Featured Image

Reviews of Archer Hotel New York

4.5 out of 5
Archer Hotel New York
45 West 38th St, New York, NY

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.6

Wonderful

Rating 5 - Excellent. 883 out of 1218 reviews
5 - Excellent 72%
Rating 4 - Good. 250 out of 1218 reviews
4 - Good 21%
Rating 3 - Okay. 58 out of 1218 reviews
3 - Okay 5%
Rating 2 - Poor. 16 out of 1218 reviews
2 - Poor 1%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 11 out of 1218 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.8/5

Cleanliness

4.8/5

Staff & service

4.5/5

Amenities

4.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great staff! Wonderful location!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on Jul 27, 2021
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back to New York soon

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great location for Steakhouses and shows. Walking distance to Bryant park and much more. The rooftop has excellent views of the Empire State Building (recommend a reservation even just for drinks on the outdoor front patio). There are also several other roof top bars/restaurants in the area. The hotel has a lovely bar area on the first floor and then also amazing roof top bar/restaurant. The rooms are small, but updated, well-maintained and beautiful. Bathroom is a nice size and the walk in shower was beautiful. And the Nespresso machine in the room was a PLUS. We had three adults in a double bed room and we were comfortable fine. Definitely a boutique hotel feel. Lastly, I appreciated the 3pm checkin and 11am checkout!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on Jul 25, 2021
Wow, thank you for your kind feedback! We look forward to welcoming you again soon

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Rooms a little small Did not like the Off site parking experience But The Staff all over were very friendly and the Spyglass roof top Bar experience was Awesome with great food and drink !
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe and see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice Hotel, comfy rooms, the staff is super friendly and its very close to subway stations and walking distance to many sightseeing activities. Definetely will go back next time I plan a trip to NY.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe and see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room and friendly staff were amazing. The room is NYC small, but was thankful to be told about underbed storage. We stayed four nights and never felt cramped. They are trendy with no top bedsheets, but housekeeping was great with our request. Also, make reservations to the Skyglass Rooftop Bar to get front row seats. Wonderful trip and feeling like we now have friends in NYC!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 20, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe and see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on Jul 25, 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback! We look forward to welcoming you again soon

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
N/a
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 14, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and please be safe.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I liked the hotel but probably will go somewhere else, somewhere closer. It was our first time there, The hotel was somewhat small , no trash bin, no microwave, you would scan your room key to get in your room and the door would open automatically which was great while holding alot of bags or food but you couldn’t close it right away by pushing it you had to let it close on its own which was a Saftey issue to be me. Rooftop bar was awesome, you could see Empire State Building which was cool at night .
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 14, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We will be sure to share with management. Please be safe and contact us if you decide to give us another chance.

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 20, 2021
We are sorry for any issues you have experienced. Please let us know how we may help you.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness
Rooms were very very small. Hard to get a Taxi from the front of the hotel. No onsite parking, and deal with the local parking garage is a rip off.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 7, 2021
Thank you for choosing us. We hope to return to valet parking soon. Please stay safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I loved everything about the hotel but my favorite was the view from my room. The staff was great
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 7, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 14, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Wonderful stay at the Archer. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the Empire State Building views are breathtaking. We enjoyed several visits to the Spyglass rooftop bar and the drinks, food and especially the staff were spot on.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 1, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe and we will see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Good location if Midtown is where you need to be at. Due to covid, lots of amenities we’re off limit.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 1, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe and we will see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very friendly and helpful staff!
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 1, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe and we will see you again!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jul 7, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Pease stay safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and engaging. Thank you.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My teenage daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights and had a fantastic experience!! Room size was on par with other NY hotels. Great location within walking distance of Times Square, the subway, and Bryant Park. Everything was clean, beds were comfortable and the robes, slippers, and daily sweet treat were nice additons. The staff greeted us everytime we left and welcomed us back daily. The hotel was secure and we felt safe which was especially important since we were travelling alone. We had a problem with the AC the first day and rather than have us wait for them to fix it they moved us to another room and we had no issues the rest of our trip.. their customer service is outstanding! They will also hold your luggage for you free of charge if there is time to kill between checkout and heading to the airport. Overall I highly recommend this hotel!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 13, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again. Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

3/5 Okay

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 13, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please join us again. Thank you

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved the Archer!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location, nice and helpful staff, nice hotel, comfortable beds.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 4, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
As other reviews say, the staffs are amazing!! I could text them about something and they responded in a second and helped me. The room however was not what I expected. I paid extra for the empire state building view, but it was just different from what I saw online. I has to ask if I was in the right room type. I was a little disappointed but I should not have assumed that I cannot be guaranteed to have the pefect view.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 21, 2021
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback, and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Would you be able to please provide your contact information so we may discuss it in detail? Thank you for your time in this. Thank you

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Staff is great in this hotel. We did expirience more than one hiccup in our room but at least staff responded fast. For the right price i’d stay here again.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on May 18, 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback, and we're glad the team was able to assist you. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe!

