Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Nice, clean and quiet

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Quiet, close to city centre, easy walking distance to Princes Street, Waverly train and airport tram. Richard, the owner was very accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Very kind host who was very helpful about the local area and things to do. It's more of a guest house than a hotel (the room wasn't made up, for example, between our two nights. But nice to support a small business, and the room was very comfortable and in a good part of town, lots of local bars and restaurants and near, but not in the heart of the most touristy part of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Good location, comfortable, clean but very run down
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely building nice hosts

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hosts nice clean warm room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good location. Friendly owners. Room was very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Hotel close to Edinburgh city centre

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: close to city centrem tourist attractions, and good restaurants
good location and close to city centre and all the tourist attractions. The only drawback is that there is no convenient street parking in front of the house for those who drive into Edinburgh. There is free street parking about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The room where we stayed is at street level and can be noisy. otherwise a very pleasant stay. Would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quiet gem in a central location

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The perfect spot for those who like a good night sleep, but being in a central location. Spacious room, all very clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - helpful staff

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Close to Calton Park, the transit lines, and the bus station. A quick walk to Old Town....
We had a lovely 3 night stay at the Lantern Guest House. With our own entrance, we could come and go as we pleased. It was a great location - close to transportation and an easy walk to the Old Town. It was a 5 minute walk to Calton Hill. Very reasonable rates.....definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Lorraine from Killucan

Very dissappointed.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
I was so dissappointed with this guest house when i arrived the owner toald me my room was small understement it was tiny it was down in a basement no room to move looking out on 2 walls. The owner moved us to a bigger room not a great one but bigger. The towels that were ment to be whit were a dirty grey and we got one. The house in general was grotty dirty delph in the kitchen clothes drying in the hall on a clothes horse.the owner asked for his money before we even put our bags down i wonder why. It looks like anyone can call there housr a guest house and charge what they want.i wont be back.
4 out of 5
by S P from uk

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable stay. Close to town is a plus.