Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel near town centre

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Being central and having facilities to eat in if you did not want to go out. Plenty spaces where you could sit and see friends visiting you.
Cons: Some furniture in the bedroom needs to be replace.
Location: Walkable to the town centre.
Nice stay in the hotel. The staff were very helpful and approachable. Food was very good; we had the opportunity of having breakfast, snacks and dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent stay in a beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Located in a plush neighborhood (West End) not far from good restaurants, this hotel offers good accommodations, in an old English style with excellent service. We stayed there for 4 nights (junior suite with nice view) and loved it. The hotel restaurant has excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location so idyllic.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Lovely place. Very quiet. Loved our room. Can't fault them. Fantastic breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A tired hotel, in need of refurbishment

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: We liked the complimentary water, mints and shortbread in reception
Cons: Better toilet paper for one thing, and a realistic charge for the car park given that we have paid to stay
Location: Well situated in the West End, walking distance to Princes Street
We were not welcomed well on arrival and an overnight charge of £15 for the car park was outrageous. The bathroom in our room was old fashioned and basic. The whole hotel needs a facelift. The stair carpet is worn for instance. The standard room tariff was breath taking, thank goodness we did not pay anything like it. Breakfast was also overpriced. We will not be returning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Valerie

a modern welcome and old style service

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
a wonderful place to stay with its proximity to important historical places as well as local cafes and shops. We received a most warm welcome with a welcome card from the duty manager, a slate platter with fruit and chocolate and little cakes and the word welcome written in chocolate. Old style service and ambience most welcome. Breakfasts good. Our room gave us a marvellous view across the city, and was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Great hotel within walking distance to all attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON Canada

Nice hotel within walking distance of city centre.

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: It was unique and the room was very welcoming and pleasant.
Cons: Something to prevent the room doors from slamming. A switch to turn off the bathroom fan.
Location: It was within 10 minutes walk of the Main Street so very close to everything but also in a quiet area.
The hotel was smaller and unique compared to the usual hotel chains. I found the room very comfortable and pleasant to be in. There was occasionally some noise from doors slamming in the halls and I found the fan in the bathroom that was continuously running slightly noisy but was fine when the bathroom door was closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of castle.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: location, size of the room.
Location: We loved that we could walk to the castle and eat in just a few minutes.
Very nice hotel and accommodations. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed being able to walk right into town and get a bite to eat or to just tour the city. Very nice stay!
4 out of 5
by Jamie

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Accommodating as early check in required. Had room 1 that wasn't like the brochure pictures - but take this as being the first room available and based not he lower price paid. Clean room - bit small - but comfortable.