Ratings based on 1,235 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Close to the train station, great staff and next door to the train station and old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Best Festival Hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Cons: Room cleaning could be a little more prompt.
It's literally across the road (Princes St) from the Waverley Station so you won't need a cab to get there. The walk to the Tattoo at the Castle takes maybe 25 minutes (it's uphill all the way and I'm an old guy; others may do it quicker). The staff -- especially Allan in Reception -- are friendly, hospitable and cannot do enough to help you. Our room was so beautiful, we extended our stay by a day. Edinburgh is already one of my favorite cities in Europe, and I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else the next time I go there. The Indigo is just the tops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'd go back again

Posted Aug 7, 2017
I would go back to this hotel again, the location is excellent, the staff is wonderful and rooms are comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Very clean and spacious room.
Cons: Nothing considering our short stay
Location: Beer garden on opposite side of road good place to unwind.but early morning was very noisy as they cleared their empty beer cannisters.
Location just what me & my wife wanted, in front of Edinburgh Waverly railway station.This was our first visit to Scotland and so we were off the train into the Hotel across the road and were on a hop on hop off bus seeing the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Opposite Waverley Station, Edinburgh

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: The lift was out of action. The fridge/electric kettle power circuit was dead. The bill presented on leaving included pay for the prepaid room.
Location: On Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh.
Two night stay. Comfortable, clean, nice facilities, good food. Obliging staff. Three unfortunate blemishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Good hotel in central Edinburgh

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location. Close to everything in Edinburgh. Museums, castle, Royal Mile, tour company, pubs. Almost everything in walking distance.
Cons: Nothing. Loved the hotel.
Location: EVERYTHING is close by
Fabulous hotel close to everything in Edinburgh. Across street from Waverly Train Station but still quiet. Original standard room required going up 1 flight of stairs. When I had trouble with that, they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite no stairs involved. Absolutely wonderful room. Staff was wonderful giving advice, directions, etc.
5 out of 5
by NORMAN

Very modern in ancient city

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Really great hotel except the Internet was terrible and maintenance poor , Both basins were not functional Excellent location. Don't be put off by grungy entrance
4 out of 5
by corry

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Sink was annoying. Faucet did not reach sink and water ran all over floor. Some sticky surfaces in hotel room. Breakfast was great and view out door and restaurant if hotel was spectacular. Wonderful location.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff, nice clean comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location in the middle of Princes Street

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.
Cons: Paints are coming off in the corridors, need higher water pressure for shower.
Location: Right in the middle of city centre. There are shops and restaurants nearby. Train station is within 2 mins walk.
Overall, the stay was pleasant. Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and the bed was super comfy. The bad things included the weak water pressure from the shower and the ventilation in the bathroom can be a bit better. Also, the bathroom door made a squeeky sound and position of the spot lights inside the room seemed random. For example, there are two lights quite close together around one corner but no lights on the cupboard where the kettle is located, making it really hard to see where the black kettle is at night.