Ratings based on 848 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Great location, great room. Lighting & light controls were a bit weird,. Riom service was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christine

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
I frequently travel to New York for work. This is one of the better hotels I've stayed in. I would stay here again. Good central location. It's also pretty cool to be right across the street from the NY Public Library.
5 out of 5
by william

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location in Midtown. Walk to theatres. Service excellent. Rooms spacious modern and clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
by Susanna

Convenient

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good stay
3 out of 5
by Candace

No Comfort - No Friendly Staff - Great Location

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Compared to the Andaz on Wall/Water downtown, this Andaz was a bit disappointing. Positives - GREAT location - literally close to everything you want to do/see. Right across from the NY Public Library which is quite beautiful and Bryant Park right behind that. Perfect location for shopping. Grand Central Station about 2 blocks away. Huge room for NYC standards and great views from the rooms. Negatives - Design. Whomever designed this hotel was crazy. It's very modern, which is fine if it were suited for the typical American. I was on this visit with my Mom and would have liked a little more privacy than what our room offered. The bathroom didn't close off so if you were in the shower and someone came into the room, they saw you and no one could put on makeup or go to the toilet while someone was in the shower or you were exposed as well. The water closet had a very heavy door but the sounds of anything coming out of your body could be heard all the way across the room... and the lights were in the weirdest places. No light right beside of the water closet - it was halfway across the room. No closet space at all. The lights were so dim it was impossible to see to put on makeup. Sink doesn't flow fast enough and stops up as you're trying to wash your hands/face/etc. The BEDS .... oh lord. What horrible sleeping beds. First, so short that you had to stoop way down to lie in them and they were so hard to sleep on. Mainly due to no box springs. The TV was TERRIBLEEEEEE....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NY Fav

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Service great; easy to walk everywhere; rooms lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

hotel with a focus on being modern

Posted Dec 31, 2016
As with any Andaz the focus of being on modern sometimes gets in the way of comfort. For example the shower has a small glass panel on the side, which makes it hard to not splatter over the bathroom floor. The shower area was big, but we ended up standing in one corner to avoid splashing. The rooms were big and the bed was comfortable. We asked to be moved to another room as the first room was an adjoining room and we could easily hear our neighbors taking showers and talking in the bathroom. There is no concierge, but the staff at the reception were friendly and happy to help. Benjamin's Steakhouse which is one block away was a very good recommendation and we can highly recommend it. Housekeeping was good as well as the free room snacks and beverages such as pop and water that were replenished every day. All in all we had a good stay.
4 out of 5
by david

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Andaz Fifth OK

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Loft style room was comfortable but hvac system made clicks,whirrs and beeps alk night which bothered me.