Ratings based on 1,002 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Nice, clean hotel. Bed very comfy. Room small

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel was nice but out dated. Room could be more modern if re furnished however enjoyed my stay and very comfortable beds. Had a lovely stay. Hotel is very central
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

My first Edinburgh experience

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Hotel is within 5 mins walking distance from train station. It is also great that it is located along princes street. The breakfast is decent.
Cons: Hotel room. The sound proof is not good. We could hear our neighbour and the street traffic. It disturbed our sleep.
Location: Castle, Shopping along Princes street and Old town, scenic views at Calton hill.
Stayed with my wife at the hotel over the New Year for three days. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station. This was helpful as we were cold ( and was having heavy luggage). It was also nice with the Christmas market just opposite the hotel. All the landmarks ( castle, old town, calton hill etc) are within walking distances. Having said that, we were not too pleased with the room sound proofing as it disturbed our night sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Very crappy hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2018
It is very outdated. the bed is very hard. the Wi-Fi is crap it's not the cleanest and it was very noisy. it was all so overpriced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Hotel is in a great central location. Views of the castle and gardens from the bar and restaurant brilliant. Hotel is to be updated this year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
All literary amazing... the wiew was amazing... comfort fabulous... and quite place ... to repeat in the future....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Another great stay

Posted Dec 18, 2017
2 thumbs up for the team from front office and housekeeping. Excellent service from the front office especially Nora. A role model in quality service! The towels, sheets etc are clean and great work by tbe team from housekeeping. A great team from Mercure in Edinburgh and hopefully it will soon rub off to the other chain of hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Posted Dec 17, 2017
The hotel was in the perfect location to visit The Christmas markets. We had a gorgeous castle view room! So easy to get to from the station! Would definitely use again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great stay

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Friendly n helpful staff, Nora. Nice spacious n comfortable room. Excellent location, plenty of shops around. Abt 8mins walk to train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Comfortable hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort and staff
Cons: The only thing wrong was the reception did not validate my car park ticket properly and so I did not get the discount which I should have received.
Location: Perfect location on Princes Street right in the heart of the city for shopping, Christmas festivities and sight seeing
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was of a good size with two chairs and large TV and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good. We had a lunch on arrival which was good and at a very reasonable price. The view from the window across Princes Street, the Christmas market and funfair to the castle was superb.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Room looked nothing like the photo, none of the photos shown looked like the hotel. Cobwebs in room and not amazingly clean. Staff were O.K, some seemed rude and didn’t want to be there. Only positive of this hotel is that it’s in the middle of the main attractions of Edinburgh, making easy access to get around.