Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Right down in City

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Very nice, cool old building. Staff was very nice. Room was very cool!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the inconviences

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
The staff at this hotel were very nice and accommodating, however, the logistics of this building make it hard to recommend this hotel. There are nine flights of stairs and the first floor of the hotel is the second floor. Our room was on the very top floor so it was hot and there are no room temperature controls so we had to leave the window open all the time. There are only two plugs, none in the bathroom, and the beds were very uncomfortable. Breakfast was good, and the location was perfect for walking to everything. I also did not get the room I booked, I booked for two doubles and one single bed for four adults, but even after confirming my reservation by email, they gave us a smaller room with two singles and one double with no explanation as to why the room I reserved was "not available" upon our arrival.
5 out of 5
by Keith

Good stay at castle view

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
The check in fellow was very friendly and helpful. The serving girls were cute, effective and polite. The room was fine in a great location.
5 out of 5
by Sara

Great location, comfortable room

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Be prepared to climb stairs, other than that we loved our room, the location, the breakfast. There was 3 of us traveling together and we were comfortable in our room.
4 out of 5
by Margaret

Weekend trip

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The guest house was in a good location and room was ready on arrival. My sister who has a crutch struggled with the stairs. Breakfast far too early finish in a Sunday morning 0930. Had to be out by 1030. Haven't done that in many a year on a Sunday. Little things that wouldn't encourage us to return television tiny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Loved the location, half block to Princes Street and many great restaurants and shopping nearby. You can walk to the castle in about a half hour of brisk walking, dodging groups of tourists along the way, if you are fit enough. But the name is deceiving in that no rooms have a view of the castle. But when you step outside the front door it is right there. Our room was a double, but small. No place to open out luggage other than laying it on the floor and stepping over it. The bed had a double, not queen mattress, and it was not great, so I did not sleep that well there. But it was clean (though it had that same brown loop carpet that looks like it is probably stained but you just can't see it.) Bathroom was nicely updated. Breakfast was a good rendition of the typical English breakfast offerings and servers were very nice. Breakfast room was crowded and some guests had to wait for a table. Staff were very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, transport and arranging a taxi for us for the airport. Last but not least, I need to mention the stairs. If you have any problems with stairs, stay someplace else that has a lift. The first level of rooms us on the second floor, which in Europe means 3 flights up. And there are 2 more floors above this.
3 out of 5
by Andre

Good location

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was comfortable enough though a little too warm for us. Lots of stairs since there is no elevator - a point I missed when booking. That part was difficult for us. Location was great - clean - pleasant people running the hotel. We had a hard time with the shower getting it to work properly. Breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Surprised

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
I want very pleasantly surprised I will visit this place again and will tell my friends about it ... a hidden treasure
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, CVGH Office Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
great central location, good breakfast
4 out of 5
by Hugh

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely guest house, only downside a little noisy trying to sleep because of the vending machine outside the room and room lock could do with being a little more secure, very clean and welcoming, great location