Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely classic with proficient staff.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Classic Scotland environs recommended to me by locals. View of the Firth of Forth from my large bay window while sipping very good coffee they provide. Reception folks willing and able to help - even to the point of charging my iPhone battery! Lovely area for walking to nearby shops. I hope to stay there again sooner than later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and lovely building, BUT...

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The furnishings were looking a bit shabby.
Location: New Town is renowned for it's Georgian architecture.
The room we were put in was extremely small so we asked to be given a larger room. We got a room that was essentially the same size but did have a bay window which gave the illusion of a bit more space. The closet was tiny and we had so little room for luggage and belongings that we had to ask to have the duvet removed because we had to take it off the bed at night and put it on one of the chairs which was needed for clothes, etc. We paid precisely the same rate as our family who had a huge room with no crowding. As a matter of fact we showed them our room and they couldn't believe it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Short stay in Edinburgh.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Very traditional and it had excellent breakfast.
Cons: Mini-bar in the room.
Location: Shops, gardens, sites.
Quiet and clean location not far from shops and town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Happy Surprise

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: King size the beds
Needed a hotel close to where our tour was starting and found The Bonham. I did read the reviews and I booked. We were delighted when our cab driver pulled up in front of this lovely, discreet hotel. No bellboys but we managed to pull our luggage up the flight of stairs. Chic lobby and helpful reception. Great location to walk anywhere. Room was very comfortable. They were happy to bring an extra pillow. The breakfast was yummy. We have to brag on the knowledgeable and fun bartender from Chechoslavakia. Carl taught us all about Scotch and tea. We would love to stay here often.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Bonham Hotel In August '17

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: It was in a quite area. Excellent for walking into town. Near Saint Mary's Cathedral.
Cons: This was not a friendly place. It was stuffy with overdressed old codgers. I am over 60 and a professional and I say that.
Location: Saint Mary's has classical music every morning (pianists). Festival in August. Edinburgh Castle. Saint Andrews by train and bus was a great trip.
Lobby with nice sitting areas and dining area. Rooms too small, even for European standards; for 399 Pounds/night. No extras...everything was additional, including water bottles, breakfast, etc. Bathroom was tiny; shower leaking all over floor; toilet paper holder broke after first use, no area for toiletries to be set down on.. Room was hot, but the provided fan helped. The outside temp reached 65 one day, the rest were cooler, but the room was still too hot. No complimentary tea or coffee in the room. Nice walk to Princess Street, where good restaurants are located. Staff was nice at first, then a bit stiff. Thought this would be special, it was not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Luxury hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Luxury hotel, very comfortable rooms with large beds and lots of pillows. The deep soaking tub was wonderful after a day of walking and site seeing.
Cons: It was absolutely perfect in every way.
Our stay at The Bonham Hotel in Edinburgh was a pleasure. The neighborhood was nice and quiet, but we could easily walk to shopping areas and restaurants. The rooms were quite large and very comfortable. The food at this hotel was excellent, both in the restaurant and from room service. If I ever get back to Edinburgh, The Bonham Hotel is where I will stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Terrific hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Beautiful hotel. 1 block from British Museum. Quiet, safe, attractive neighborhood with easy transportation and many restaurants. Service was spectacular -- upgraded to a room with a shower so that I could safely bathe. Very helpful staff provided help in planning touring. Arranged transportation to the airport which saved me $40 compared to taxi rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach, FL

Nice Stay

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Good location near center of Edinburgh-walking distances. Rooms seemed a bit tired but comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Comfortable stay in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Excellent especially for the gallery of modern art.
The location of this hotel is excellent and the views from our room were very special. It has been, I suspect a very fine hotel but it is now somewhat faded an din need of some refurbishment. The furniture is chipped, the curtains are shredding and the bathroom fittings are wobbly. For this price and billing one expects more. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts, like the hotel, lack lustre - not a good advert for the hotel restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, Ohio

Beautifully charming hotel!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
We loved our week at The Bonham! Such a charming hotel with wonderful staff and beautiful views.