Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas City

Nice, clean, 8nexpensive hotel!

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location ,price & comfort
Cons: Breakfast
Location: New Paltz is a lovely town with lots of history & charm. My favorite upstate NY town!
Hotel was larger than most of these. Clean & comfortable with friendly staff. Only downside was the “breakfast.” It consisted of toast, cereal & a waffle maker and the breakfast room was way too tiny for a packed hotel. Overall, I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saratoga, ny

They actually have smoking rooms!

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Look out for your reservation being assigned to a smoking room. I do not know if this is an Expedia issue or a hotel issue, but who even thinks about a hotel room allowing smoking in 2017? Awful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient for a night away

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Close to town and a short drive to hiking trails up the mountains
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
At 5 in the morning my shower was warm water. Wouldn't get hot. Just as I was about to get in there was no soap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Coast

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We booked our stay theough Expedia and unfortunately failed to see it was a smoking room (not sure if that was identified through Expedia). Upon check-in, which was quick and easy, the smoking room was identified and the desk clerk said “we were lucky because she had a non-smoking room available”. We would have been fine lodging elsewhere if no appropriate rooms were available. The customer service experience soured us. Lodging was clean and acceptable the remainder of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Cheap and clean with helpful staff

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Not a 5 star hotel but delivers everything you could want for a short term stay. Cleanliness and helpful staff rate a special mention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avalon, NJ

Terrific stay

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Location: Close to town and their many restaurants, bars and shops.
We stay in the New Paltz area on our way to the Adirondacks if we get a late start and this is the first time at Americas Best. I was a little nervous about staying here with some of the reviews but the price we got was terrific so we gave it a try. There is nothing I could complain about-the room was comfortable, clean, and quit. The employees were friendly and even with their computers down they were very efficient. It does have a small breakfast but we didn't expect much so it didn't bother us. We have stayed at this brand before and will continue to use this hotel and their others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

overall experience

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Spacious and clean
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Main town is very close by. Hotel is located very close to highway except entrance is sortt of hidden
Rooms are clean with frig and microwave. Better than expected. Reception room is very basic. Breakfast is very basic with no freshly made items. A little pricy on a weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good staff and locale but poor breakfast

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Hotel is good value for money but the morning breakfast is fairly abysmal. Lots of processed foods (waffles, danishes. muffins) with no fresh veggies or fruit in site. Coffee is so-so as it comes from a machine and is not free brewed. Luckily downtown New Paltz is a 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk and there are alot of great cafes and bagel shops. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Va Beach, Va

Close to the highway.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Hats off to Gail Perkins the quality control manager. Outstanding, professional, & friendly. Got a needed night's sleep in confort.