Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kamloops, BC

Expected Better

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Customer service. Front desk staff said the words but sounder insincere. TV repairman was trying, but should have known the second TV was broken
Location: Quite a long way from airport. About 12-15 minutes. Some shopping and food in the area, if you knew what was there. Hard if you arrive after dark
First stay - Room smelled like fresh paint, Big patch of ceiling texture had fallen off, light bulb burned out, only bath towels - no hand or face towels, TV didn't work, no art work walls. Hall carpet stained. We ate at hotel restaurant while light bulb was replaced and 2 hand towels arrived. After dinner, the repairman got the TV working after three attempts. Didn't know where to eat, never been here before. Given a list of restaurants that they could shuttle us to but it would only happen when they had time. We didn't know what kind of food each place had or prices.. No menu. They had some suggestions of places that would deliver, but no menu. We were tired, hungry and disappointed, so ate in the hotel restaurant. It wasn't wonderful, but it got the job done. Second stay - on the way home - Room was freshly painted, but still no art. Everything worked. Returned our car to the Airport, then called them to send the shuttle for us. Asked at the front desk if that would be OK. They said yes, have the rental car people to call to arrange the ride. So we did. After 1/2 hour wait, we called the hotel, who told us the shuttle have come and gone. We reordered it. After another 1/2 hour we called again. They said it should be their any minute. After another 1/2 hour it finally arrived. Again, we didn't want to trust them to take us to dinner, so we ate in the hotel restaurant. Again, wasn't wonderful, but got the job done Nice restaurant staff, but inexperienced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

A bit run down but the personnel were fab

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Could use more sprucing up but the service and attitude of all the personnel we came in contact with was fantastic. Great attitudes all round. I enjoyed being served by happy employees with good training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA state

Amazing staff !

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Bill, Nancy, and Anthony in the bar were exceptional! We went down to our bar in the hotel to eat every single night because the food was so wonderful and the staff was amazing! The shuttle drivers were great, the desk staff were great, could not have asked for better staff in any hotel I've ever stayed in! On a sidenote, we will be back next year, and I would love to have a fridge in our room :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Excellent Staff

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Staff professionals
Cons: Facility appearance
Staff was extremely courteous and top notch making the experience delightful. The facility was under construction with the updates going well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amy-Lynn Pelaez, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are currently renovating to enhance our guests' experience, and apologize for any inconvenience our renovations may have caused. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you back soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Space

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Not as spacious as advertised. Advertising said Spacious King room, was very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amy-Lynn Pelaez, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologize that you did not find the room spacious, and we will work to re-evaluate the naming of our guest rooms. Thank you for your business!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toms River, NJ

Clean room, nice bed, little else to offer.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Room was clean, bed quite comfortable.
Location: Close to New Orleans. Wonderful music, a city that is rich in history. Plenty of shopping. Plenty of opportunity for volunteering post Katrina.
Hot tub was broken when I arrived. Counted on this feature after driving to 2 days and having a busy agenda while visiting New Orleans. Initially got conflicting reports as to the possibility of repair during stay but it was not to happen and they didn't seem to care. The lock to my room was broken. It was replaced quickly. The night staff was wonderful about this. The toilet was loose (not leaking) and clanked every time I sat or got up. Did not report until checkout. Did not have the time to wait to have repair done. I have come to expect certain things to be included at this and lesser price points that were not. NO refrigerator, NO microwave, NO complimentary breakfast of any sort were included. I would have looked for another hotel but Expedia has a NO refund policy (that has never been a problem in the past but...). Hotel in between 2 busy roads, somewhat noisy. Turned fan on constant for some white noise and it cycled on and off as if it were the auto setting. Room clean. Bed comfortable. Will find other accommodations for my next visit in the spring.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TORONTO

Airport Shuttle??? Phone system???

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Cons: AIRPORT SHUTTLE and PHONE SYSTEM. Add another phone line and LIST another number! Supply Wyndham 800 number info when where are problems!
We arranged hotel shuttle pickup. Called hotel at 11.30pm but got 'all circuits busy, try later' message. Kept calling using cell, airport phone. Airport people said their shuttle won't come unless you get through to them. Saw shuttles from all other airport hotels. Called Wyndham 800 number & was told no info about hotel and has only the same 1 number. Transferred me to the SAME message. Called Expedia that has the same only number that is not working. Gave up after wasting more than one hour and found cab wanting $18 to the hotel. Hotel front desk said phone system down and not their fault, NO APOLOGY. BUT they knew guests were waiting for shuttle at airport! Why didn't they send the shuttle??? Phone in room still not working 3rd day. Front desk said system fixed but could NOT dial local call for me. She could NOT do 3 way call & cannot transfer!!! What hotel phone system is that??? I asked to have phone checked. The hotel repairman confirmed needing AT&T to come to fix. Front desk supervisor would not reimburse cab fare but promised to ask manager and never got back to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Very clean hotel. Excellent staff and great location (right off the interstate, near airport and downtown New Orleans).
My friend and I had a very nice stay at this hotel. We found everything to be excellent and were able to relax and to sleep well at this clean and comfortable hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amy-Lynn Pelaez, GM, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you every so much for your 5 star review on your stay with us. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great renovation @ this hotel. Close to everything

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: It's right off of I-10, clean, safe, has restaurant & bar on site
Cons: Restaurant food is not as good as it used to be. I wish hotels would get that women travel too and improve bathrooms with better lighting, etc.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, shopping and right off of I-10 so you can get to anywhere.
Easy check in, friendly staff. I've been staying here for years even before it was a Wyndham. Renovation is beautiful, well done. Bill the bartender has been there for years and I was very excited to see him. Felt like coming home. He remembered me, and he makes every customer that comes into the bar, feel welcome. The menu @ the restaurant changed with the new ownership and my favorite item was no longer available. I ordered chicken and sausage gumbo with roasted tomato ceasar salad. Rice was crunchy, and there was no Roasted tomatoes in the salad, just regular tomatoes. I was rather disappointed as the food was always perfect in the past. As a female business traveler most always traveling alone, this hotel feels safe, offers food and drink on site.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Not even close to the picture!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Cons: The actual room itself!
Our room looked NOTHING like the picture on Expedia. This room, at best, is a $65 dollar room. The location was also scary! I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Amy-Lynn Pelaez, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Eileen, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We are currently undergoing renovations, and while we only have one floor left to be completed, your room must have been assigned on an un-renovated guestroom. We do apologize for the inconvenience, and would like to make it right with you. Please contact us at 504-885-5700.