Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire.

Stay at Hotel Thistle

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Pros: Excellent staff.
Cons: A Lift.
Location: Very handy for doing everything.
Excellent in all ways, staff could not have been any better, very helpful. Hotel clean and tidy, rooms comfortable. Only thing which would have been better for me, no lift and were on the fourth floor.! Not the hotels fault, I should have mentioned it after booking in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from heathrow

Very dated

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Cold shower, small double bed, very old fashioned bathroom. Good breakfast
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole, Dorset

Nice hotel close to centre of Edinburgh

Posted Feb 11, 2018
I was allocated a single room, the tv did not work and the convector heater was noisy when I found out how to work it. I complained about the tv and there was another room vacant on the same floor so was transferred. This room was a double, nicely furnished tv that worked and a radiator that worked. I was happy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was very good, plenty of it. My only 2 complaints were: 1. The single room I was allocated originally was extremely small, not up to standard, I could not have stayed in it. 2. There was no evening meal available if wanted, although I cld have sent out for a sandwich or a hot meal. Again very disappointing. The hotel shld be classed as a B&B only. Having said all this the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to aid and direct me. I could not have asked for better service.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Very cute and comfortable, friendly approachable staff, nice entrance way and great location. Just needs water and glasses in the room
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romania

Nice and cosy

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Nice and cosy. Good location, walking distance from City Centre. Quiet and safe borough. Very pleasant staff and room was clean and very spacious. Loved the design of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ana. It is great that you found so many positives. The location is exactly as you described offering a short walk to the centre and a quiet area to retreat from the busy city. The staff always take great pride in hearing that their work has been done to a standard our guests expect. If you are ever in Edinburgh again please consider us. We will be more than happy to accommodate you. Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Regards, Hotel Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great potential but....

Posted Oct 21, 2017
This hotel is in a great location but that is about it. It looks like the current owners have not maintained the hotel rooms well. The bathroom was grotty, definitely the worse I seen in a while. I understand that the building is old but a simple new bath suite with white tiles would not cost a bomb. When I raised this on my initial review I was told that it added to the character of the building! It definitely does not....i have stayed in older hotels which have been nowhere near as grotty as this one. The lighting in the room was not great. On one occasion my room was not cleaned. I did raise this with reception but given that I had got back to the hotel at 7pm I did not expect anything to be done. I have never had this experience before. Only saving grace was that reception gave me fresh new towels. The breakfast is very much simple and OK if you are staying one night. I know there is a cooked breakfast option but this is extra. All in all I was not impressed by the hotel and don't think I will stay here again. Simple message to the owners; you potentially got a great hotel in a fantastic location so please pull your finger out and make some simple changes such as renovating the bathrooms. They currently have evidence of past touch ups instead of a quality finish.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, Canada

Good Old Town Scottish Hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location, staff was helpful
Cons: The bed could be moved to give a bit more room on either side. Very close to the one wall so I banged my foot on the radiator.
Location: Restaurants, shopping 10-15 minute walk, Edinburgh castle 30 minute walk,
Good location, easy walk to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Breakfast was good, continental but lots of choices. Room was a good size, but no lift so bring only what you want to carry! Quite stately as converted in a row of old stone town homes. Lots of foreign consulates in the area. felt quite safe going out at night. Reserve of site parking (5 minute walk) ahead of your stay. A bit pricey but worth it if you want to access your car while there.
5 out of 5
by Aarti

Edinburgh Thistle stay experience

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
I would highly recommend a stay at thistle Edinburgh for the best staff , extremely friendly , helpful, and kind . They helped us carry out luggage to the first Flor , helped us with tickets print out as Ryan air insists on printed boarding pass in the IT age . Location is very close to Hay market, prime mark and in 30 mins walk takes you to Edinburgh castle. If you are travelling from airport through tram I would suggest you get down at West end stop as it's a mins walk and if you travelling through bus get down at hay market but it's a good 10 min to 15 min walk. Primary is on the next tram stop after westerns . Even you can walk it up. One of the finest location to stay . Their breakfast is awesome with friendly staff . I would rate the staff and place as 10/10 and would definitely visit the second time
4 out of 5
by Lucy

Very nice

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel about 15 minutes pleasant walk away from the very center of Edinburgh. Sometimes when you stay in the very center of a city it gets loud at night with the partying, but this one was quiet, for a good night sleep after long days of sight seeing. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. My only complaint is that breakfast ends at 9. When you are on vacation and walk around a lot, you don't always want to get up early. It would've been nice if breakfast was offered till 10 am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Lucy, Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay during your visit to Edinburgh, We are very lucky in regards to location, as we are so close to the city centre, yet far enough away from the noise of the city. I am sorry that you found breakfast to finish early, these comments I will certainly take on board, to help improve in the future. On behalf of myself and the team, we thank you for your comments, and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Hotel manager.