Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Enjoyed our stay as the staff where impeccable and tonne that's what makes a good stay. The room was a bit small and only a window in the ceiling which did not please me. The hotel is located in walking distance to the tourist attractions which is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Sarah - Front desk, Hotel Management
Good morning, We are delighted that you found our staff helpful and will pass on your kind words. We're sorry you weren't happy with your room, many of our city doubles and urban twin rooms are located on the lower ground floor and we do try and make this clear in the booking descriptions. Regardless, we hope you had a great stay and that we can welcome you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely hotel close to Tram and Princes Street

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great hotel, staff and breakfast. Lovely comfortable rooms. Close to Tram, bus stop and short walk to centre for Princes Street, shops, Castle, Scott's monument, pretty much everything, nothing is too far. 2nd stay and would definitely return again Would highly recommend 💗
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertford UK

Excellence!

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Think I've already covered this. Excellence is the key word.
Cons: The coffee!. I only drink decaf. and am used to being disappointed so not unusual
Had a great stay in this lovely hotel. Welcome was warm, service was good and best of all everywhere was clean and pleasant. This hotel is very central too. Best of all the decor of this lovely Edwardian(?) building was tasteful and sympathetic to it's origin. Staff were friendly and professional throughout our short stay and I would recommend it to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodside NY

Comfortable hotel near attractions

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Hotel is across from the last stop on the tram from the airport. I arrived too early to check in but they held my suitcase. When I came back at check in time my luggage was already in my room. Yes there were stairs to climb but that was a minor inconvenience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel was perfect for me as I was a woman traveling alone and staff was helpful with suggestions and inquired how my day went when I returned. There is a bar and breakfast is available as well. I will stay here again the next time I travel to Edinburgh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Will Harrington, Hotel Management
Dear Gerry, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all our Hotel has to offer.It is especially nice to get such great feedback regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards, Will Harrington Front of House Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Close to transport

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Hotel is close to tram. Which was great to get to the airport early in the morning. Single room was very small and with a very small shower. The room also faced the road so it was very noisey all night. However it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Great for a nights stay but not worth the amount spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Nice hotel. Central location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
A birthday treat in a lovely hotel. Staff couldn't have been nicer. Upgraded to a large twin room in the basement which was really quiet which is a must for me as a very light sleeper. Would definitely return as within walking distance of all attractions
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Will Harrington, Hotel Management
Dear Gillian, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and had a lovely birthday. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Will Harrington Front of House Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
This was a great choice. Rooms are very nice and you get to use a mobile device free of charge fitting you're stay! This was a life saver. The room and shower were nice but the bed was not the most comfortable. It was decent though. Id stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Finland

Good hotel at the new town of Edinburgh

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Room was large and spacious. Good bed and sitting/ working area. Tea and coffee could be made in the room. No cockroaches were seen. Bathroom was clean but minimalistic. Because this was a cheap room, the window was into a little basement level courtyard and facing a wall but employees could possibly be using it and then see straight into the room. The room was next to a kitchen/ storage room and employees were using it so it was a bit noisy. The water pressure was low in the shower and when increased the pipes started to make a terrible noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Good location is all it offers

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room size
Location: Close to everything
Rooms are extremely shoe box small,totally different from photo on line. No elivator but it was clean and in a good location close to bus, train terminals and close to downtown.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels