Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent staff and lovely room

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Staff Location Room
Cons: Nothing to improve
Location: You are a 10 minute walk from the centre of the city with everything there.
Often there are some good staff in a hotel, it is very rare to find that all staff are so helpful, informative and pleasant however that is what you get at the Howard - well done to them. I was surprised that everyone could be so good, all the time. The room was very nice and you are close to the city centre. We ate in the restaurant for an evening meal and the food was very good, breakfast every morning was great and over the three nights there my wife and I tried most options and they were all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milwaukee, wi, usa

Surprising. Wonderful.

Posted May 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location. Staff. Room. We had an early departure and they brought us an excellent continental breakfast to our room. Really great!
Location: Botanic gardens! Restaurants. Great walking.
Gracious hosts. Wonderful room. Very accommodating. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Historic Hotel with Character

Posted May 4, 2017
This hotel sits among brownstones houses and is off the tourist path. Wonderful reception team and great butlers. While the hotel is older, it has historic charm. Breakfast was wonderful with fantastic choices. Rooms are spacious. Hotel is within walking distance of pubs and great restaurants in Stockbridge. Loved the overall experience at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Candy

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The only criticism I have is about the water pressure. It came out at a trickle.
1 out of 5
by John

Incredibly disappointed

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Petit double room was tiny and was not reflective of the pictures on either travel or the hotel websites. Room was tired in terms of decor, furniture and bedding. The bathroom was much the same and even had a rusty/ dirty looking plug hole Not 5, not 4 and not even 3 star I'm afraid. Would not recommend or stay again
5 out of 5
by Hanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Wonderful!

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The Howard exceeded our expectations and it is possibly the best hotel experience we have ever had, at least in the top three. The hotel was deluxe without being stuffy, the staff was attentive to our needs and useful in helping us plan activities and dining, and the location was convenient to our interests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Wonderful trip to Edinburgh

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Small and friendly
Cons: Pillows
Location: Easy walking distance to restaurants and shops, lots to do within walking distance.
Few days in Edinburgh, staying at The Howard. Would recommend this small, friendly hotel. Staff were all very helpful, room was really comfy, would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Duff room

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Lovely people, lovely breakfast, lovely positioning, awful room. Stuck in 1984. 2 single mattresses pused together, faulty lamps with an actual sign on it saying 'faulty lamp, do not use'. Worse thing was a draft that we realised was a broken window payne that when pointed out was duct taped over. Room was generally damp and musty feeling.
4 out of 5
by Derval

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels