Ratings based on 718 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Great Hotel, would stay again

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, comfort
Location: Just at the end of Princes Street, great location for restaurants and walking distance to all the sights
This hotel totally lived up to our expectations. We stayed in the Annie Lennox room. It was very clean and very comfortable. I notice some guests had complained about noise from the bar, we didn't suffer from this, although we did notice a lot of street noise, but that's to be expected in the middle of a busy city, I'm sure we wouldn't have heard this if we had shut the window. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, advising which buses to use etc. We arrived earlier than our check in and were allowed into the room as it was ready, which was a bonus. Couldn't fault this hotel at all. The daily Tunnocks tea cake was a nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west chester, pa

great hotel close to most attractions

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: the staff and bar/restaurant
Cons: climate control in the room, working phone
Location: broken arm, can't type, sorry
outstanding location and awesome staff, bar and restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: location and rooms
Cons: Remember the crisps!!
Location: Lots
Brilliant quirky hotel, although quite compact, nice welcome drinks/snacks in room. Our second stay there and will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Funky hotel with a boutique vibe

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Attentive staff, hip restaurant, very nice room
Cons: Cigarette smell in the hallway
Location: Near Prince's Street, the Grassmarket, Edinburgh Castle, Calton Hill, Royal Mile, shopping, whisky whisky and more whisky!
My husband and I stayed in the Angel's Share for the last night of a 2-week road trip through Scotland. Check-in was easy, and the hotel is centrally located. We opted to eat at the restaurant and they were very accommodating with making us a reservation on short notice, and the food was excellent to boot! I was a little worried when we walked to our room because the hallway it was in smelled like cigarettes, but the room itself didn't smell luckily!! The room was comfortable and spacious - I would definitely stay again but would make sure to be as far away from any smoking floors if possible (not sure if that was why the hallway smelled?). Over all I would recommend the Angel's Share!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Staff are exceptional!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Lovely hote, with excellent location. We loved it! Easy to access straight from public transportation. Excellent food too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic atmosphere in the hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Decor was gorgeous, beds so comfortable and bar buzzing every night
Cons: We had a stain on our duvet cover and 2 of the people in our party had issues with plug sockets being nowhere near a mirror for drying hair.
Location: Great location, near town centre, castle , Royal Mile and loads of restaurants , bars and shops
Stayed for 4 days, such great atmosphere in the bar which was beautifully decorated. Really enjoyed our stay, staff were so helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy and friendly.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location right downtown. The rooms are nice and bright and have very interesting names. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated, comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Situated 1 minute walk from one of the Airlink 100 bus stops giving easy access to the airport and within easy walking distance of the main sights this hotel is very well situated. We were in room 105 which is quite small and at the back with no view. However it was clean & comfortable and very quiet which was fine as we were out most of the time. Staff were friendly and generally helpful. We did use the restaurant/bar and food was very good & reasonably priced as we had a couple of discount offers. If there was late night partying in the bar it didn't disturb us, however we were there after the famous Festival & Tatoo had finished so might be quieter than usual. Generally loved it & Edinburgh and would be happy to return as soon as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to city center

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Nice location in the center of the city, close to the castle.
Cons: Too much noise from the bar.
Location: Walking distance in the center of the city. Surrounded with nice cafes and restaurants.
Everything was great except the noise from the bar in the middle of the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada, USA

Only thing going for this hotel is location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Security
They are trying but it was a miss. Décor was fun. Security was poor. No interior lock inside room. No AC which I apparently missed. There was a fan. Elevator but you still had several steps to rooms.