Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cayman islands

City centre hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
It's been a while since we last stayed here and the hotel is in need of a bit of a tidy up. Common areas were congested and decor a bit tired. Our room was comfortable but we asked for a castle view which we got, but out of the side window. The main view through 3 windows was of the hotel across the road. my pedicure started to slip off my toes within 24 hours! Not good. Plus points- excellent city centre location, convenient for shopping, museums and the other sights of which Edinburgh has many! However the hotel needs to sharpen up its act to justify its prices which are not cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellent hotel with amazing staff and rooms.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location and staff
Cons: Nothing
One of the nicest hotel in town, rooms are great and the service is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nee York

Grear Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great location. Beautiful hotel. Staff is wonderful. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, California

Very nice hotel in the heart of downtown Edinburgh

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very comfortable and the location was perfect
We spent our 38th wedding anniversary and enjoyed our stay at the Balmoral Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft lauderdale. fla

Totally recommend

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Everything especially staff
Totally recommend. Met by a wonderful staff that could not be more helpful. Outstanding location close to everything still quiet. Very comfortable bed and beautiful bath. Look no further. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Edinburgh stay

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The hotel was good but dated. The location was near rail station and about 3-4 block from bus stop. Staff very attentive and welcoming. Our room on 6th floor had a lot of street noise. Needed new windows, would not close tightly. Over all it was a good stay but was very expensive. We'll probably not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Magnificent place and wonderful service in beautiful Edinburgh. Would return for more days next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel very close to the royal mile

Posted Jun 5, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Balmoral Hotel. It was very well situated to the old town and close to all facilities. We were able to walk around the old town and to the castle. The staff were very professional and friendly and the rooms were first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to all tourist site seeing

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were terrific and very helpful
Location: Close to all the old town facilities and sites. We loved how close we were to Edinburgh Castle
We had a great time and the team at the Balmoral mad event sure our stay was memorable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely in every respect

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Staff lovely, helpful and kind. Hotel beautiful and very clean. Well placed.