Ratings based on 2,554 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Not much
Location: Close to Times Square
Room was very small...bathroom was down the hall and very inconvenient although clean. Thank goodness there was a sink in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Las habitaciones no tienen baño,es compartido

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: La ubicacion
Cons: Pueden mejorar las camas porque rechinan
Location: Esta muy centrico, buena ubicacion a pocas cuadras de times square
Algo que no se menciona en la reservacion es que el baño es compartido, y eso es incomodo. Solo tiene un lavabo en la habitacion.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Unacceptable, Disgusting, Unclean

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: it has a decent location
Cons: Clean the rooms, change the sheets and repair broken items.
I can't believe that this hotel appears on any of the travel sites. The rooms are small, the hotel is dirty, there is no bathroom in the room and you have to share a communal bathroom. Your room key does not let you in the hotel entrance, you must buzz and wait for the front desk clerk to buzz you in. There was hair in the bed and I can't say that I think the sheets were changed between the previous guest and I. The small sink in the room had a broken towel bar, the stopper in the sink was broken, the air conditioning did not work. I could go on and on. I wish there were a way to give this place less than a whole star. Not only would I not recommend this place, I am disgusted that I had to spend a night in this flea bag dump. It is simply the worst place I have ever stayed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The high price of the hotel. Small comfort. Good location in the heart of New York City.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice little hotel centrally located

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location, service
Location: 1 block from 5th Avenue, central location. Can't beat it!
Was not expecting much because it was one of the cheapest hotels I could find, but it was all a big surprise. Small rooms but clean, quiet, excellent service and, most importantly, near excellent attractions. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Decent for the Price and Location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: I liked the price, location and staff.
Cons: The elevator was very small (max capacity is 8 but it would have to be 8 very tiny people and you have to take it if you stay on a floor above the 2nd
Location: There's the Bryant Deli on the corner right next to the hotel and a Horton's restaurant, which had really good breakfast for a reasonable price.
My wife and I stayed at the Americana Inn from 10/05/2016 to 10/10/2016 and our overall experience with this hotel was the smoothest part of our trip to NYC. This was our first time in NYC and we were attending for the Comic Con at the Javits Center (located only a mile away from the hotel). There were a few inconveniences that made our trip somewhat unpleasant: The hotel doesn't have an ice machine, which was very inconvenient considering the closest place that sold ice (Bryant Deli), charges 75 cents for a small cup and $5.00 for a 10 lb. bag. Which would have been OK if there was a place to store the ice, but there isn't (we used the sink in our room but the ice didn't last long). They did have a mini fridge in the shared kitchen, but it did not keep anything much colder than room temperature. If you want a cold drink and don't want to walk to the store, you can use the vending machine located on the 2nd floor, but they charge $1.50 for a 12 oz. can. We were a bit worried about the idea of a shared bathroom, but there are multiple bathrooms on each floor and we only had to wait to use the restroom twice during our stay. Also, the bathrooms were kept very clean. The staff was friendlier than most New Yorkers that we encountered and were helpful in scheduling transportation to the airport. This hotel is good if you are on a budget and your primary destination(s) is close by. We would stay again if we couldn't find anything cheaper or closer to the Javits Center.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest


Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Nothing can be changed because it is too small. Perhaps lessen the amount charged per night.
Location: Not the best location - another reason not to stay.
First, the elevator was the size of a matchbox. The desk to check in was very small. We thought we missed the main lobby, but we didn't. When we opened the door to our room, we thought we entered a closet - so small. The bed was small and there was hardly any room to walk. Then we discovered there was no bathroom in this room. The bathroom for the room was in the hall, for all the rooms on the floor. Upon making these discoveries, we decided not to stay because it was too uncomfortable, and way too small. We then went down to the desk and told the man there we were not staying. We had paid for 1 night but it wouldn't be refunded. We left to find another hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Read the reviews before booking but needed last-minute accommodations. Hallway was noisy until 1 AM and the air conditioner made an unholy racket (while it was off!) at 4:30, so I got about 3 hours of sleep. Not recommended, even if you're desperate. Still, no cockroaches or bedbugs, so it could be worse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sehr zentral gelegen

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: die zentrale Lage das Zimmer und die Sauberkeit
Location: Bryant Park, Empire State Building, Times Square, Grand Central Station, Central Park
Es waren tolle zwei Wochen in New York und ein vom Preis-Leistungsverhältnis ein super Hotel in hervorragender Lage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands UK

Cheaper hotel, good location, really helpful staff

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Staff friendly & helpful (especially when I lost my travel papers
Cons: Drinks making facilities (coffee maker) in room, en suite bathrooms.
Location: Really good location to get around by public transport & close to Times Square & shopping
Get what you pay for, but hotel better than expected. Good location in Mid manhattan, no complimentary breakfast or coffee making facilities, though cold drinks machine in lobby & plenty of early opening cafes nearby.