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities
The room was nicely done. The check in had us in a double double room (we booked a king). They fixed it. Our room...was a postage stamp. But we had underbed storage. Really? We went for breakfast before check out. We got "checked out". We checked back in with the sarcastic young woman who asked if we had gotten the standard "Ciao" text. Yeah. We got it. It was 2.5 hours before check out. There was one robe. The puny room had three happy birthday balloons? Honestly, the room was so small, the balloons took up space! We didn't get the cute "complimentary slippers". Also,no complimentary water. We have stayed in NYC. This was awful. The staff on check in was delightful. Check out, not so much.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 21, 2021
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback, and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Would you be able to please provide your contact information so we may discuss it in detail? Thank you for your time in this. Thank you

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Its a great hotel ! Close by everything !
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on May 15, 2021
Thank you for kind feedback! We look forward to hosting you again

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 20, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to host you stay. Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly staff, wonderfully appointed rooms, quality amenities, great location.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on May 5, 2021
Thank you and stay safe! Hope to see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on May 7, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be well and safe.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Reenie was great, from when I called to confirm my reservation to our departure. Room great!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 27, 2021
Thank you! Please be safe and see you next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Exceptional customer service; great location
Our recent stay at the Archer Hotel was exceptional. Although many of the hotel amenities were not available because of Covid limitations, the staff made our visit beyond amazing. From the time we walked into the hotel until we checked out every staff member was gracious, uplifting, and happy to address all of our needs. Rooms are typical “NYC” small but very clean and the bedding was to die-for. Look forward to returning in the fall when hopefully the COVID limitations are somewhat lifted and we can enjoy some of the fun amenities of the hotel like the rooftop bar and restaurant. Highly recommend.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 24, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe and see you soon.

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Small but perfect
Room was clean, quiet and well appointed - but very small. Luckily, we don't spend much time in our hotel rooms. These rooms are small - but frankly other than that - they are very nice and clean.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 24, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My family and I stayed at the Archer during a weekend trip in New York, hotel was very secure, nice safe area. We had a nice view of the Empire State Building, room was very clean, cozy, close to many different food choices. Staff was very friendly, and super helpful during our stay! Definitely recommend this hotel!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 22, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe and we will see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Bob G
The room and view were amazing. Scott at the front desk was so helpful and accommodating. Only drawback was the a/c was not working the first night but was rectified by Scott the second night.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 18, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe and see you soon!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
I didn’t like a lot of things at this hotel for the price I paid and I felt a bit lead on by the reviews and the cost of the stay here: 1) we checked in after 11pm and although I understand being security minded, I was a little cold coming in the first door and you had to speak through an intercom before actually being let in.. no one was taking temperatures when you came in either. The receptionist was a little dressed down like he was gonna go take a siesta after we were done checking in and he seemed a little agitated and tired. I also received a long winded paper regarding my stay which I had the headache of reading. Upon going to my room which was a city view of the Empire State Building I believe, I was in shock at how tiny and cramped this room actually was, 250 square ft with a long bed is very tight, you’ve been warned... also there was only one set of outlets on 1 side of the bed so my SO had to plug my phone in on his side and I had no access to it unless I got out the bed and walked around to get it. It was also extremely noisy through the walls and windows I could hear all the NY traffic (ambulances, police, horns honking, even people yelling or loud talking) and I was on the 16th floor with the windows closed. The vents
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 22, 2021
Thank you so much for your input as it is valued and well respected. We will tackle the points mentioned-and we will discuss with the team. Please be safe and have a great weekend.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 8, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
Great location, very friendly staff. Wasn’t told that there was no daily house keeping
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 8, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe! We apologize about not informing of the limited housekeeping services.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfect weekend getaway
The hotel was perfect. Great location, clean, comfortable and the staff were so gracious and accommodating!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 8, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 3, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe and see you again.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 3, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe.

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 30, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, We hope you stay safe and hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 30, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, We hope you stay safe and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful Hotel
What a great hotel. We stayed because we were going to a Knicks. Great location, great staff.... great everything. We will definitely be staying there again!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 25, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe and hope to see you next time! Thank you