Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: near of everything i where searching.
Cons: ok.
Location: locations.
i just can say it was good, just that.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disgusting, filthy "hotel"

Posted Nov 30, 2016
I would like to preface this review with explaining I stay in hotels around 40 weeks a year, sometimes hostels and am by no means someone who needs upscale amenities to be happy in a sleeping accommodation. We booked this hotel as it was within walking distance to Javits convention center and ended up being by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. First off, the photos are VERY misleading. We expected a cute boutique style hotel and instead were met with a filthy, cheap disaster. I arrived around 1am and the front deskman was incredibly friendly, boxes and a mess in the lobby, but friendly. I got up to my room and was surprised by how tiny the room was (even by New York standards), a bit appalled by the scratch marks all over the walls, torn lampshades, stained carpet, a cabinet for your clothing rather than a closet that isn't even tall enough to hang your pants, a heater that works when it decides to. The one redeeming quality was the bathroom was fairly updated and seemingly clean. But thought I will hardly be in the room, it's fine. I was exhausted and went to crawl into bed, where I was met with BLOOD STAINS on the sheet. BLOOD. As this is not a well staffed hotel, I was told to wait until Morning to talk to a manager (really) and sleep in the other bed. In retrospect I should have left, but I was exhausted and slept in the other bed. The heat was hardly working so I woke up freezing with little bite marks all over my chest and leg. I went to speak with
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
I feel nice here and the price is not high compared to other hotel in the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location and experience!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and the comfortable bed.
Cons: Wish there was a bit more space in the room.
Location: Times Square was only a 15 min walk. The subway was only a couple of blocks away. So much to see and do!
36 Hudson Hotel is located in a "quieter" part of NYC...if there is such a thing. We only had about a 15 min walk to Times Square in one direction, and about a 15 minute walk to the pier in another direction. Staff at the hotel were great! So helpful when we needed directions on which subway line to take to get to our destinations. Coffee was served in the lobby in the mornings (or you can make it in your room if you'd like). The rooms are tight - but I've heard this is common for New York hotels. We had a very comfortable king size bed in the room, which obviously took up a lot of space, but we made it work. Our room also had a mini fridge, a microwave, and the usual safe, iron, coffee maker, etc. NYC is an amazing place! We can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean, super small but affordable

Posted Nov 5, 2016
I travel to NYC for work several times a month. I chose the hotel based on location & price. The room itself is VERY small but clean & bed and pillows were surprisingly comfy. The noise level is pretty bad & as a light sleeper I woke up several times each night. As far as location, it was a little too industrial for a single women, there is a homeless shelter across the street & you have to walk near the exit of highway over 8 lanes of traffic which was a little scary. The staff was very nice but unfortunately it did not make up for the overall stay & i would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The location. There were also some really great finds for eating within a few blocks.
Cons: The smell of the room when we arrived.
Location: This was in walking distance to Birdland Cafe which is why we were in town. There was also an amazing italian sandwich shop around the corner.
Although this hotel was the smallest we've ever stayed at in NYC, the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived but the clerk gladly stored our luggage so we could go to lunch. We chose the hotel for it's location as we were in town for an event close by. The only complaint that I have is that the room did smell like cigarette smoke when we first arrived and the tub did not drain well. We put the fan on and the smell did subside by the time we returned later but I would probably not stay here again because of that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel, small

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: Offer food
Small hotel that is both close to everything and far away. Me and my friends walked everywhere, 10 minutes from time square, 10 minutes from the empire state building, 10 minutes from the subway. As I said up above, the hotel is in the middle of everything making it roughly .5-1 mile from everything. Yes the room was small but not as small as most make it out to be. I am on the taller side of 5 9 and my knees didn't hit the wall in the bathroom. The room comes with 1 closet, 1 clock, 1 desk, and 1 coffee maker. No breakfast, no refrigerator, and no phone are probably the biggest complaints but the room would probably be crowded if it came with anything more. Would only recommend if you like to walk. I would suggest walking even if you were at a farther location as traffic was horrendous the entire time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A decent hotel just outside the theater district

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: There was complimentary coffee in the morning, and they had free water in the basement.
Cons: Perhaps a complimentary breakfast for guests
Location: Just a few blocks outside the theater district.
We left our car keys in the room at checkout. They emailed us and held our keys for us, which was a real life saver. Recommended for their thoughtfulness and service. The people at the front desk were kind and asked you how you were doing on your way in and out each day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Decent hotel on a budget

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Clean room, great staff, decent location Cons: Location is not super close to tourist attractions, about a 6 block walk to the closest subway, small rooms, no fridge in room, no breakfast of any kind, and quasi seedy area. I wouldn't recommend it to my friends because they are single women. I felt safe enough but it is kind of shady. But if you are a confident traveler then it's not an issue. In the end, I would have paid the extra $200-300 for a six night stay somewhere closer to the attractions and nicer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bien ubicado y cómodo

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: A tres cuadras de dos estaciones del metro. Caminando se puede llegar fácilmente hasta la 7a y varios sitios como el Empire State.
Cons: No tienen nevera en la habitación, y no incluyen ninguna opción de desayuno.
Location: En general se puede caminar por la zona, las zonas de atracciones están en menos de un kilometro (Intrepid, Times Square, Madison, Empire State)
Hotel sencillo, con camas cómodas, baño amplío y aseado. Dan el servicio de internet gratuito, y el personal de la recepción es amable. Aunque algunos se han quejado de la remodelación, en septiembre de 2016 ya había terminado. Es una buena relación de costo/ubicación. Escogimos una habitación con dos camas dobles, que en general es pequeña, pero suficiente para una familia pequeña.