Ratings based on 955 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Very professional staff, well located, and some nice views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Nice hotel, perfect location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
A pleasing hotel which is a bit dated and could use some repairs/renovations. Staff was very pleasant and the location is perfect for enjoying the city centre with great transportation links. Picked a room with the castle view which was lovely in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Improvement

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Hotel is really only a 3 star and needs upgrading and could easily be a 4 star becase of its location and views, BUT would need refurbished
Location: Excellent location close to all sites of interest and transport to all parts of Scotland
Hotel very tired- Carpet in dining room threadbare in places- Breakfast overpriced and not very good = Staff not paying attention to product supply at breakfast with some products eg bacon not being replenished on time so some guests did not get any - also Croissants butter & jam etc in very short supply. some Staff also did not seem to be that interested In Bathroom toilet would not flush properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita,Ks

Centrally located in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Very centrally located.
Cons: Make smokers move away from the front door. The lobby, elevators and stairs always smelled of smoke. Elevators were always congested.
Location: Close to all tourist attractions and shopping.
Located on Prince's Street right in the middle of everything. You could walk to most attractions plus the bus and tram system had stops within a block.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in centre of Edinburgh

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Lovely hotel located in central edinburgh. Wonderful views of the city with spacious and comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Great location, but room way too hot

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning - room updates. Improved security.
First of all the positives - great location, I had a 6th floor room overlooking Princess St - so great view too, also bed was comfy. Negatives - room was tired and dated, some 'holes' in wall and grout in bathroom was stained and moldy in places.Worst thing though was room was way too hot and there was no air con - this was not even the height of summer, but a relatively cool 15oC day max. There was a plug in desk fan in the room, but didn't like to leave that on overnight for safety reasons. I tried opening the windows - but the noise from Princess St and the trains was too much for me to sleep with windows open - so I was too hot to sleep. Then was woken at 5:30 by the M&S deliveries outside - crates moving, guys shouting etc - and this was with windows shut! Also as I was coming into hotel I noticed a large carrier bag had been dumped at the entrance with no one around - bearing in mind what had just happened in London, I went to the reception on the first floor and had to wait in a queue for 10 minutes to report it and they sent security down to deal with it. With the reception being on the first floor, I really feel they should have had a security guard on the ground floor entrance to stop things like this - in this case, I think it was nothing - but it easily could have been - it really didn't make me feel safe to stay in this hotel and I wouldn't again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great Location

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Location was everything with this hotel - otherwise it would have been fairly mediocre. Tons to do around it and Edinburgh Castle was within walking distance - however, the hotel sits much lower than the area across the park from it so I would not suggest staying on Princes street if walking uphill/stairs is hard for you and you plan on visiting the Castle. Our room was pretty warn without AC, opening the window definitely helped but also let in some noise and there was a light outside shining almost directly into our window. The breakfast was fine - buffet, however we ate dinner here once and it was not worth the price charged. Overall I would stay here again due to the location and staff - who were very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice location. Close to the train station

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, close to everything
Cons: The breakfast buffet was a little limited in choices.
Location: Great location!
Very nice hotel. You can walk to everything Edinburgh has to offer. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Run down

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Rhe room is very small and difficult to move sround. The chair and desk are very tun down. Bathroom iis old type. Ok 50 yesrs ago. Surely mot now not Mercure. And not quaint either. Breakfastis good. But the location is very good right on Princess Street.
5 out of 5
by Mm

Loved our room!

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful location! Walkable from/to Waverly station and usual tour starting points, restaurants and malls. Get a room with a view of the street if you can.