Ratings based on 5,035 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PORTLAND OR

NICE HOTEL WITH A FRIENDLY STAFF VERY HELPFUL

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: LOCATION STAFF NEIGHIBORHOOD
Cons: NOTHING
Location: MET, MOMA SUBWAY WITH EAST ASCESS TO ALL PARTS OF THE CITY TAXI ONLY $50 TO AIRPORT
GREAT LOCATION WITH QUICK ASCESS TO SUBWAY AND BUS. MANY RESTURANTS SHOPS AND VERY NICE QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Basic, convenient and friendly

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: It is an area which feels safe at night and is very convenient for subway.
Location: Central Park, Riverside Park and museums within easy reach.
This hotel suits me as an older visitor travelling on my own with very little luggage. The rooms are small and basic and clean. The staff are helpful and welcoming. Problems I had were dealt with quickly. Steps up to front entrance are steep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Clean hotel, does its job

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We stayed here for a week and there was a promotion going on which cost us less than $600 for a week. Looked at the price again recently as we're looking to go back in March but it's higher now so maybe it's because of the low season. The hotel is very clean and for the price I have nothing to complain. However if you are looking to go to Upper East Side, the quickest way is to take a bus or Uber as otherwise it would take forever riding subway. We kind of have to learn out way to ride the bus but NYC system is decent. The staff is super helpful and accommodating. I asked for an extra blanket as I'm always cold and they made it available. The light bulb burnt out in the bathroom and they replaced it when I got back that evening. Overall I'm pretty satisfied with my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair enough

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Small room..but comfortable and accessible to train station and other places of interest
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jan 29, 2017
It was good but the room was too small no windows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The internet $2 per minute in the lobby should be less 15 times
Location: Central Park! Metro stop 86W-th (subway #1) is very close
The room is clean but so tiny, you can only lie up. No chair, no desk, almost no space around a big bed. Bathroom was a plus. Free coffee and tea was good. Telephone you couldn't use unless somebody called to you. Heating is very noisy, you hear it from adjacent rooms any moment because it's manually adjusted. The price is fare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth Tx.

4 nite stay

Posted Jan 11, 2017
room was cleaned daily, bed was comfortable, room and bathroom was small, but was clean. the 1 train was one block and the other train(A&C) was about five small blocks away. nice places to eat was within walking distance and the staff was on point with places to eat.nice place if you just want a place to sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Excellent!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms, small common kitchen facility on each floor with complimentary coffee.
Cons: Nothing, was perfect!
Location: A lot of shops and great choices of food near by. Close to the subway, easy to get anywhere and walk, close to Central Park.
Excellent location, room had two twin beds, spacious. Renovated and new. Kept meticulously clean throughout the hotel and rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great NYC West Side Hotel at a Great Price

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The Staff is great and the price is great as well, $145/ Night all in.
Cons: It is an older building, with small rooms. Japanese style rooms. You won't be running marathons in the room.
Location: Central Park, Natural History Museum. Riverside Park overlooking the Hudson River... plus easy access to the Night Life of NYC.
Staying in NYC usually requires mortgaging everything you own. The Belnord does not require that. Nestled on the Upper West Side of NYC in a quite neighborhood, three blocks from Central Park and two blocks from the Hudson River. Transportation is readily available (heck this is NYC).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I've stayed here several times, including pre reno

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The shower should work
The shower didn't work. I reported it to the front desk, and it still wasn't fixed.