Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

The pool was 'closed for maintenance"

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Spacious and clean.
Cons: The pool could be available or sincere apologies and an offer of discounted room should have been given.
Location: About three miles away is a large shopping mall with lots of restaurants available.
When we checked in the desk clerk told us the 'pool was closed for the day' (this was at 6 pm!). The sign on the door said 'closed for maintenance'. I suspect that this pool is ALWAYS closed, given the weird description we were given by the desk clerk. I chose this pool because I wanted exercise while we were traveling. I paid a PREMIUM to have tis pool available. I'm sorry but the way it was handled was unacceptable. NO apology, and conflicting reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Nice

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Great stop. Nice town. Would come again. Everyone was efficient and positive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA area

Good choice while traveling I-70

Posted Jun 2, 2017
This is an updated, well maintained hotel in the Marriott family. Beds, bathroom, and interior decor are updated. Hotel sits a short distance from I-70 so the road noise is not a problem. The rooms are well insulated for sound. Breakfast is decent except for lack of whole grains (except oatmeal). There was fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, omelets, and plenty of coffee. Breakfast area was kept very clean. Staff was very friendly and courteous. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
The manager was suppose to call me for an issue in our bathtub... NEVER received the call.???? Not happy about that. Bed comfy, staff SUPER nice
5 out of 5
by Terry

High priced but nice

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
For some reason, most of the hotels in the Richmond area are high priced, and this one is no exception. However they deliver on all levels: cleanliness, amenities, comfort and service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochelle, IL

Big mistake

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Orbitz
First off, when we went to check in the guy tried to charge my credit card a second time- he said he didn't look at the whole reservation to see it was paid for. Also the beds were not even close to comfortable. I picked a hotel with a pool/hot tub combo for my daughter, got there and the hot tub was out of service and the pool was too cold to swim in. I was extremely dissatisfied. I had also requested a whirlpool tub in the room, when we had gotten to the hotel the first night it was fairly late- so I waited until the morning and then went and asked if there was anything we could do about it. The girl at the desk basically blew me off, said I would have to purchase an entire new room and attempt to get my money back from the travel agency if I wanted it.... I can honestly say I will never be going back to another Fairfield, ever again.
1 out of 5
by Russell

Will not stay here again

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
We stay at this hotel all the time when we come to see our in-laws, but this is the last time. The hotel charged us for our room even though it was already paid for through hotels.com. When I called them to tell them of their mistake, the staff acted like I didn't understand their policy. I straightened it out through hotels.com, but it took two days to get it settled and they did no more for my trouble than give me a refund. They are apparently renovating, which is much needed because the beds are extremely uncomfortable. I have back problems and their beds made them worse. There are other options across the highway that are closer to restaurants. This place is next to a truck stop, and if you're on that side of the building, they make noise all night long with the trucks going in and out. I used to love this place, but between the billing issues, the bed, the noise, and the front desk lady yelling at my kids in front of me, I'll try out the alternatives.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Why don't they tell us

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: get better cookies
Location: Halfway to our destination, right off the highway
This is the third time for a stay at Orbitz hotels where construction is going on, why don't you let us know. Paint smells awful, construction next to our room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

truck stop, so-so breakfast, poor value

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: staff was friendly. There was nothing about this hotel we liked other than the quick exit to the highway. lots of different pillows, parking lot was clean.
Cons: rooms were second rate for the cost, noisy in hallways and from floor above, breakfast was sub-par, exorbitant cost for the room we had.
Location: truck stop, noisy highway interchange.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels