Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Classy Edinburgh, stylish yet warm and welcoming

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Style, service and comfort.
Cons: Parking
Location: Central edinburgh... everything within walking distance. Yet located on the classy Charlotte square for a regal Edinburgh feel.
Superb stay. Location in just perfect for Edinburgh. Comfort is of the very highest standards, the style and decor and little touches about the place, wonderful. Biggest credit goes to the staff.. Front desk is wonderful, Murray Brand in particular. And a lovely charming girl called Sophie, whom attended to her guests with real care at breakfast time in the beautiful garden restaurant. The Bar connected is awesome and the new Baba restaurant... relaxed but classy and very very very tasty. You will not be disappointed! I have super high standards with hotels and look for the detail and most importantly, value for money and service. Well here it is. Only little draw back.... if you are looking to park your car, the parking is down the road 10mins which can throw a couple challenges in when coming to "check in/out" with luggage... But hotel were kind to let us park outside whilst we dropped our cases off etc etc... It really isn't a problem and you get a nice view with the stroll. Edinburgh Castle, The Gardens etc etc. Soho House - eat your heart out!!! Great stay! Thanks guys
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

Central hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: The size of the room and new clean bathroom. The decor was undeniably scottish.
Cons: A thicker curtain at the window. Other than that nothing.
Location: Great location just off princes street. Stands comedy club was a great laugh. Surgeons museum very interesting. Urban angel great for brunch.
Hotel was near to everything., including Gin71, 71 different gins amazing. Room was huge looked out onto Rose Street which was a bit noisy first thing in the morning as the local pubs had their bins emptied, a thicker curtain at the window would have been good as the very thin curtain let in a lot of light, although this didn't spoil our stay. Loved the complimentary tuck box and fresh milk in the fridge for the tea and coffee. Didn't eat at the hotel but the drinks were good and reasonable for a hotel. The concierge gave out umbrellas to guests as it rained for all of our stay which was a nice gesture. Overall a beautiful hotel I would definitely recommend it to friends and would love to stay again if I came back to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great hotel within walking distance to major sites

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The Principal Edinburgh Charlotte Square is a great hotel within walking distance to all major sites and shopping. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the rooms are a good size. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We drove to Edinburgh and were told that unfortunately the hotel car park was full but were given an alternate option to park at NCP Car Park Edinburgh Castle Terrace with a 25% discount off the rate of £28 for 24 hours. The car park was an easy 7 minute walk to the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from york

Heating didn't even work in our "deluxe" room!!

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: location was good, nice clean room
Cons: The staff, the price, getting the heating fixed and how staff deal with any problems!!
Location: loads to do nearby
I booked this hotel for me and my boyfriend as part of his Christmas present. The hotel is really nice and fancy and a great location, however I bought the double deluxe room and our heating/radiator didn't even work!!!!! It was absolutely freezing and snowing outside the whole time we were there and I couldn't even warm up or dry any of my snacking clothes in our "deluxe" room. Once I notified a staff member, all he said was oh yeah it's broken and I'll find out why it doesn't work! He obviously didn't and we checked out anyway after two nights so he wasn't bothered about us as we were gone soon! We didn't even get an apology until we finally checked out and a nice lady on reception was like 'oh we are really sorry!'. It was too late and I felt really, really disappointed in the hotel and even a basic, budget hotel has working heating!! I definitely will never use these hotels again.n
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crook of Devon.

Great Location.

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: The Location.
Cons: The heating controller in the room was difficult to work or was broken.
We had a great night in the Princaple as always, this is a great hotel in a great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Edinburgh hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Nice hotel. Great location. Poor breakfast for price. Cold room. Nice linen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Great hotel perfect location

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The hotel is charming and the staff was wonderful. This was our first trip to Edinburgh and we were thrilled that all of the sights were within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kinross, UK

Fantastic hotel in heart of the city

Posted Dec 25, 2017
I spent one night in the hotel with two girlfriends as a pre-Christmas treat to ourselves and wasn’t disappointed. This was the third time we have stayed and following its refurbishment an already great hotel has improved beyond measure. Our spacious family room accommodated us easily with 3 separate beds and the room was tastefully decorated, clean and with lots of nice added complimentary extras, such as crisps, sweets and proper cartons of milk. We arrived before our check in time to drop bags, which were delivered directly to our room without fuss and all the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful from the front door, through check in and to the bar and room service staff. A fantastic stay and we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

An excellent hotel .

Posted Dec 16, 2017
This was my second visit and my experience was even better than my first . It is a beautiful, comfortable hotel with all the facilities you could need. The rooms are comfortable with lots of little extras like fresh milk and a tuck box. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is in a good location. The addition of a beautiful bar area and the Baba restaurant are an extra bonus to this lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Can't staff & facilities, close to many bars and restaurants.