Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake District

Good stay, but overvalued.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Room lovely. Very warm though. Breakfast service slow as not enough staff. Breakfast delivered in dribs and drabs. Good location in quiet area close to trams and Princes St only half a mile away. Would stay again but would not want to pay the full rate of £400 per night as this is far too much for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location tired room

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The room was very tired with furniture well passed its sell by date But everything was there and the bed was comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmslow

Traditional hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
We have stayed at the Bonham on several occasions whilst in Edinburgh. The setting is ideal -- a traditional and very grand building, with only a short walk to the West end of Princes Street. The staff are always really helpful and welcoming, making this our favourite place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel in brilliant location

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Great hotel in a brilliant location. Staff were extremely helpful and decor is gorgeous - lovely detail, from the gorgeous aroma when you walk in the door. Walkable distance from all the sites, but in a quiet, leafy side street. Will definitely be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfasst

Beautiful and staff helpful

Posted Nov 11, 2017
On Work event. Rooms quiet and comfortable. Staff helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA. U.S. A.

Fine location for our purpose.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: It's location and the general atmosphere.
Cons: Wash clothes and towels for the bathroom. No washcloths provided and one hand towel had small holes in it.
Location: As above, with walks to Edinburgh Castle and several very good restaurants very convenient.
The Bonham is within comfortable walking distances of most of what we wanted to see in Edinburgh. The staff was very helpful and the breakfasts were nutritious and very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Genteel hotel in good location at a good price

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Valentina, the desk receptionist, who was very helpful to us by email before our arrival and during our stay -- she always has a warm smile.
Cons: The other desk staff were, in contrast to Valentina, curt, unhelpful, and seemed bored most of the time.
Location: A 5- 10 minute walk to Princes and Shandwick streets, with lots of shops and places to eat. Easy to get there with the Airlink 100 bus from airport.
The Bonham is a genteel hotel from another day, located in a quiet area of Edinburgh within walking distance of most of the major sites. It is a bit faded, but still comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely classic with proficient staff.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Classic Scotland environs recommended to me by locals. View of the Firth of Forth from my large bay window while sipping very good coffee they provide. Reception folks willing and able to help - even to the point of charging my iPhone battery! Lovely area for walking to nearby shops. I hope to stay there again sooner than later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and lovely building, BUT...

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The furnishings were looking a bit shabby.
Location: New Town is renowned for it's Georgian architecture.
The room we were put in was extremely small so we asked to be given a larger room. We got a room that was essentially the same size but did have a bay window which gave the illusion of a bit more space. The closet was tiny and we had so little room for luggage and belongings that we had to ask to have the duvet removed because we had to take it off the bed at night and put it on one of the chairs which was needed for clothes, etc. We paid precisely the same rate as our family who had a huge room with no crowding. As a matter of fact we showed them our room and they couldn't believe it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Short stay in Edinburgh.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Very traditional and it had excellent breakfast.
Cons: Mini-bar in the room.
Location: Shops, gardens, sites.
Quiet and clean location not far from shops and town.