2nd floor elevator when we arrived, leaving an unpleasant smell in the hall. TV remote was set to wrong input source; easy to fix, but many don't know how. Maids should be trained to check this. No pen in room for filling out breakfast order. I'm not sure there's anything they can do about these items, but would like for them to know: A big plus for this hotel used to be the open courtyard gate on Natchez, and is one of the main reasons we liked this hotel . If you were staying in the rear building, this meant you could come and go without walking through the lobby. The gate was chained shut when we visited this time. I really hate this, but I understand if it's a security issue; however, this was a distinguishing feature and now that it's no longer available, we'll consider other hotels in the future. I'm also not a fan of the desks at check-in (they've been there for a while, and replaced the traditional counter check-in area). I don't want to sit down to check in, and it's awkward hovering over a desk while the clerk is seated. Bring back the traditional check-in counter. Overall, if you're looking for a place to stay near, but not in, the Quarter, the St. James is a solid choice.