Ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Comfortable hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort and staff
Cons: The only thing wrong was the reception did not validate my car park ticket properly and so I did not get the discount which I should have received.
Location: Perfect location on Princes Street right in the heart of the city for shopping, Christmas festivities and sight seeing
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was of a good size with two chairs and large TV and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was good. We had a lunch on arrival which was good and at a very reasonable price. The view from the window across Princes Street, the Christmas market and funfair to the castle was superb.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Room looked nothing like the photo, none of the photos shown looked like the hotel. Cobwebs in room and not amazingly clean. Staff were O.K, some seemed rude and didn’t want to be there. Only positive of this hotel is that it’s in the middle of the main attractions of Edinburgh, making easy access to get around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

A nice hotel, close to the train station

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: close to the station and the historical attractions
Location: there are lots to do and see in Edinburgh
I stayed at the hotel with my partner to go to the Christmas Market, the hotel was straight in front of the market. the hotel was clean, there was a iron and hairdryer in the room, which is always a help. the breakfast was very good and a good price, the prices of drinks at the bar were reasonable. i will be staying again when i am back in Edinburgh
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great location with nice view

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Everything is good, great location, room is warm (during winter time). Only thing is no water mixer available, the water tap is so cold & so hot to wash up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Near station

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Stayed for 3nights. Easy to find from station staff on reception very helpful room clean and warm. Food excellent was bed breakfast and ate in hotel one night. Would recommend as central for Royal Mile and shops and open top bus and taxis ranks opposite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Poor relative of the accor hotel group.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Disappointing stay. Terrible check in experience, we only got to check in at 3:30, arrived at 3 and was told that our room was not ready. We were told to go back in 30 minutes - when we went back the room was still not ready and we were allocated to a different room. We were then given faulty room cards which did not work. When my partner went to change our cards, the receiptionist (different to check in) was rude and annoyed that we got her to do such a mundane task. The room was tiny, amenities were old and the toilet was what I would expect of a 2 star hotel. Water pressure was poor. Bed was uncomfortable, and we had to take out extra sets of towels and pillows despite specifying that the room was for 2 adults. Overall a huge let down. Only plus side was that location was superb - opposite Christmas market and on princes street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grampian

Great location

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower head in bathroom very small.
Location: Location very central for tourist attractions and shopping.
Comfortable hotel in a central location. Ideal for weekend break for reasonably priced hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Vacation

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Hotel in excellent location, adjacent to shops, bus and tram services within yards of the front door. Hotel itself is a little tired but staff friendly and breakfast is good quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manila

Close hotel neAr the train station

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Hotel is near waverley station but room is not ok for the price Small room and the furnitures are tired . Bed linens is worn out compared to similary priced hotel around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Excellent city centre location

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Ideal for a city break. Comfortable room. Good choice from the breakfast buffet.