Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Great apartments and excellent location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Spacious 1 bedroom apartment, excellent location and friendly staff.
Cons: A bit more lighting in the elevators - they are a bit dark
Location: Smack bang in the middle of time square - great location and close to alot of subway stations.
I stayed at the AKA Times Square for 9 nights and absolutely loved this place. The one bedroom apartment was very spacious and had everything you needed. They even set up the roll away bed for my daughter before we got there so we didn't have to worry about anything. The free coffee in the mornings on the roof top was great. Location is smack bang in the middle of time square and close to all subway stations. The staff were so friendly and helpful every single day. The only downfall about out stay which wasn't AKA's fault is that there was construction work being done near by and we could hear drilling and banging at 3am - but I guess that's New York - city never sleeps. I'd highly recommend staying at the AKA and I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nicely upgraded hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Times Square
Cons: Room Comfort
Location: TImes Square and Rockefeller Center
The hotel was very nicely decorated in a fairly modern design but some of the furnishing were more for design than comfort. The chairs in the bedroom looked real cool but not made for comfortably sitting. I felt that the bed was very hard. Very large flat screen TV's. The location was great, a half block from Times Square, The staff were very nice and remembered my name each time I moved through the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Everything is easy to get to from this location.
Excellent location, well appointed rooms, great staff. We booked a studio suite with study and were surprised at the size of the studio. Fully equipped kitchen, great appliances including washer and dryer. Quality linen. Would not hesitate to recommend AKA Time Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JH

Luxury, peace and comfort right by Times Square

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Literally steps from Times Square yet nice and quiet. Great place for breakfast right next door and good Italian restaurant over the road,.
We went for a 2 bedroom apartment as it was a special occasion, and were not disappointed. Generous lounge area with fully equipped kitchen, washer and drier, bathrobes, coffee machine - all the trimmings. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Great penthouse lounge with free coffee every morning and views of Times Square lights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
overall very good, with the exception that it was a little dark at the lobby and the room we were at has some leftover fishy smell.. probably from the last guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Byron Bay

Great location but a few issues

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix the lifts, tea and coffee in rooms larger bathroom?
Location: Great spot right on times square
The AKA Times Square has an amazing location, but the bathroom was tiny and only one lift was working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Medley

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Very close to times square and all af the theatres. The staff were extremely friendly and helpfull and went out of their way to assist us. We will definately be staying with AKA times sqare again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK but not great

Posted Oct 10, 2009
Good hotel for business trips as self-contained apartments are well equipped and spacious. However, lacks facilities for leisure traveler and was not cleaned very thoroughly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Perfect place for what we wanted

Posted Oct 7, 2009
First thing first...we went to New York to see places, do things. That means that we didn't care much if the hotel had amenities like a gym or a dinner room. There weren't much but there end all the hotel 'problems'(which are not even problems if you know what you want) The room was magnificent to the point that I asked the reception 3 times if the charge I've seen was for the whole week because I thought with such a great room it could be a daily rate. Living room, full furnished, great bedroom, study room, washing and drying machine, modern furniture, 2 LCD tvs(one in living room, the other in bedroom). The bathroom was ok, a little small but you're in NY so... In the heart of Manhattan, 1' walk from Times Square, very close to two different subway stations, close to Bryant Park. The hotel is placed in such a convinient spot that we had no problem in numerous occasions to go out for shopping or sightseeing, come back for a rest, then go out again. All the good theaters, restaurants, main roads, trasnportation spots are very close and NY Subway is awsome9seriously, it is dirty and old but with so many lines you can get anywhere)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

nice place

Posted Sep 16, 2009
I recommend this place as a great alternative to a typical hotel room. It was quite nice and located conveniently close to broadway shows, subway stop, and restaurants.