Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun modern location snug in the French Quarter

Posted Jun 28, 2017
This place was great. Friendly super helpful staff. Very clean and secure right in the middle of the French Quarter. Great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The guy with curly hair at the whatever desk was plain rude. The staff at the bar and restaurants were extremely nice and welcoming. Other than the location there's nothing appealing about this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

First time in NOLA

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Room service was delivered quickly, within 5-10 minutes each time I ordered. Food and drinks were fabulous. Loved the balcony and overall vibe of the hotel. Other guests were really nice too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trendy hotel close to everything

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Hotel staff were great and always ready to help. It is elogantly located in the heart of the French Quarter making it easy to get everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New Orleans!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Coral, FL

Nice

Posted Jun 3, 2017
NOLA "W" is a great place to stay, near to downtown and to the action of Bourbon street and other night life. SoBou, the hotel restaurant and bar is also great,the food, the cocktails and the staff are all superb. Rooms are decorated in an edgy, but comfortable style. My only pet peeve is the lack of free WiFi, most all hotels offer this feature in 2017. Would not prevent me from staying again, but a hotel of this level should not "nickel and dime" its guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm not sure if you're aware, but WiFi is free for all SPG members and it's free to sign up for the rewards program if you haven't already. We also offer free WiFi in our courtyard 24/7. I apologize if no one explained this to you! We hope to see you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Never Again

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Room/bathroom was so small that 2 people could not walk around without bumping into each other. No blackout curtains, so sun came streaming through blinds EARLY in a.m. (not what you want after a night in the French Quarter.) Water from faucet in bathroom smelled like sewage. Extremely hard to brush your teeth/wash face with it. Just checked my credit card and have been charged twice for parking...grrr. I have stayed in Nola several times a year for decades and never had such a bad experience. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

frequent traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Woke up at 4:30 am to use bathroom, turned on lights and ROACHES skittered across floor. Front desk wasn't open until 6, so had to sit in a dark courtyard,as I was not going to stay in a room with live roaches, and then left my info for Manager and checked out immediately. Manager called as I was traveling home- returned call and left info again. Received another return phone call, during a time I was unable to answer, again returned call and left my info and never heard back. I have traveled to foreign countries, many big cities and stayed in 100's of hotels and have never encountered roaches. We noticed how dated and not well kept the room/ hotel was on arrival but did realize New Orleans is an older city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greer SC

Relaxing weekend

Posted May 4, 2017
We travel New Orleans several times a year for the jazz and peacan pie and have stayed about everywhere but this was our first time at the W Orleans but it will not be our last now that we have experienced it ! Great location and Great staff don't miss a chance to stay here you will not be disappointed .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

The W is clearly overrated

Posted May 3, 2017
Booked a Wonderful King room and we were given the handicap accessible room. Had to throw a fit with Expedia and the W and it took them 4 days to get us moved. Tried to charge us an upgrade fee of $45 per night. The location is great if you're looking to stay in the French Quarter but there is a lack of attention to detail that's blaringly obvious. My robe was a tattered mess, there was trash in the pool, our sink was clogged and breakfast was disgusting. Literally smelled like rotten meat on the ham Benedict. My wife and I were so disappointed with the lack of quality/value we will never stay at a W property again. Not to mention the room decor was horrible with orange tile and black ceilings. Good luck getting ready ladies...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but....

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Prime location - it's walking distance to all good restaurants and tourist attractions. Courteous staff; very friendly, professional, and charming.
Cons: Make sure the outlets/plugs all work. The light fixtures all work. Your kitchen should be able to provide what's on their menu (no excuses).
Location: Location is in the heart of French Quarter district. Cafe Beignet is around the corner. Kingfish is across the street. Location is prime!
The W was located in the heart of the French Quarter and all the good restaurants and touristy stuff was very close by. I walked to everything (except the Garden District). The rooms, however, were disappointing: Below were my following gripes in room #305: 1) Closet light didn't work half the of the time. It might be the wiring but it should work when you open the closet door. 2) Facing the closet is the wall mirror that was in high demand. Because the bathroom was so tiny, you would use the wall mirror to put on makeup. Well, can't do that if you only have 1 light inside a closet that didn't work in a hallway section painted in black. Lighting was an issue. 3) They had USB and plug-in outlet near the desk which is very convenient - but it also didn't work. I couldn't charge my phone. 4) The bathroom floor is black - behind the door was dusty/dirty. That's what happens when you use black as an interior color - you see everything! 5) They have a late night menu from 10pm to 6:30am. They said that the kitchen was closed. I ordered a late night snack close to midnight- a caeser chicken wrap (with chips). They said I was in luck and that was the only thing they had left. It wasn't caeser; it wasn't good; and they didn't provide me with chips. I want to emphasize that the staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Location again is awesome. Maybe it was just room #305 that needed some TLC. But if you're going to spend $$$, I'd probably stay at the Omni.