Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Four Items.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly, polite and helpful. Bed was comfortable. Television channel selection was outstanding. Steam iron was best I've ever used.
Cons: See above.
Location: Visiting family members. Did not do much in New Ulm.
ROOM 207. AUGUST 7-8-9, 2017. 1. No bath mats for bathroom/tub. 2. Tub surface was slippery to point of dangerous. 3. WiFi was not working for about 50 % of my time in my ROOM. 4. Exhaust fan in Bathroom needs replacing. Created racket on start up and very noisy when operating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great Staff

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Location is great for food, sightseeing, a nice walk through town, etc
The staff was absolutely fantastic but hotel to could use some changes. The pillows were flat and uncomfortable, the pool was only open till 10 which is ok for kids, but should have adult time to stay open later. The beds were a little soft and had a little dip in center. Was surprised that tv was mounted on top of closet, expecially for a handicap room. Don't like looking up so high to watch TV
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Stink!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We were checking in on a Sunday and got there around 3:00 the very rude personal told me check in wasn't for another hour - on a Sunday? So we left and came back at around 4:15. We booked a smoking room by mistake and asked if we could change to a non smoking room again the young lady at the counter was unwilling to make the change for us on a Sunday/Monday stay! I couldn't get over how rude she was every time I came to the desk. I could see this if it was a Friday/Saturday but this stay was a Sunday/Monday and hardly anyone was there. When we enter the room it smell terrible and the bed seems tossed together so we busted out the Fabreeze to help the stench. I would not tell people to stay in this hotel unless changes were made. The rooms could be very nice if they were taken care of.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ND

mixed feelings

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Everything was clean.
Cons: Put all smoking rooms on 3rd floor and keep all nonsmoking rooms on floors 1 and 2.
Location: New Ulm has tons on things to do! Tons!!
Convenient location and next to great food places. Easy to get to. Clean overall. Breakfast was unremarkable. My major complaint is that it is a smoking motel and our room smelled. I should have requested a nonsmoking room but I fail to see how nonsmoking rooms right next to smoking rooms makes sense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
nice and clean and comfortable and up to date real friendly staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bemidji, MN

If you need a cheap place

Posted Aug 9, 2017
This hotel looks nice on the outside and when you first walk in but that's the end of it. The hotel smelled like cigarettes. The elevators was the worst smelling. The rooms where okay but paint was chipped or places had been missed. It needs a major remodel looks like nothing had been done for a long time besides a bad paint job. Walls are paper thin so could hear people in the halls and walking above. Beds were very uncomfortable. Breakfast is a joke. And not a lot of places to eat comfortably and trash was filled to the brim and staff never changed it but instead would walk past it. There are not a lot of options for hotels in New Ulm but staying in Mankato is worth the 30 minute drive to stay in a better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Only one elevator for cleaning staff and guests; breakfast was adequate; modern facility
Only one elevator for cleaning staff and guests; breakfast was adequate; modern facility
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Very comfortable bed & friendly staff but did find a like cockroach in bathroom.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will not recommend Expedia

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Due to our use of Expedia to book the room, we were unable to change rooms. Our room was a non-smoking room on a smoking floor (WHAT?!), located by the ice machine, a laundry station, and the elevator. We could smell cigarette smoke immediately upon entering the elevator. Staff would not accommodate our request to change rooms due to using Expedia. Also, there was a big mix up when making the reservation. Had booked with one hotel. Then was notified by Expedia THREE WEEKS LATER that the reservation was cancelled. Had to book with another hotel 40 minutes away. Never again, Expedia!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Acceptable, but disappointed

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Our room was not cleaned properly prior to our arrival. The toilet had definitely not been cleaned and the shower was dirty as well. There were used towels still hanging in the room. On further inspection the bed had numerous hairs on it and appeared to not have had the linens changed. The hotel was sold out because of a baseball tournament that was in town, so there was no other room for us to use. We ended up cleaning the room ourselves getting new linens and stayed two nights in the room. The room itself was small but comfortable. We are still waiting for a response from the manager regarding our complaints.