Ratings based on 2,085 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very good location

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location and standard of room and hotel
Cons: Fine as it was
Hotel is in the city centre but very quiet, given the location. Extremely comfortable bed, room was of a good standard and the spa facilities came in very useful after a busy time in the city. Handy for the Waverly station and the Playhouse theatre. We'll certainly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Jan 11, 2018
This hotel is in a great position - easy to get to the old town and to walk around the new town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne. Australia

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Perfect location. One can walk to all the action. Close to hop-on-hop-off bus and close all shopping..... Top spot. We will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha

Highly recommended for staff, service, & location.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Service and staff Room location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central Edinburgh: shopping, tourism and public transport.
We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in December. Reception, housekeeping and dining staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Only condensation spoiled the view. Our request to change the bedding for non-feather pillows was acted upon immediately and with enthusiasm, the maid even changed the quilt/duvet too. We only had breakfast once, a mix of waiter served fresh cooked dishes and small buffet, and enjoyed it. Great location for Waverley station and only 5-10 ins walk from both new town and old. The Apex Waterloo definitely contributed to our experience of a great city break holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middlesbrough

Lovely hotel very close to Waverley Station.

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel room clean and suitable for our needs boasting a bath and a walk in shower. Beds comfortable and welcoming after a day’s sightseeing,eating and drinking. Well situated and within walking distance to all of the tourist spots that you would wish to see from Holyrood House and Scottish Parliament to the other end of the famous Royal Mile - Edinburgh Castle. Would stay at this hotel if ever I visit Edinburgh again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Our stay

Posted Jan 6, 2018
The check in process was good, the man at the front desk was very helpful. There was an error with our booking and he was helpful with us getting it sorted. The room on first appearance was good however on closer inspection not as great. The room faced out towards roadworks and was noisy, also quite bright when trying to sleep even with the curtains. The complimentary products provided hadn’t all been replaced, the body lotion clearly had been used by the previous guest and the lip balm’s lid wasn’t even on properly and had also obviously been used. Not the greatest of standards we have seen through Scotland. The breakfast was average, the staff clearly very overworked and obvious things being missed there. Breakfast spread was average, had I known it wasn’t included I wouldn’t have bothered. Overall nice enough hotel, convenient location but a few issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Over priced for what you get.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Unfortunatly had to be moved three times due to the room quality. Paid premium rate 3 months prior to New Year but still ended up with the scraps. Poor water pressure. Not tv signal and first room we were put in we had a brick wall immediatley outside our window. Second room we were put in was the last one available with lift next door and staff accommodation opposite, very noisy at all hours. Third room was ok but still had no hot water and no tv signal. Staff were helpful so tried their best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Don't visit their restaurant

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The hotel was nice and central, and the service of their front desk staff and cleaning staff was excellent.
Cons: The service in the restaurant.
The hotel was nice and central, and the service of their front desk staff and cleaning staff was excellent. However. the service in their restaurant was patchy. On our first breakfast we arrived at opening time to find no glasses out for fruit juice, and no jams on our table. The subsequent breakfasts everything was fine. The breakfast food was good and value for the prices charged. The room service was good once and bad the second time when we did not receive the fruit juice or the desert which I ordered despite the person taking the order repeating it back. The service we received when we had diner one night in their bar when their restaurant was full was really bad. One dish we had not ordered arrived, and my wife's diner sat covered waiting for the correct second dish to arrive, To their credit the duty manager credited the cost of missing dish. When the missing dish finally arrived it was luke warm, as was my wife's dish. Our diners in the restaurant were good and value for the money charged. I would not however eat there if I was not staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Great location & delicious food

Posted Dec 28, 2017
A very good location a short walk from Castle and minutes from the Railway station. The hotel spa area was a lovely extra, food at the restaurant is gorgeous. Stayed there over Christmas, really enjoyed our time, staff are friendly and helpful, thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cork

Nice hotel next to Calton hill

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: the location was perfect, check_in and check_out went smooth. Staff was really helpful and friendly as I got lost many times in the hotel :)
Cons: add more directions to know exactly where to enter to check_in and where is the pool.
Location: Location was perfect, Calton hill, shops, restaurants, Waverley mall, Edinburgh's Christmas market, everything was nearby no need to take the bus.
Amazing hotel and staff !! Location was perfect and the sauna and pool were open until really late. I will assuredly come back and recommend it to my friends.