Ratings based on 775 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Great location to street car transportation , bus line, walking distance to "ALL Things " great access and view for Mardi Gras parade!!! The Bistreaux restaurant has some Great food and service (hidden Gem)!! We loved the food better than places in the hotel books and We went to eat at alot of restaurants but the food was seasoned the Best The staff was very friendly and helpful as well as professional, we would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the French quarter and transportation

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Staff was great and converted old building with the old style architecture
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Change the carpets and update beds
Location: Close to French quarts and casino
Great Location' nice historic old building. However when you get off the elevator you are hit with old musky smell, the rooms are nice, but not that clean and the bed was old and springy. The staff and customer service great and friendly. Very expensive to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be a great place but...

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The Hotel Whitney has a lot of character and could be a very nice 4 star hotel IF the owners invested in upgrading and modernizing it. It is on the cusp of sliding down the scale if nothing gets done. It is on the tired side- old carpeting, peeling wallpaper, mis-matched and old furniture in the room, kind of drab colors. The restaurant needs upgrading as well and the waitress (older woman) was not friendly in the least. With some investment, it has all the potential of becoming a really great hotel, but without it's clear it will just continue the slide to the seedy side. Too bad if it does.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Good location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Easy walk to French Quarter and streetcars. Older building, old windows that do not open and let lots of noise through. Rooms to rear have frosted glass due to adjacent building. Check-in delayed over an hour. Room small, queen bed more like full-size. Good for weekend trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, historic hotel.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
A very comfortable stay close to the French Quarter. The hotel does not offer many amenities, however. Limited hours for in hotel dining and bar services. Bed was comfortable and staff was courteous and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: hotel s/b refurbished
Location: ok location
very unpleasant experience, hotel looked unclean n poorly lit, beds saggy, linens smelled n pillows s/b thrown away...broken lamp shades, fire detector hanging fr ceiling n drapes were off fr the rods
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The bed was not that comfortable this time at thr Whitney, service atcthe bar was also slow
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Location, needs new beds

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Its location and breakfast.
Cons: Beds and pillows
Location: It was only a block away from the St. Charles trolly and 6 blocks from the WWII museum. Not sure how far the river walk is, but we walked there too.
The location was great. Smack in the middle of everything. We could walk to the trolly and all the way to the French quarter no problem. The 2 full beds we slept on were very hard and the pillows were flat. Also you could hear traffic in the morning. Honking ext.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Old Bank to Lovely Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: I loved the rooms and the lobby. Very well done. The staff were very helpful as well.
Cons: More selections in the little café they have.
This hotel is a converted bank building. I love the feel of the place and the old vault right in the lobby. The rooms are a little smaller but still lovely and I would definitely stay here again. The staff were great and the location is very good for getting to and from the French Quarter. You do have to pay for parking but that is normal in New Orleans.