Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent Staff, Excellent Location.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: staff and location
Cons: make the heating system in the room a bit more modern with digital controls and improve the location of the heater.
Location: Centrally located .. close to the Theater and walking limits to George and Princess Street.
The stay was good, but the size of TV is miniscule. I got a room where the bathroom was detached. Some hassle, but the room and the bathroom were clean and nice. The heater was tucked away behind the furniture so the room would not heat much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice building, location, staff

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Location, staff, building
Cons: Internet, breakfast, blackout curtains
Location: The portrait museum is right nearby and very worth a visit, plus it's evenly between Holyroodhouse and Edinburgh Castle.
Generally pleased with this spot. The staff were solid, the location is great and we liked the architectural details. The room was huge (by British standards, but also alright by American standards). The wifi didn't work in our room, but you could use the reception desk's wifi while sitting in the dining room. The breakfast was okay - not amazing, but not bad either. There were options for everyone. There was a bit of street noise, but it was minimal (passing cars, no honking/garbage trucks/etc.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Great hotel to stay in when visiting Edinburgh Comfy rooms Central to everything
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre, you get what you pay for

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, comfy bed, nice bathroom
Cons: Ensure the room is entirely clean (move the curtains). Ensure the facilities are working correctly. Have the power to put things right.
Location: Opposite the Portrait Gallery - great to pop in or linger
Mixed review and feelings. Have stayed here twice in past few weeks. First time really nice, great bathroom, but WiFi unreliable. Second time, room not entirely clean as previous occupants' used cotton swab on floor by curtains. TV very poor, wrong brand remote control and aerial was precariously inserted in by one copper wire. Reception staff, very nice but they held little hope for correct remote being found, and it wasn't. They did however fix the aerial. All that said, the bed was great, WiFi better and it was really quiet as the room was at the rear of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Very good value for money

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Nice large room. High ceiling, extra beds and sofa. Secondary glazing but still some road noise. Good location for Central Edinburgh. Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Overnight stay.

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Beautiful building and rooms. Convenient location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent. The centre of Edinburgh is on your doorstep.
My sister and I recently stayed at The Ballantrae. We had a beautiful room. The receptionist was so helpful when we checked in. She managed to sort out my gluten-free breakfast and got us into our room five minutes after arriving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Large rooms

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Large rooms
Cons: N/a
Location: Close to Waverley mall and St. Andrews square. Easy access to public transportation
Great spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Good continental breakfast. Helpful staff. Room had a couch and sitting tv area. Zzzzzzzzz
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Central - old building. Clean and obliging.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Bed very comfy. Geographically excellent hotel. Good towels.
Cons: Bath in every room. Decaff tea decaff coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits would be good. Bigger TV. A lift.
Location: Great location. Plenty to do nearby including great eateries.
TV small. Bed very comfortable. Wanted a bath...only shower. Plenty milk and tea and coffee but no decaff, no biscuits and no hot choc. Decent easy to use bathroom goodies. A bit of a climb up the stairs.
4 out of 5
by Theresa

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were super and helpful! The room in size was perfect, but very dusty. The mattresses and pillows inadequate - lumpy and flat. The bathtub did not have a handicapped bar for showering and as a handicapped person was really required. Price was excellent and the staff moved us to an easier accessible room due to being unable to climb two floors. Definitely only a three star rating
5 out of 5
by Nicolas

A wonderful view over Edinburgh, wonderful staff

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
We didn't know the hotel had no lift, and we had heavy bags - but Daniel was superb. He carried the bags up the four flights of stairs to a room with a magical view of Edinburgh. Then, when he told him where we wanted to go and showed him our guidebook map, which was sketchy, he printed out a map with a clearly marked path.The location was perfect. And the other staff (whose names I don't remember) were friendly and helpful.