Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lafayette

.7 mile walk to the Smoothie King Center and Canal

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This was a great location if you don't mind walking a tiny bit. We walked to the concert in no time as well as Canal St. Also The River Walk was about the same distance. I'll definitely return. Hotel staff was attentive and friendly. They held our bags after checkout and my valet was still good the next day until 4p.m.! More time than I needed to continue to explore NOLA! Thanks to everyone over there! Room was clean and comfortable. I fell straight to sleep!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We LOVE the Whitney!

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We try to stay at the Whitney every time we stay in New Orleans. It's a beautiful old building with a lot of history, and it's conveniently located in the CBD. It's within walking distance of many venues, restaurants, historical sites and Harrah's Casino. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. It's also quite affordable..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Highly recommend the hotel. I had a great room and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only downside was the street noise - it's a pity the management don't invest in double glazing or something to drown the noise out as I am sure that is off putting to many. Aside from that, I recommend the hotel hands down.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Charming old hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Close to everything but far enough to enjoy
Cons: rooms need a safe
Location: French Quarter within walking distance,St Charles street car a hop away
Very nice,clean hotel,so much charm.Staff were friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MS

Original windows in a historic bldg were noisy!!!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Attractive renovation, but left the old thin wIndows. Street noise required ear plugs. Charged me for a movie we didn't watch. Small room with two steps...easy to stumble on. Not a chance of returning. Great location, but that's it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pretty nice hotel in good location. Room and bathroom was really clean. Great location close to pretty much everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monroe, LA

Super nice hotel!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
I had some issues with the room during my stay but was taken care of upon checkout. The only thing i didn't like about the room is there was no refrigerator or microwave, but we dealt with it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for people looking for fun

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The room itself was lovely but the restaurant/bar was a joke. They only had four drinks on the menu and did not have the ingredients to make two of them. They had to ask us how to make the drink that we ordered and it was awful. We decided to try their breakfast one morning. It was $14 per person and the food was awful; dried scrambled eggs, half raw potatoes and a biscuit that felt like a hockey puck. We are a young couple and we've stayed at several New Orleans hotels that catered to a fun loving, foodie crowd. This hotel was NOT one of them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The price of the room.
Location: Very convenient to the places I wanted to go to. I walked most of the time.
At first sight the room looked cramped but seemed to expand the second day. It was very comfortable and quiet in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexanria, LA

Historic hotel. Walking distance.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: It has lots of character. Location was nice.
Cons: Customer service need improving.
Location: The location was somewhat close to the River-Walk, plentiful shops, restaurants, and a bank.
The hotel was easy to locate. Clerks were not friendly at front desk when checking in. Had to push luggage cart to room. Opened door, someone was still using the room. Went back down with luggage for four people. Told clerks about room. Clerks was not nice at all. They said the computers were down. Got a new room. No extra courtesies at all. The telephone didn't work, when I needed the front desk, I had to go down stairs. The tub wouldn't hold water for bath. The room was very noisy from the traffic, made it difficult to sleep.