Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Misti wedding

Misti

Posted Nov 16, 2012 on Hotels
We really had a great time. Carl was so nice. It was like we had the house to ourself. I have told all my friends about Carl's b&b.
4 out of 5
by Hillary from London

A perfect spot if you don't mind walking into town

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: The host and room
Location: Very quiet area, 20 minute walk to the french quarter
A really charming B&B with an excellent host. We stayed for a few nights, it was perfect for the two of us and the room was huge (we were in the green room). Carl had a lovely continental spread each morning and was really flexible with all amenities, which included free wifi or use of his laptop, laundry service, hair dryer, even wine and beer to buy! There was a jacuzzi out in the back patio but we didn't use it. It was a little bit of a walk into town, about 20 minute stroll to the French Quarter, but if you like to be in a quieter area and don't mind walking through a genuine neighborhood it's perfect! And Carl has a great knowledge of the city and gives good tips on where to go and when.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Paddywiz from Tampa, FL, USA

BURGUNDY B&B, A GOOD BUY

Posted May 13, 2012
Pros: The price is reasonable with an acceptable location in a quiet neighborhood.
Cons: TV options are limited and pillows are flat and hard.
Location: About fsix blocks from the French Quarter.
My biggest complaint or disappointment was the lack of channels on the cable system. I was almost forced to watch MSNBC all week. No ESPN or any sports network in the middle of the playoff season. What's up with that? The owner (Carl) is a kind and gentle host who knows New Orleans and is helpful with tips on how to get around the town. I also wasn't crazy about the pillows. The building is quaint and well cared for. It is a bit of a walk to the French Quarter but probably good because of all the good food around. The B&B also has a hot tub in the back yard which is available for guests use. Good place to get some peace and quiet while still being near all the action and excitement of New Orleans. Breakfast is continental style, nothing fancy but sufficient.
5 out of 5
by Mike and Liz

Location, Location,Location

Posted Apr 18, 2012 on Hotels
Carl's Burgundy Bed and Breakfast is a great base to see all of New Orleans. Located in a quiet neighborhood you can walk to most all attractions or link up with the Trolley which will take you to anywhere else. Carl is a gracious host who will guide you to anywhere you would like to see in his home town. The Burgundy attracts visitors from all over the world. Fall in love with the real New Orleans. You will want to return here again and again. Can you tell that we loved it?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Burgundy B and B

Posted Mar 24, 2012 on Hotels
Carl is a most gracious host and was very accomodating when I had to change my travel plans. The home is nicely laid out, and the access to a guest kitchen area is fabulous. The only drawback was the neighborhood-o.k. to walk around in, but a hike to the downtown areas, and definitely uncomfortable at night with seedy characters not too far away (then again, that characterizes New Orleans in general). If you have a car, parking is difficult but it would remove the safety issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

adequate but poor service

Posted Jan 19, 2012 on Hotels
About 15 minutes' walk from the French quarter on a quiet street, I liked the location. But breakfast at this BnB isn't served until 9 am. I know New Orleans nightlife rules, but I had to leave by 8 am each morning to attend a conference; when I told the proprietor (who seemed very nice) he said he'd put some milk in the fridge so I could have cereal in the morning. Over three mornings, the milk never appeared, the cereal boxes were empty & never replenished. I'd get back around 7 or 8 pm, never saw the proprietor(s) nor was asked how things were going. Also, be careful: this place has a No Refunds policy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful!!!

Posted Jan 10, 2012 on Hotels
I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others. The location was not as close to the French Market and Bourbon Street as we were led to believe but it only cost about 7.00 to take a taxi to French Market or Bourbon st. It was a very comfortable stay. The owners are extremely nice!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pacifica, CA

Burgundy Bed & Breakfast in New Orleans

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels
The best things about the Burgundy Bed and Breakfast Inn are its nearness to the French Quarter and to Frenchment Street's music bars, and its owner, Carl. Carl is a native of New Orleans or has lived there a long time, and he knows many good places to see or to hear music, and he is willing to make reservations. He also knows the history of the place, and visits with his guests. The Inn is really a converted two unit side-by-side house in a funky but safe part of town. It is within walking distance of the French Quarter and downtown, and once downtown one can take a trolley to other sections of the City. At the time Carl was having trouble with his housekeeper, so our room was not cleaned or the bed remade when we were out. However, I understand that this was a exception to his usual practice. We also liked the breakfasts, which were served buffet style. They included hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, dry cereal, pastries and muffins with various jams and jellies, and yogurt. It was a welcome change from many of the cheese and meat-laden breakfasts we had at other b&b's on our trip. Overall, the place grew on us, and we would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2010 on Hotels