Ratings based on 1,240 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Beautiful old hotel. Excellent central location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Polite friendly staff, had a terrible room with broken furniture, holes in the walls but got moved the next day to a lovely room. Great breakfast choices. Very convenient for the train station and major shopping /attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Edinburgh Festival

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Nowhere to hang clothes in Very busy when we were there and no chance of a table for dinner. Obviously because of the Festival and tattoo. Breakfast was good. I would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Close to the train station, great staff and next door to the train station and old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Best Festival Hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Cons: Room cleaning could be a little more prompt.
It's literally across the road (Princes St) from the Waverley Station so you won't need a cab to get there. The walk to the Tattoo at the Castle takes maybe 25 minutes (it's uphill all the way and I'm an old guy; others may do it quicker). The staff -- especially Allan in Reception -- are friendly, hospitable and cannot do enough to help you. Our room was so beautiful, we extended our stay by a day. Edinburgh is already one of my favorite cities in Europe, and I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else the next time I go there. The Indigo is just the tops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'd go back again

Posted Aug 7, 2017
I would go back to this hotel again, the location is excellent, the staff is wonderful and rooms are comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Very clean and spacious room.
Cons: Nothing considering our short stay
Location: Beer garden on opposite side of road good place to unwind.but early morning was very noisy as they cleared their empty beer cannisters.
Location just what me & my wife wanted, in front of Edinburgh Waverly railway station.This was our first visit to Scotland and so we were off the train into the Hotel across the road and were on a hop on hop off bus seeing the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Opposite Waverley Station, Edinburgh

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: The lift was out of action. The fridge/electric kettle power circuit was dead. The bill presented on leaving included pay for the prepaid room.
Location: On Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh.
Two night stay. Comfortable, clean, nice facilities, good food. Obliging staff. Three unfortunate blemishes.
3 out of 5
by John

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice and was convenient to the train station. Our room was originally on the 5th floor and was changed to the 3rd floor. The elevator was out of service and I was not notified since I made the reservation 3 months in advance.
5 out of 5
by Scot from N Wales. from Wrexham

Great Time.

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a very pleasant stay. We will make a return visit to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Good hotel in central Edinburgh

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location. Close to everything in Edinburgh. Museums, castle, Royal Mile, tour company, pubs. Almost everything in walking distance.
Cons: Nothing. Loved the hotel.
Location: EVERYTHING is close by
Fabulous hotel close to everything in Edinburgh. Across street from Waverly Train Station but still quiet. Original standard room required going up 1 flight of stairs. When I had trouble with that, they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite no stairs involved. Absolutely wonderful room. Staff was wonderful giving advice, directions, etc.