Ratings based on 878 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No room service

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
basically apartment building Quite place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacks amenities for a hotel/apartment room

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Generally nice looking. Nice area
Cons: There should be more amenities in the kitchenette, such as free coffee for early mornings. City noise was loud. Curtains did not close properly.
Location: The hotel is perfect for visitors connected with the United Nations. great variety of restaurants and bars on 2nd avenue.
Clean and good for overnight stay. The proximity to second avenue is very useful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison Wisconsin

Not really recommended for short term stays

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The room is very good, with small kitchen and all else very satisfactory;the front desk personnel make you feel that maybe you are being listened to
Cons: Advertise that this is not really for short term which managerially is probably a huge mistake
Location: the location is great if you are a UN consultant but there are other choices
The earlier incarnation of the Beekman was very user friendly, such that if you were a light sleeper, they would accommodate you on the upper floors or in the back of the hotel, since it is located on the busy traffic road of First Avenue. The front desk staff are very gracious and tried to help me to get into a room as I had arrived early. I requested a quiet room but was told that the management said that short term guests are accommodated on the 2nd and 3rd floors and I was given a room that was possibly the noisiest (after requesting quietest) right next to the road. This was very unfortunate as the room is very good with small kitchenette, but the noise is difficult for people not accustomed to loud traffic noise outside their rooms. The kindness of the staff really helps but they do not override the management powers that be.
5 out of 5
by Leo from Toronto, Canada

Sad that this hotel is closing

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel for the past 10 years and have always been completely satisfied. Unfortunately this stay was my last as the hotel closed on April 16 i believe.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie from Fairfield, CT

Roomy & Comfortable

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels
Had a great experience at Beekman and would def stay there again -- though I did it hear it might be shutting down. Had a roomy full bedroom, with two bathrooms, a kitchen, sitting and dining area and huge balcony with a great view of Long Island city and the Pepsi Cola sign! Big enough for 5 girls to get ready for a night on the town with plenty of space and mirrors! Comfortable, and spacious, we had a great time. Front desk service is lacking a bit, as we had to call several times to get for various items such as ice and an iron, without any answer at the desk.However, tat wasnt enough to make me not return. would go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location, but the room was "tired".

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Location: Very close to the UN. The area appeared safe.
The room was worn and "tired". The furniture had tears in the cushions. There were a few stains on the curtains and on the walls. We did get a suite with a separate bedroom and a pullout sofa. There were 2 older TV's; couldn't find a remote control for the TV in the sofa area of the suite. The room had a small pantry area with a sink and refrigerator. There is a breakfast/lunch restaurant and a small market right across the street. The staff was very courteous. If you're staying 1 or 2 days, it's OK if the price is right for you.
2 out of 5
by Pat from Paris

Closing

Posted Apr 15, 2013 on Hotels
Beekman tower is closing in April to become long-stay hotel. Services obviously were not as good as they could have been.
5 out of 5
by Liz from Manhattan

Great location friendly staff

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels
I loved the location and found the staff really helpful. They went the extra mile to make my stay comfortable. The rooms are tired and could do with a refresh, but they are large by NY standards and wifi was simple and free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beekman Hotel Visit

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels
We chose this hotel for its location. To that end, it was fine. But what we did not know was that the hotel is closing soon for renovations - and boy does it need a makeover. Furniture in the bedroom was old and nicked. The rug was something out of the 1950s. The TVs rarely worked. It was clean . . . however that is relative. My advice is not to go there until it's finished. And because of the impending renovations, there is no liquor license. That's a shame because the restaurant at the top of the building has a beautiful view