Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by HikerfromNJ from New Jersey

"Almost" everything we wanted and more $$$

Posted Oct 1, 2012 on Travelocity
Pros: Quiet
Cons: too many extras charges
Just off the mark, I'd have to say after spending & $$$$ two nights at the MMH this weekend. The well established hotel offers many activities most at an extra cost. If you're looking for a Spa treatment at the end of your hike you better have booked it months in advance, no personnel available for "walk-ins" at the spa or the hair salon on a Saturday afternoon. An extra fee of $25.00 is charged for using the facilties at the Spa. Unheard of in most hotels I have ever stayed at including "The Peninsula". The gratuity (meaning grateful) ..the staff is very grateful to themselves, because the gratitudes are included on services not once but twice. And then of course all the additional tips my dear husband left. Three Times on tipping. WOW If you ask for a bottle water for hiking, you'll be pointed to gift shop for an charge, not even a bottle water here is complimentary. We spent a $1000.00 per day (two people) and no bottled water. I think it's better deal to go to Switzerland and hike the Alps. But it's lovely resort for hiking and relaxing but I don't get the high price -it just doesn't add up. So many great pluses but too many minus as to value. Thought the crowd was mixed ( not as old as would have expected) and friendly, as was the staff. Too bad I won't be going back---far for a fair deal
4 out of 5
by fatherof4 from Queens, NY

Beautiful hotel but EXPENSIVE!

Posted Sep 21, 2012 on Travelocity
Pros: Quiet, all inclusive
Cons: mucho expensive
Mohonk Mountain House is located on beautiful Mohonk Lake. The grounds and surrounding area are just amazing. Great trails and and plenty of areas to explore. The hotel itself is full of character and it was fun to wander around checking out the different rooms. The Spa is incredible - check out the outdoor mineral pool. The reason why my rating were quite low is mainly because of the price. Meals and tips are included in the price, but it still seems REALLY EXPENSIVE. I would have expected a more comfortable mattress and really clean common areas and hallways. There were often trays of food left out in the hallways for hours. Overall the staff was helpful and friendly. A great place if money is no object.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation

Posted Jan 6, 2012
Very nice place to be. Amazing food. Would love to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Incredible in every way!

Posted Oct 11, 2011
Mohonk MOuntain lodge is impeccable in every way....service, entertainment, food, amenities. It is beautiful and thoughtful without being fancy. It is upscale in the most tasteful and subtle ways....I can not say enough about the experience. Every time I make the reservation, I gasp at the expense; and everytime I am there, I feel that it is worth every penny! I adore this place and feel comfortable, well taken care of but not waited on...It's a delicate balance and Mohonk does it with perfection!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Capital District of upstate New York

Wished we could have stayed longer

Posted Aug 4, 2010
I first read about Mohonk several years ago--saw it was pricey yet intriguing. After several other ideas on how to spend our anniversary failed to pan out, I decided to treat my wife and five-year-old son to an overnight, and overall it turned out to be well worth it. When you drive up the mountain to this imposing, one-of-a-kind place, you might be left scratching your head at first as it looks a little like a sanitarium. Finding your bearings is confusing as this old hotel has adapted to modern technology (where exactly is that little room where you make your dinner reservations?), but once you set in, it's good old-fashioned natural fun. No TVs, no problem for us, and I loved all the parlors, the "Labyrinth" and the idea of swimming from shore to shore across the lake. They let you take chances here. We left for home feeling like we had taken full advantage--you can stay for the day of departure as long as you vacate your room by 2 p.m--yet we felt we were just beginning to get into a groove. A little advice: if you're looking for a romantic getaway with your honey, forget about the summer and try mid-week, off-season. The place is crawling with kids which is one of its aims, being a family resort. Contrary to one review I read before going there, almost everyone seemed down-to-earth, and many of the guests were even more polite than the staff. If you go, ask for a room with a balcony facing the front of the hotel and watch the sun set over the Catskills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CT

Fabulous!

Posted Jul 9, 2010
Staying at Mohonk Mountain House is an experience we will always treasure. The grounds are magnificant, the hiking spectacular, the hotel romantic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice, but overpriced

Posted Jul 7, 2010
Lovely spa and pool, room was small, food was good, but not outstanding. Maid came in the morning, which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

A step back in time...

Posted Apr 23, 2010
The Mohonk Mountain House is like visiting old friends. The staff was warm and courteous. The hotel is old-fashion and modern at the same time. The hiking trails are clearly marked and "lemon squeeze" is one not to be missed by the adventurous. Try one of the boxed lunches for your hike - a nice treat on the trail when you don't want to return to the dining hall for a big lunch. Food, food, and more food - The dining hall is run like clockwork. From appetizer to dessert, you just can't go wrong. And, did I mention the baked goods, absolutely amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Walton, NY

Fantastic place!

Posted Feb 18, 2010
This is an unbelievable place. If you ask an employee where something is, they don't tell you, they stop what they are doing and take you there. Everyone there greets you wherever you are. The food?...fantastic - great selection and preparation. want to go back in Spring or summer to be able to use some of other facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas Wonderland 2008

Posted Jan 22, 2009 on Travelocity
Arrived on a white Christmas Eve.....Loved the anticipation of the 2 mile ride up the mountain..... The hotel looks like a european resort ....The views were breathtaking.......Very attentive staff....Great room service.....Food was excellent and never dissapointing......Loved the afternoon tea/cookie hour with two blazing fireplaces....The spa was unbelievable and alone worth the trip....Top nouch staff, prices a little high but worth the $$$......Loved the outdoor spa......Hotel activities were mostly outdoors... ice skating, snow shoeing, cross country sking, hiking and tubing......There is even a huge barn museum with 140 years of history, which I found to be very educational and historic......Only a small walk from the barn is a beautiful Green House, with nice gift shop where you can purchase plants ......I can't wait to go back to experience what summer is like.