Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Centrally located hotel in city of New Westminster

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Centrally located hotel. Conveniently located near a skytrain location and within walking distance to many amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by seant, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the Met Hotel we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Very Affordable

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Affordable
Cons: Update the furniture.
Location: Go location near sky train
The Met is an affordable hotel in downtown New Westminster. It is an older property but clean. It is close to the sky train station which is great for transport but a little noises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by seant, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear you think that our cleanliness is up to par as this is a big goal for us. Thank you once again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for kids / families

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Hotel itself was OK - cool old building, very high ceilings in the room, relatively clean (if old and in need of more deep cleaning, could use some paint here and there) - beds were OK. LOCATION - not good! Right in downtown New West, homeless people outside, other people you don't want to have your kids around. Good if you are there to see New West, just don't take kids there. NOISE - the Skytrain station is right across the back alley - kept us up until 2AM. BRUTAL. PARKING - there isn't any in the hotel! Have to park on the street or across the street in an insecure parking lot. Also not good! Won't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thanks for the honest review. You are correct parking is located directly across the street and not right at the hotel but it is only a 1 minute walk away. Parking is $10 per 24 hours with in and out privileges. It is open air but patrolled. I must comment about the area though. Downtown New Westminster is a great old place and very safe day or night any time. I can guarantee there are no issues around safety or security, we are right in the middle of downtown so this has the usual issues that accompany this. Kids are always welcome here at the Met and there is a ton of stuff for them to do right in this area. I understand your hesitation but assure you that this is not the case. If you wish to talk with us in person please contact us and we would love to discuss this with you. Thank you so much and take care.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chilliwack

Good budget hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Not a bad place to stay for anyone who just needs a decent place for short term stay and wouldnt need any frills. The hotel is dated and has no pool but was clean, in a good location, and staff were nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by seanT, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we receive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location next to sky train,

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: spacious, high ceilings, good location, appreciated the fridge and microwave in the room
Cons: cleanliness of bathroom and carpet in room
1 minute to sky train station,but single glazed windows mean you can really hear the train and street noise from the room.Staff was extremely warm and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
thank you so much for the very nice review we do appreciate it. Yes we are located next the Skytrain which makes us very convenient for our guests. If you are a lighter sleeper we do strongly suggest that you book a front facing room. Our rooms are 50% back facing and 50% front facing. For most folks this is not an issue but can be for those light sleepers. Thank you once again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

parking

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Motel charges you $10.00 for 24hrs of parking across the street. Parking lot charges $7.00 for the same 24 hours. Pay for parking at the lot and not at the Motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. I must correct this error of information. The parking across the road is not $7.00 for 24 hours it is $7.00 for 12 hours and you must buy new time at 6:00 AM or move by this time and you can not come and go. Only if you buy parking at the Met Hotel can you get 24 hour parking and the cost is $10 + taxes per night come and go as much as you like. So if you do not want to get up at 6:00 AM buy it at the hotel. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from World Traveller.

Beware of restricted check in hours.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
I've stayed at The Met a few times over the last few years and generally find the following to be true: - rooms are noisy no matter where you are - cleanliness is acceptable but not excellent - Shaun on the front desk is helpful and nice In this visit, I called to advise I'd be arriving out with check in hours and had real issues, the worst of which was being emailed after 9pm, on a delayed Amtrak service from THE USA to Canada and told I could cancel my booking for that evening and find somewhere else. Really poor customer care and service. Ultimately, with this hotel you get what you pay for. If you are sure you are definitely going to arrive at the hotel before 11 PM and you get a good deal on the price, then go for it. It is right outside Columbia skytrain station, has lots of amenities nearby and is comfortable enough for one or two nights. If you arrive out with check-in times, even if you call in advance, you are greeted by a sign on the front door advising you to call a telephone number to gain entry to the hotel. If you do not have access to a telephone then that's your tough luck.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. I am familiar with your booking as I was the front desk agent that assisted you at arrival. You have mentioned a lot in your review but I will address the most important that of your check in. I can tell you that the problem was not that your check in time was after 11:30 AM when we are closed it was that you indicated to the clerk on duty that you were unable to contact us when arriving after 11:30 AM and this made everything very difficult. All our online sites, our own website site and direct booking at the hotel advertise that our front desk hours end at 11:30 AM Sunday through Thursday. Friday and Saturday we are open 24 Hours. We do ask for 12 hours notice for all late check ins but we are available at any time for guests who have problems with flights. borders or traffic but you need to be able to call the hotel when you arrive in order to get someone. In your case you said that you could not phone and insisted that someone wait for you after hours for an undetermined amount of time. We tried to help you in various ways. We suggested that you might want to book else where so you would not have any problems and our agent offered to assist with this. You provided us with only an email address to communicate with you so we had no other option but to email you. As it was the hotel did have someone come and sit at the front desk after hours for 1.5 hours in order to assist you. At 1:30 AM I took the time to ensure you had a comfortable and safe check in. We always go to the greatest extent possible to assist our guests this included attention from our manager at 11:30 PM and a clerk available to assist you at your convenience after hours. Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely comfortable indeed

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Love how spacious and clean the room is. The beds are comfy and the bathroom is even bigger. Not too noisy even when you're right at the skytrain. Will come back the 3rd time of course!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by The Met Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your generous review of the Met Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the space of the room and the convenience of the location. We hope to see you again! Best wishes, The Met Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very satisfactory in all respects

Posted Feb 25, 2017
I stayed at the Met for two full weeks; I had 14 days of lectures and needed a centrally-located hotel in New Westminster. I was frankly astonished at the price which was very low given the facilities. This is a clean, very comfortable, friendly, basically perfect venue, unless of course you're looking for a luxury hotel with lots of amenities. If not, this is everything you need. The room was more spacious than average, beds were very comfortable, everything works- hot water, water pressure, lights, electricity, outlets, heat, etc. there's a large comfortable second floor lounge for reading, working, etc, and the desk staff is more than accommodating; one night around midnight I returned from a lecture to find a ceiling light had burned out. I let the front desk know, thinking they'd fix it the next day. Instead, Chris, who was on duty, volunteered to come up and change the bulb- this involved getting a step ladder since it was a ceiling light and quite high. He did it all with a smile - at midnight! This is where I will stay whenever I'm in the lower Mainland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by The Met Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for your generous review of the Met Hotel. We are pleased you enjoy the service of our hotel! We appreciate any sorts of feedback to improve the standard of our hotel. We hope to see you soon again. Best wishes, The Met Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The charm, the price, and the location
Location: Subway access.
Great room, Clean, staff was friendly and gracious. Location was good, in our room we could hear the subway,. but location more than made up for a little noise. I would definitely stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by The Met Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your generous review of the Met Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience and the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, The Met Hotel