Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to city center

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Hotel is very easy to get to from Waverly station - a 15min walk at most. Room was comfortable and clean, and staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was provided, but advertisement did not mention the fact that the kitchen was closed so a packaged breakfast was brought to the room (crackers, piece of fruit, muesli bar etc.), so there was little option for guests. But otherwise a lovely stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

What happened to the breakfast??

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: The building
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Very close to city centre and all its attractions.
I know this is a budget place, but i think it is located well in the city and is in a beautiful big building. I was satisfied with everything here except the breakfast. We were told the night before that the kitchen was being refurbished and so we would receive a breakfast tray instead. That tray consisted of a banana, a yoghurt, a cereal bar, some crackers and dairylea cheese.......seriously?? I understand their facilities were unreachable, but even a toaster could have been plugged in to provide warm toast at least. This resembled something you would give to a child. I just think it was a poor alternative and cost saving to the extreme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to centre of city

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Ok
Overnite stay was meant to be nice end to break but ended up on own due to personal issues but never mind id use it again if ever back in city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Good budget choice

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The price reflects that this is at the budget end of the spectrum and as long as expectations match the price paid I think a stay here should be a pleasant experience. Reasonable walking distance to most attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from doncaster

Brilliant location beautiful building

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Very clean, great value for money. Ignore all the people that complain about this being substandard. When you pay less than half of the price of every other hotel then there is a reason why. It never ceases to amaze me when people pay budget prices and expect top quality. I got exactly what i paid for and i loved it. Will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Room

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Hotel room was nice. But a bit noisy from the roadside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west mids

Very disappointed!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Location was good!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Very near to Carlton Hill and bus services to everywhere and short walk into main city areas!
Good location fast internet connection ! but that,s where it ends! TV didn't work ! Room not cleaned ! Reported problems but fell on deaf ears! Poor breakfast , scruffy furniture and wobbly chairs! Over priced for what you get!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Sep 22, 2017
In the process of being refurbished. Breakfast basic. Beds very uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

With correct upstairs room, location exceeds needs

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Location , breakfast, and ability to locate an upstairs room makes this a good hotel. My rate was good but I was in a basement room where the shower, although it works, could scald if not careful. Overall design of this room was haphazard. But it was across from breakfast room and the friendly staff are positives. Location in town is good.
5 out of 5
by Olga

Would recommend

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff; great breakfast