Ratings based on 5,174 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Great hotel. Small but clean rooms. Helpful staff. Coffee making facilities. Late check out time. Overall a lovely experience. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location, clean small hotel.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cons: If it's possible to make less noisy AC units.
Location: Close to Central park, to Broadway. 25-30 min walk to the Broadway Theaters. Close by cafe/restaurant of any level on Broadway or Amsterdam av.
Good location with possible parking on the nearby streets. Easy enter and exit from Manhattan. Clean, but very small rooms. Unfortunately very noisy AC unit. Otherwise was pleasure to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good spot

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfy and sheets nice and cosy.
Location: Close to nice restaurants on Amsterdam and ten mins walk from central park. Stations are all close.
My room was really great for my two night stay - it is on the small side but they've really used the space well. Bed was super comfy and facilities were very clean and tidy. Staff were really helpful too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Small but Sweet

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was exceptionally quiet, AC was excellent, towels were amazingly fluffy!
Cons: I found hair twice (once in a towel), key didn't work at all, asked to change wake-up call, was told it couldn't be done! But then they did.
Location: Eat at sidewalk cafe Amsterdam Ave. Nat.History Museum/Planetarium, Mus. of NY is short walk. Don't miss Chagall Windows at Lincoln Center.
I wasn't really expecting much, so I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived really late and only spent one night, and I was alone. I tried to imagine if my husband were there with me if we could manage, and I'd have to say you'd have to be on different schedules or very much in love. There is no room for two people to pass each other, but for me it was perfect! I felt very sheltered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Clean quiet staff very friendly would for sure stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, New York

I would stay again.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Staff was great and very helpful. Had wifi first to daysthen couldn't get it at our room location. Too far from router? Location was great near subway and great restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Clean, quiet, convenient and close to subway

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Safe, hot water, comfy bed, quiet nights, iconic view, helpful staff, free color printing, location, proximity to subway, Starbucks and Central Park.
Cons: Wi-fi speed. Mini-fridge in hotel room.
Location: Central Park, Museum of Natural History, Starbucks, Bloomingdales Outlet, Grey's Papaya hot dogs, subway, city bus to airport.
My wife and I stayed a week and really enjoyed the proximity to the subway station which was one very short block away. The subway station proximity was way more important than we first suspected as we ended up using the subway a lot. We also walked to Central Park several times and enjoyed shopping, restaurants and groceries within walking distance. Starbucks was right around the corner so we had a place to chill each morning and evening. The area felt safe and clean: we took the city bus back to the airport at 3:30 am and didn't feel uncomfortable at all. The staff were friendly and helpful: we were able to store our luggage in the luggage room and print our theatre tickets for free from the iPad in the lobby. The hallways and rooms were very small, but we were out so much that it really didn't matter: if you're going to make the most of your time out seeing the city, stay here; however, if you're planning on spending time relaxing at your hotel, you'll probably want to stay somewhere else. We basically only came back to our room to sleep and shower before heading out to explore. The A/C worked well, the room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, the water was hot, the outlets had USB ports for charging and the view was ... iconic. We stayed on the second floor and were able to get in and out of the hotel very quickly. The wi-fi was slow, but it worked. I used the wi-fi at Starbucks more. We'd love to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Clean neat little hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Great little hotel close to the subway. Excellent! The room was as small as other reviews said but the bathroom was a good size. I didn't notice a kitchen which is a bummer even if its only for a snack...but food is literally around the corner. Staff reasonably friendly. The room was cleaned daily. The lobby is small and could be a bit more modern but it's ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, Maryland

Neighborhood Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: I liked it's location, which is close to the subway, museums, restaurants, groceries, and more. I liked the free coffee, tea and refrigerator. Clean.
Cons: It would be nice if they had a microwave in the coffee/tea room.
Location: Near Central Park, the American Museum of Natural History, and the major subway lines, the hotel's location makes it a great hub for seeing the city.
This inexpensive hotel is in a tranquil neighborhood in the upper west side on a street lined with quaint brownstone homes close to Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History. The hotel's location is a block away from the 1-2-3 subway lines and very close to the A-B-C lines, so it is easy to get to and from the hotel, Penn Station, South Ferry (Statue of Liberty), or anywhere else you might want to go. The hotel is less than three blocks from dozens of wonderful restaurants, bakeries, delis (the world famous "Sturgeon King" Barney Greengrass....wonderful!!!), grocery stores, pharmacies, coffee shops (yes, a Starbucks, too!), and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Well run friendly hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Convenience, comfort, friendliness
Cons: nothing as far as I am concerned
Location: Close to subway and buses for Down Town, Within walking distance of Central and Riverside Parks, Nat History Museum etc etc.
Very smooth and happy stay again. Excellent coffee machine. Safe in room. Small clean rooms. Quiet location. Good heating and air conditioning. Bath in small bathrooms. Problems solved quickly.