Ratings based on 891 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel w/in walking distance to Columbia

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Service was great -- very nice folks, and very efficient too!!
Excellent hotel within walking distance of Columbia U/Barnard. Very close to subway that takes you straight to JFK. Nice, clean, modern hotel with efficient and helpful staff. Neighborhood is a bit sketchy but we didn't feel unsafe. Would definitely stay there again!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and noisy

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The front desk people were very friendly
Returned to hotel at 930 pm exhausted from moving out day at Columbia. Planned to have a drink and bite at the bar . Full of 20 plus loud drunks. It took a half hour to get served. The bartender was angry because he was serving 5 dollar drinks all night to all these people with special armbands they bought for only 5 dooars. He had run out of Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc etc etc etc He said they were in the basement locked up. UThe bartender is also the cook so he did not have time to make any food. Later offered me 2 kinds of wings. Shrimp cocktail no grilled cheese no. The bartender said all food was gone but yet everyone was only drinking. 3 people at the bar who were talking loudly, very slurred words and definitely intoxicated left to drive home. Wow. I don't know what the laws are in New York City. The bartender said it was their problem. Then he got in an argument with the only other hotel guest in the bar. She did not think it was fair she was the only person paying 12 dollars for a drink in the place and not what she wanted to order because it was all gone. I would have left but It was dark and my feet were worn out. Overall not what I would have expected from an Aloft Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I was in NYC with my teenage son checking out colleges so Aloft provided a comfortable space for the two of us. Loved how the vanity and shower areas were separate so we could comfortably get ready together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEPA

Close to Yankee Stadium

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Amazing restaurants (Chocolat, Red Rooster) and bars (Angel of Harlem, the above two restaurants just to start with) and shopping all within walking distance of Hotel. Public parking nearby or valet parking made the trip so much easier. Staff was wonderful with advice and all their suggestions were a hit. Can't wait to return and explore more of Harlem!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Easy to get around and safe

Posted Apr 5, 2017
My first time to New York and the hotel was in a great location in Harlem. Around the corner from the Apollo and subway station. Nice modern decor, free coffee and tea in the lobby as well as breakfast in the morning and snacks. Overall a very pleasant place to stay....and not too expensive!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
I stay at this hotel each time I visit my daughter at college. It is very convenient to the Barnard campus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel was very clean! The atmosphere is trendy! The staff are all friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Overall a good choice

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Location and bar.
Cons: The egg breakfast was so horrible it should not be served. Better to just offer cereal.
Location: On restaurant row. Super close to express subway
We had to change rooms because of ridiculous noise from the fans. They would not turn off a they rattled. The second room was very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Outstanding!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The quality of customer service/.
Cons: Larger rooms with a dresser..
Location: Walking distance3 to 125th Street Apollo. I grew up in the neighborhood which is so different now. Convenient to bus and train routes.
I stayed for 9 nights and it was wonderful. ALL the staff was outstanding. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Everything was excellent. The only improvement would be more streetlights along the block that the hotel is on.