Ratings based on 1,479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Location is the Best Feature

Posted Oct 25, 2016
I wasn't impressed by the Avalon. The front desk staff were, for the most part, very friendly, and the hotel is located within walking distance to many popular New York sights. I thought the facilities were lacking, though. Our room was comfortably sized, by New York standards, but dated. The wallpaper was peeling, the closet door was broken, and the furniture was worn and rickety. The plumbing seems dated as well, as we had a toilet overflow incident immediately after arrival that was both gross and frustrating. There are very few extra amentities; continental breakfast is $15 per person, there is no exercise facility, and no pool or spa. There was no coffeemaker in our room, nor easily accessible bottled water, just overpriced mini-bar items. Our stay was not bad, staff were kind, and we were comfortable and safe. Overall, though, we had an average experience with a price tag disproportionate to services provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate, New York

I will return

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: hotel staff excellent, especially Merissa at the front desk.....well located.....clean room with very comfortable bed....the room and furniture are a bit dated and worn, respectively, but not badly so, and again the bed was great.....the price was right....no good reason not to return.
Cons: wear on some of the furniture....which can be easily refurbished.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and clean facilities

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Next to Korean town and Empire State Building so plenty of food and shops
I like the clean wood floor in the room and the comfortable bed. I was given an ADA room and the water spilled out of the curtain and made the floor a bit wet and messy. Other than that, it was a good stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Ottima location. Camera spaziosa e pulita . Bagno grande e confortevole
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Neenah WI

Bad service decent hotel.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Room/House Keeping
Cons: Service levels
Location: Near Empire State Building. Centrally located in Manhattan and easy to get around.
Their service except house keeping is horrible. Internet reception is poor but more importantly they do not know how to return phone calls or even seem interested in a reservation. Room was clean and fairly comfortable. Will not be back due to poor service. Example; waited 15 minutes to get my room re-keyed when that was a 30 second process just because three people were checking in and all had passports so it took extra long and she even asked me what I needed because I walked up right behind them. Common sense would have told her or them to allow me to go first since it was quick but no common sense prevailed. Got to say this is what millennials are all about and have no consideration for others. Yes the elevators are slow. My issue with the reservation I tried to make without expedia was I called there four times, always got voice mail and never received a return call. They didn't want my business.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore ,Maryland

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: nice room fair price clean ethnic diversity of personal
Cons: breakfast lack of meat based protiens
Location: nice close walking distance to subway shopping and, tourist hotspots
at check in personel seemed kind of rushing to me even with only two people checking in . 1st person checking in was given description of hotel , and after she was done the person taking care of my check in asked me if i heard everything the first attendant told the other people. I thought that to be very rude . besides that they where good. I got into my room it was great ,everything worked just fine. After i was checking out i checked my bag so i could go on a quick tour of the Empire State building. The bell hop Mr. Wilson a courteous and knowledgeable human being made me feel most welcome we spoke about are families and people , i wish there where more people like him in New York that truly made you feel welcomed in the empire state. He gives me hope for humanity and for him i will return to the Avalon and encourage others to come. Word of mouth is the best advertisement .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本


Posted Oct 6, 2016
ペンステーションから徒歩5分程度。時間が読みやすいLIRRを利用する旅行者にとっては非常に好立地。 同じブロック内に24時間営業のカフェテリア方式のレストランがあり、サンドイッチはもちろん、うどんや、寿司、ビビンバ、ケーキなどが売られていて食事には困らなかった。 ホテル従業員がいつも笑顔で対応してくれた。古い建物ではあるが、リノベーション済みで掃除も行き届いていて清潔感にあふれていた。 24時間の無料コーヒーサービスはドリップマシンでラテやモカもあり、ありがたかった。製氷機とアイスコーヒーがあるとなお良かった。 空調がオンオフを繰り返すタイプでオンになった時の作動音が気になりました。 シャワーがアメリカでは珍しく、ホースの先にシャワーヘッドがついているタイプで、日本人には使いやすいと思います。 部屋はゆったりしていて概ね快適に過ごせました。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Great location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The hotel is somewhat tired and past its best but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great - at the centre of everything. New York is a city for walking and the Avalon is a good place to start.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Canada

Excellentes prestations près Empire State Building

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Vraiment très bien. Situation idéale à deux pas de l'Empire State Building. Rien à redire.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Aylin - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Je vous remercie de vos aimables commentaires sur notre hôtel. Je suis heureux de savoir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour chez nous!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location; big rooms, small issues

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Stayed two nights. Very convenient location for getting both uptown to the park and to downtown venues. Less than five minute walk to the subway. Spacious room and bath. Liked that there were no carpets on the floor, clean . Good WiFi. Downsides: half the electrical outlets were loose or didn't work. Old wiring. Very slow elevator. Terrible view of interior building under construction. Twice interrupted by housecleaning, once for wrong room and once for early morning Saturday cleaning. Very pleasant reception staff and nice touch hospitality room on main floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Aylin G. - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Expedia about your stay with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the interruption you had from housekeeping. Our housekeeping manager has reiterated with our staff our procedures. I can assure you it's been resolved. We hope to see you with us again - soon!