Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sellindge Kent

Warm welcome

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of staff and Manager
Cons: A minor detail, the duvets could have ben a bit larger for the bed, but we were fine anyway.
Location: Half way between the City Centre and Leith where the Royal Yatch Britannia is berthed. By the River Leith and Botanical Gdns. Bus services excellent.
We were well treated generally but particularly by the Manager who understood our daughters problems with Celiac/Gluten free. The Manager gave as good advice on where to go to eat and other places of interest and was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by SR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review we appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel in a beautiful area

Posted Oct 31, 2017
This is a nice hotel near the botanic gardens. The area is awesome and quiet and just a short walk away from the city centre. In the beginning I got a bit confused by the room options presented in Expedia and when we got there the room was tiny and not enough for two people. We wrote to Expedía and the manager saw it and she immediately switched us to another room on the 3rd floor. We did not try the breakfast but it looked and smelled good. This hotel has the best staff I have ever seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by SR, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review we appreciate you taking time to give us feedback. we do the best that we can and i am pleased that the situation was dealt with accordingly and in a timely manner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice but small room.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Charming, clean, comfy bed.
Cons: Small shower. Some upgrades.
Location: Located next to Royal Botanical Gardens. Easy access to bus service. Restaurants, bars and grocery nearby. Very quiet and safe neighborhood.
Room was very small. Nice garden view. Small people would fit fine. Price was good but if you like space or a two person shower you should upgrade and breakfast would be included. The desk manager is wonderful and made our stay better. She knows stuff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Lovely stay, excellent staff, great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: The room is a bit dated for people who care about that. I don't though, so I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
I stayed in a cozy clean single room. True, the establishment is not super modern, but it's very clean and I feel like the slight age is part of its charm. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It has an excellent location (near a bus stop that takes you straight to the City Centre, near a hop-on and hop-off stop and is a short walk away from the Royal Botanic Gardens). The next time I visit Edinburgh I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Small and friendly

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Had an amazing stay at this location. If you're looking for something that is away from the hurried crowds of uptown then this place is perfect. It's less than a 2km to walk to everything and very close to a major bus route. Staff is super friendly and helpful. It's a small B&B type place and not a stuffy big name hotel so you get the picture. It's small and yes you can hear your neighbour but we loved it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Sheree was friendly and helpful, even carried my heavy bag to my room! Room was small but beautifully decorated. The bed slumped in toward the middle but I heard another mattress was on order. Nice but brief stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Glengarry, Ontario, Canada

Great location beside Botanical Gardens

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I was very pleased with this guest house. Easy access to downtown Edinburgh on bus, in about 8 minutes. Sheree at the desk was very pleasant and helpful with info on buses and sites to see. The breakfast room was bright and clean and the breakfast menu was varied and the food fresh and home cooked. Will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

A beautiful, quiet inn in a pleasant neighbourhood

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The staff went above and beyond to help one of our party who had fallen ill.
Cons: One of the beds in the apartment had a poor mattress, and the shower arrangement led to water on the floor.
Location: The location is fantastic, near excellent restaurants and pubs, the botanic garden and excellent transit connections to the centre of the city.
When we arrived at the Inverleith for a week's stay, the friendly staff had upgraded us to their new holiday apartment, which was fantastic. The inn is on a beautiful, quiet street close to the Botanic Gardens yet a short bus hop to the busy central area of Edinburgh -- perfect for a good sleep after a long day at the Fringe festival.
2 out of 5
by Gregor

Not to be recommended and needs a lot of work.

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is dated and badly in need of a refresh throughout. Even though it was relatively cheap by Edinburgh standards I was still expecting better quality of service and amenities at the hotel which were sadly lacking. Shower was diabolical with warm luke warm and literally just a dribble - were not asked how our stay was by staff as customer service was very poor. Overall, not a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Good morning Gregor Thank you for your review i'm sorry that you never had the best experience here at our hotel. the hotel is 200 years old so there is going to always be something that needs to be fixed and updated most of our refurbishments will be done in the winter months so dont be put off when your shower only had Luke warm water did you report it to reception?as i am fully confident that the problem would be sorted. we hope that you would come back again Regards manager
3 out of 5
by Nishi

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
loved the area, next to the botanical gardens, easy 20 minutes walk to center of town and all attractions. loved the second-hand shops and scran restaurant in stockbridge. room we got on hotels.com needs to be renovated, but is sufficient, beds needs to be replaced.