Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of character

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We chose this hotel for its access to the sky train and we were not disappointed. We could see the train from the window in the room. Sounded like the wind - not disturbing. We took the train in to Vancouver for a tour one day. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed supper in the attached pub. Very quaint setting. There was a lounge area shared by the guests on the floor. The room was clean and comfortable. There is a little Pho restaurant about half a block away "Pho Pho U" that was quite good. The hotel is only a block away from the river with beautiful walking paths and lots of places to sit, relax and enjoy the amazing view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Dear Guest we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the Met Hotel and the wonderful surrounding area. All reviews are important to us but we really like it when we do good. Thank you very much. Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and older place

Posted Sep 12, 2017
In a noisier part of New Westminster, on a busier main street. Hotel does to have its own parking area and there is no convenient spot to park or unload at arrival or when checking in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Thank you fro taking the time to review the Met Hotel. I do apologize if you found the hotel to noisy and if you did not find the parking convenient. Parking is located right across the street and you can come and go all you want. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Great rooms , clean and great food and pub downstairs. Makes everything easy being close to the sky train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review The Met Hotel. The skytrain being so close is a bonus. We hope you got to check out the secret garden in the bar downstairs. It's quite relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Great location in historic district

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Lovely hotel with lots of charm. Staff are great. Air conditioners are very noisy. Close to sky train - very convenient but also a little noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by front desk, Hotel Management
Dear Aileen, Thank you for taking the time to review The Met Hotel. We are sorry to hear that the ac was a little noisy for you. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: The front door is locked when I arrived so a sign on the door say that they will be back in x minutes. Once registered you get the frontdoor password
The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Close to the river and a few excellent restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Met Hotel and for taking the time to review us. We do appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you found the beds comfy and our rooms clean this is important to us. I am sorry you had to wait at arrival. We do close the door if we are off helping a guest so sometimes there is a small delay but we do know it can be an inconvenience so we try to keep it to a minimum. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
This hotel is over 100 years old. It has been kept in good condition and is very clean. It is right next to a sky train station so getting to other parts of Vancouver is very easy. There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance. The area seemed quite safe during the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. Our location is very convenient and you are right we have good access to Vancouver. New Westminster is a great place with lots do do so I always say stick around a little bit and enjoy the city. The area is really wonderful day or night. thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Good price close to public transit

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This hotel is a little bit older but the rooms are big and clean and the hotel staff are friendly. It is also conveniently right off of the Columbia skytrain station so it's easy access to downtown. It is a ways from downtown though. It is only minutes away from The Quay with restaurants and shopping. There's also a pop next door and the restaurant gives you a discount when you stay there on the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we get. We are glad that you liked the area and the convenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, B.C.

Great place to visit.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Staff!! outside patio. food and drinks. Very comfortable.
Cons: It is perfect for the age, great history here..
Location: Shopping, walking, sky train. Waterfront..... everything.
A quick get away place to stay for 3/4 days.... close to sky train...park your car. Good restaurants, specially the hotel outside garden patio. The Best Staff, have stayed here before, and it keeps getting better... greatest staff I have ever met... Love New Westminster... boardwalk along the Fraser River, and a great pub with awesome views of the waterfront... So much to do... Easy sky train ride to Vancouver...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us when you come to New Westminster. It really is a great city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

Think twice before you do it

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Close the place and demolish the building.
Location: Unless your concept of safety includes travesti prostitutes on the street I would not call this place safe.
If you are reading this review you are probably seeking an "inexpensive" accommodation close to SkyTrain just like the one I was looking for after the trip to Rocky mountains with my kids and before returning to U.S. for our final flight back home to East cost. Yes this hotel is 10 minutes drive from the SkyTrain but neighbourhood looks anything but safe. I arrived with my kids around 4:00 PM dead tired just to find out that I can't check in unless I pay what amounts to a non-refundable fee of xxx dollars. Apparently with respect to the returning policy the management didn't take into the consideration that you might need to catch an early (5:30 AM check in) train to U.S. Neither foreign exchange student working on the front desk nor "management" were moved by the fact that I was with two minors age 10 and 9 and were all too happy to through us out on the street unless I pay this fee in spite of the fact that I pre paid hotel 2 weeks in advance. Oh if you wonder about Expedia 3 tier support from Bangladesh, I did spend 30 minutes (roaming) pleading for help. They tried to fend me off with a small voucher towards future purchase. The room was stuffy and windows sealed probably due to the safety concerns. I managed to have few hours of rest before heading to U.S. but my younger daughter was not so lucky. Please see her pictures after suffering few bed bugs bites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by seant, Hotel Management
The comfort and safety of our guest and cleanliness of our hotel is the most important thing to us.You left a previous review but we thank you for a second. The Met Hotel has a vigorous inspection procedure for detecting bed bugs using an alert dog monthly and closing down and isolating any suspected areas. We take this very seriously and have an experienced team with direct proven results in protecting our hotel from this issue. This was never at any point reported or mentioned to us even through correspondence through Expedia even days after you had left the hotel. As we replied to you in your previous review you came during the Pride festival and these people you called prostitutes were celebrating Pride as people do all over the world and are welcome here at any time, we accept everyone. The deposit you are referring to is a $100 deposit on a credit card which is noted on the Expedia web site. As most hotels we deal with credit cards almost exclusively. At no time were you told or threatened with having to spend a night on the street. We offered you several options and in the end you chose to stay and we accepted a cash deposit to accommodate you. We ask for a credit card as it can be refunded without any inconvenience to you such as you mentioned but you chose to not use one or not bring one. One would think that travelling with 2 children you would be prepared or phoned ahead to learn the policies. As it is we are sending you a refund by mail that is why we insisted on having your address. We are sorry for any inconvenience and we truly wished you had a nicer stay in our beautiful city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel next to the sky-train

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The hotel was better than I expected for the price. I only stayed one night, but will be back for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Sean T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. We look foreword to seeing you again.