Ratings based on 2,123 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breaj away

Posted Oct 14, 2017
It was woderful always wanted to saty there and i got my wish many thanks for a memorable time ... Willbe back soon .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Better choices for the money

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Good location. Old and creaky noise from rooms above. Breakfast is minimal; cereal, white bread, instant coffee, watery scramble eggs. Tried to change check out date do to changes in my travels but refused cooperate. Street noise in rooms that face street that they up charge for..back rooms are facing an alley. Better choices elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Older but clean, comfortable & close to everything

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: A drop off point would be handy but not really possible given their location. Plus there is the train station right there and a bus for the airport
Location: Edinburgh castle is within walking distance and lots of shops all in the immediate vicinity
We didn't have any trouble finding the place & although the hotel warned guests about the stairs to reach reception, we didn't have any trouble with our bags. Staff were welcoming & helpful & the hotel is right in the heart of everything. Yes the hotel is older, but it was warm and comfortable and we were there to see the sights, so it worked perfectly for us. I would happily stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NS, Canada

Charming Hotel, Centrally Located

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, charming decor, great tea room and lounge, and a nice restaurant area.
Cons: To reach the lobby from street level, guests have to carry luggage up a flight of stairs. Perhaps a door person could be stationed there to assist.
Location: Train station and tour bus depot across the street. Surrounded by the shops on Princes Street and a short distance from the Royal Mile attractions.
This was our first visit to Edinburgh and we were very pleased with our stay at the Old Waverley. We arrived by train, and only had a short walk from the terminal to the hotel. The hotel was reasonably priced with a lovely breakfast option. The rooms were not fancy, but met all of our needs. The location was excellent, with many attractions, shopping, restaurants, pubs and coffee shops all conveniently located nearby. After taking a tour on the hop on hop off bus, we were able to find our way around easily by day 2 of our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Cute hotel perfect location

Posted Oct 7, 2017
The hotel is in the perfect location when visiting Edinburgh! It’s right on princes street which is a Main Street. Our tram from the airport stopped right infront of the hotel and there’s a main national railway (train station) RIGHT across the street. So catching our super early train was so convenient. Princes street is a better location to stay at than royal mile because the hop on and off buses center around their princes street stop. And there’s a beautiful park out front with a great view of the city and the castle. There’s a small flight of stairs to get up to the lobby (no lift) but it’s not bad at all. (Let’s not complain about first world problems now people). The receptionist was super friendly and since we got there at 9am he put our luggage’s in a secured room until check in time later in the day. The hotel is a little more old fashioned but it’s such a cute Scottish hotel. Our room was a smaller room but had a beautiful washroom and the usual kettle/coffee/tea/cookies available. It was cozy! You do have to leave your room key with them anytime you leave the hotel, so interacting with the front desk is common. Most of the staff were super friendly, some were just quieter but still friendly :) definetly would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Few nights in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 3, 2017
The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is in the middle of Everything. Train is across the street. Bus is about 1 1/2 blocks away. Royal Mile 5minute walk. Tons of places to eat and shop. Hotel is very old and is showing it in some areas. Hotel staff did their job but not overly friendly. Breakfast buffet was nice. Only bad thing was the lift was broken for most of our stay. Stairs were killer for my elderly aunt There is a lot of stairs just to get to the lobby and no one to help with luggage. Also if you have a window to the street the bar traffic can be a little loud at 2-4 am. Over all I would stay here again as the good outweighs the few negatives for me. The stairs could be an issue for some.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Busy city break

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Room was quiet small but very clean lovely breakfast and staff. Hotel in a good location very close to railway station. There was only a wardrobe in room no chest of draws. We stayed 4 night so was a bit of a pain sorting through case.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. paul,mn

Center of everything in Edinburgh

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Carpet, upholstery, paint, elevator
Location: Everything. We had a hop on hop off pass. The buses were right across the street, as was the train station. Many restaurants near by.
Breakfast was nice. Location was great. The facility was VERY tired (falling apart upholstery, room needed paint, worn through carpet.). I chose based on location and got that. The staff was great. The elevator was broken our entire stay. We were given another, lovely hotel our first night and then given a lower floor room. I picked an older hotel in a great location and got both.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Easy walking to Royal Mile, Castle, train station and Airport bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds u.k

Nice hotel close to railway station and amenities.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Convenient .
Cons: To have any repairs done as soon as possible.
Location: Central ,close to all tourist attractions.
Enjoyable stay ,convenient for sightseeing etc .only disappointment was the lift was out of order for the 3 days we were staying.