Featured Image

Reviews of Archer Hotel New York

4.5 out of 5
Archer Hotel New York
45 West 38th St, New York, NY

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

4.6
Wonderful
Rating 5 - Excellent. 883 out of 1214 reviews
5 - Excellent 73%
Rating 4 - Good. 252 out of 1214 reviews
4 - Good 21%
Rating 3 - Okay. 54 out of 1214 reviews
3 - Okay 4%
Rating 2 - Poor. 15 out of 1214 reviews
2 - Poor 1%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 10 out of 1214 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.8/5

Cleanliness

4.8/5

Staff & service

4.5/5

Amenities

4.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and engaging. Thank you.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My teenage daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights and had a fantastic experience!! Room size was on par with other NY hotels. Great location within walking distance of Times Square, the subway, and Bryant Park. Everything was clean, beds were comfortable and the robes, slippers, and daily sweet treat were nice additons. The staff greeted us everytime we left and welcomed us back daily. The hotel was secure and we felt safe which was especially important since we were travelling alone. We had a problem with the AC the first day and rather than have us wait for them to fix it they moved us to another room and we had no issues the rest of our trip.. their customer service is outstanding! They will also hold your luggage for you free of charge if there is time to kill between checkout and heading to the airport. Overall I highly recommend this hotel!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 13, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again. Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

3/5 Okay

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 13, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please join us again. Thank you

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved the Archer!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 22, 2021
Thank you!!!! Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location, nice and helpful staff, nice hotel, comfortable beds.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 4, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
As other reviews say, the staffs are amazing!! I could text them about something and they responded in a second and helped me. The room however was not what I expected. I paid extra for the empire state building view, but it was just different from what I saw online. I has to ask if I was in the right room type. I was a little disappointed but I should not have assumed that I cannot be guaranteed to have the pefect view.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 21, 2021
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback, and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Would you be able to please provide your contact information so we may discuss it in detail? Thank you for your time in this. Thank you

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Staff is great in this hotel. We did expirience more than one hiccup in our room but at least staff responded fast. For the right price i’d stay here again.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on May 18, 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback, and we're glad the team was able to assist you. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on Jun 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe!

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities
The room was nicely done. The check in had us in a double double room (we booked a king). They fixed it. Our room...was a postage stamp. But we had underbed storage. Really? We went for breakfast before check out. We got "checked out". We checked back in with the sarcastic young woman who asked if we had gotten the standard "Ciao" text. Yeah. We got it. It was 2.5 hours before check out. There was one robe. The puny room had three happy birthday balloons? Honestly, the room was so small, the balloons took up space! We didn't get the cute "complimentary slippers". Also,no complimentary water. We have stayed in NYC. This was awful. The staff on check in was delightful. Check out, not so much.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 21, 2021
Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback, and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Would you be able to please provide your contact information so we may discuss it in detail? Thank you for your time in this. Thank you

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Its a great hotel ! Close by everything !
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on May 15, 2021
Thank you for kind feedback! We look forward to hosting you again

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Scott on May 20, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to host you stay. Please stay safe and see you on the next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly staff, wonderfully appointed rooms, quality amenities, great location.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on May 5, 2021
Thank you and stay safe! Hope to see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on May 7, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be well and safe.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Reenie was great, from when I called to confirm my reservation to our departure. Room great!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 27, 2021
Thank you! Please be safe and see you next visit.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My family and I stayed at the Archer during a weekend trip in New York, hotel was very secure, nice safe area. We had a nice view of the Empire State Building, room was very clean, cozy, close to many different food choices. Staff was very friendly, and super helpful during our stay! Definitely recommend this hotel!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 22, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please be safe and we will see you soon!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
I didn’t like a lot of things at this hotel for the price I paid and I felt a bit lead on by the reviews and the cost of the stay here: 1) we checked in after 11pm and although I understand being security minded, I was a little cold coming in the first door and you had to speak through an intercom before actually being let in.. no one was taking temperatures when you came in either. The receptionist was a little dressed down like he was gonna go take a siesta after we were done checking in and he seemed a little agitated and tired. I also received a long winded paper regarding my stay which I had the headache of reading. Upon going to my room which was a city view of the Empire State Building I believe, I was in shock at how tiny and cramped this room actually was, 250 square ft with a long bed is very tight, you’ve been warned... also there was only one set of outlets on 1 side of the bed so my SO had to plug my phone in on his side and I had no access to it unless I got out the bed and walked around to get it. It was also extremely noisy through the walls and windows I could hear all the NY traffic (ambulances, police, horns honking, even people yelling or loud talking) and I was on the 16th floor with the windows closed. The vents
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 22, 2021
Thank you so much for your input as it is valued and well respected. We will tackle the points mentioned-and we will discuss with the team. Please be safe and have a great weekend.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful Hotel
What a great hotel. We stayed because we were going to a Knicks. Great location, great staff.... great everything. We will definitely be staying there again!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 25, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe and hope to see you next time! Thank you

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Apr 3, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Our hotel stay was great! The staff was kind, helpful and willing to go above & beyond whenever they could. Our room was clean, comfortable & quiet. A charging station was provided and the nespresso machine was wonderful for making coffee/espresso without having to leave the room. Overall, this hotel is a slam dunk on location,
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 25, 2021
Thank you so much, please stay safe and see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 19, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us. Please be safe and hope to see you soon!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 27, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please stay safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 16, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, please be safe and hope to see you soon!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 16, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, please be safe and hope to see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Scott on Mar 16, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, please be safe and hope to see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Pleasantly surprised!
I took a chance of staying here even so though had never seen the property and i am so glad i did. The view of the empire state bldg is incredible. It was super clean and the staff was beyond and in a great mood
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on Mar 9, 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback! We look forward to hosting you again soon

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Our stay at The Archer was great! The room was clean and stylish. The bathroom was immaculately clean. And we had such an amazing view of the Empire State Building that it looked as though you could reach out and touch it! Just beautiful! We would stay at The Archer again!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 23, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and please be safe!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on Mar 9, 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback! We look forward to hosting you again soon

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great Hotel
Our stay was great. Room and service was amazing. Super clean and beautiful. Only thing I would complain about was some kind of generator noise outside the hotel waking me up in the middle of the night but that’s obviously not the hotels fault. Other than that I would rate 10 stars if I could.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 23, 2021
Thank you so much for this review and for staying with us. Please be safe and hope to see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
NYC Hotel with a sultry atmosphere
Phenomenal stay! The staff were friendly and efficient. They quickly checked us in and provided all pertinent info regarding COVID-19 procedures. I was very comfortable and less anxious about our stay.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 19, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe and let us know if you need anything.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great hotel to stay at! Wish they had valet parking because getting to the location was already a hassle with New York traffic. Other then that everything else was perfect
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 18, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay fae and hope to see you soon. Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent staff and place would recommend 10/10.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 18, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe and hope to see you soon. Thank you!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Check-in staff was very friendly welcome gift was a nice touch but was not vegan-friendly. Room was tiny. Our view was an office building. Curtains and mattress were stained. Expected much more given its a luxury hotel and emphasis was placed on cleaning "like crazy" . Restaurant and skybar were closed despite reopening of indoor dining announced by mayor. No fitness facilities. Would not return given price.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 17, 2021
Hello, we apologize for these issue and would like to make it up to you. Please contact Expedia so we would be able to reach you. We hope you have an amazing Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay!
Very friendly employees. Great check in and service. Clean room and hotel
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing your again. Please stay safe. Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great hotel! Will be returning very soon! Everything exceeded expectations. Can't wait for their restaurant to open back up.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing your again. Please stay safe. Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay!
Easy check in, awesome staff, clean beautiful rooms, no wait for the elevator. No complaints here!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 17, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing your again. Please stay safe. Thank you!

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice and clean property, the staff was so very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice just a little small, the bathrooms were great with a nice shower.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 10, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! Please be safe. Hope to see you soon.

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
Just OK. No lobby to speak off. We had a corner room and it was tiny even by New York standards.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 6, 2021
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Please feel free to contact us for a future upgrade and discuss further.. Please be safe and Thank you!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021
Response from Scott on Feb 14, 2021
Thank you so much! Please stay safe!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on Feb 2, 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Worth the Value
Did a weekend staycation, taking advantage of the low price during the pandemic. Typical night for the Empire State Building view room on the top floor, about $400 a night. I was able the room for $88 a night so well worth, all major restaurants in the area delivered.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021
Response from Scott on Jan 29, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe and see you next time!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay!
Lovely room. Bed was amazing. Very nice staff and easy checkin. It was a great place to stay even in the midst of a pandemic. Would stay there again and again
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021
Response from Scott on Jan 23, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us. Please be safe and we will see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I like everything in the room.perfect for me and my girlfriend
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021
Response from Archer's Hosts on Jan 22, 2021
Thank you for your kind feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to Archer in the future

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021
Response from Scott on Jan 15, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021
Response from Scott on Jan 15, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. Please stay safe.